We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onami Grill & Sushi Bar

Onami Grill & Sushi Bar
Mwanzi Road | Westgate Mall, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 3743244
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 346 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went there and found them playing salsa music,danced abit. Onami is in a big shopping mall called Westgate in Westlands. Plenty of safe parking and great ambience but slow service

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    38
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

ambiance, food quality and general service. The air and aura of the restaurant is one that keeps you in. Food portions are also generous and therefore one serving is adequate to fill a man up.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I like the miso soup there it was really good. The vegetarian sushi not that great. plus they have a salsa night on Thursdays

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“first time in a japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

i never thought i would ever see myself eating with anything other than a fork or a spoon...even my hands lol.
i was impressed by the ambience to start with, its a very nice and cosy place, thanks to my Japanese boyfriend i learnt how to use the sticks (i dont remember the name) but i never thought the food would be soo amazing! the tepanyaki was awesome and to top it all we had a personal waiter at our every call.
i would love to go back and try something else lol, i could have eaten everything for trials but i was full by the second round lol...very nice joint unfortunately i didnt take any pictures :(

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Food was average. But the Ambiance was great. ............................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onami Grill & Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Onami Grill & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onami Grill & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.