We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful crafts, pleasant garden, great food...with a playground for the little ones!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani ya Juu

Amani ya Juu
On Ring Road in Riverside, near Prime Bank | P.O. Box 14801, Nairobi 00800, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
254 20 4449071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 shopping in Nairobi
Type: Shops
Attraction Details
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful crafts, pleasant garden, great food...with a playground for the little ones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Such a nice place to spend a few hours over lunch with kids. Browsing in the store is really fun- lots of beautiful items, slightly higher prices than a market, but nicer quality, and a pleasant low stress shopping experience. the cafe in the garden is lovely, and great to have the playground there too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The products at Amani are all great - beautiful prints, good quality workmanship, and designs that are perfect for gifts for those back home because they are beautiful and say 'africa' but also translate well to the fit and complement the american/european style. The prices are also incredibly reasonable considering the quality - you could probably bargain for a bit cheaper in the markets for something similar, but I find these items last much longer and are much better made. You can purchase great clutch purses for as little as kes 670/-, I even found some for 320/- because they were previous seasons fabric and on sale! I'd suggest going during lunch time so you can also enjoy the amazing salads and muffins in the garden that seems like an escape from the bustle of construction around the garden cafe.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relax in the middle of chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The salads are incredibly delicious! Portions are generous, so have a half one if you have an average appetite. Inexpensive, too! However, I found the products in the shop to be a little on the expensive side - not to say that I don't value the work that was put into it, but it made it so that it was just outside of my price range. I'd go back for the food and ambiance any day though! Except Sunday, of coursed, cause they're closed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds...lovely women”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The woman who work at Amani are all survivors. The handwork they do, the bags, the quilts, the clothing, all help support them and teach them an occupation. The cafe has the best mocha! The grounds are very pretty and the kids can enjoy running and playing on the playground equipment.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It's a great place or food, shopping and playground for kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011 via mobile

I go regularly to this place with my family. The kids absolutely love the playground (2yrs and 4yrs) and we love the food and the beautiful garden setting. They have a great gift shop as well with quality African items but they are not very cheap compared to Masai Markets which you can now find everywhere. They close very early (stop serving at 3.30pm) and rarely have eerything they offer on their menu which is a real shame coz I can't seem to find another place like this in Nairobi...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amani ya Juu also viewed

 

Been to Amani ya Juu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani ya Juu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amani ya Juu to your Saves list