We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price...for questionable services” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Kenya Lodge

New Kenya Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Kenya Lodge
Save Saved
You added New Kenya Lodge to your Saves list
River Road | P.O. Box 43444, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Forli, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reasonable price...for questionable services”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We trusted in this safari agency and b&b as it was mentioned in our Routard tourist guide that never betrayed us before...but never say never...as it has been the first time! The boss has been really friendly and professional at the same time when we were in contact through e-mail before getting in Nairobi! Once we get there we understood why the b&b is extremely cheap...extremely small and dirty rooms in one of the most dangerous street of Nairobi, we didn't move to another place only because we had to sleep there just one night! We booked in advance also our safari with New Kenya Lodge, making agreement for a one week tour through Masai Mara, Amboseli and Tsavo, but just before departing for our safari the boss asked us for changing our itinerary for going to Bogoria and Nakuru. We realized that he suggested us to change itinerary for making a whole group with other people that wanted to go to Bogoria, so he could make us go all together with one car! Other unpleasant surprises happened during our tour...like asking us to pay extra money for entering in parks while we already payed everything to the boss in advance, like changing itinerary again, like the car that get broken almost everyday! We must say that parks were great and also the camps in where we slept were not bad, we met many nice people and at the hand we had a great time...but with New Kenya Lodge you must know that price is good...but you must be ready to any kind of surprise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed there for many nights, during my travel trough Kenya. I get the information to go their from a German Book about Kenya. They wrote, that they are the oldest Hostel in town with a lot of experience, not expensive as well, so i choose them. The Taxi driver from the Airport try to convince me, not to go there, very dangerous Place /river road/, but this guys getting also their commission, if they bringing you to a Nairobian Hotel, where you will buy your safari later..

The Place is like in old times, middle in action, you will see a lots of locals running around the River Road. Kenya Lodge is looking a little bit like "Old style", but the only place in Nairobi, where you have a central place to meet a lots of Tourist, and Africans as well. Its a great place to stay, and share your information with your new friends.

I also know now a lots of Hostels in Kenya, and i never experienced that welcoming and friendly atmosphere, than in Kenya Lodge in Nairobi. The stuff is really nice and more than helpful! They also very experienced, witch is absolutely important, if you want to get the right information!!!

They help me to get Bus Ticket from Nairobi to Kisumu and Mombasa, actually they came with me to show me the place and to buy the ticket... They also give you tips, where to buy good and Cheap souvenirs, where to eat good and cheap (just like the locals), and the most important thing, you can buy there your safari as well!

There are 100.000 of Safari-Business mans on the way, to sell you their Safaris, for really expensive prices... This guys in the Lodge, with Moses as Manager, who is working for several years in this Business, they will tell you what to excpect in a Safari.

And of course, they are staying behind their product, anything happening, they are their for you!

The owner told me, that in short time will change the beds, the are getting old, and he wants to make a big renovation in the house.

Stay or not to stay? The thing is, maybe you get their, and you want have more comfort. They also have a 2 Hostel, nearby, maybe you go and see that place too. Or you go to see a more expensive Hotel in town. the only thing is: there are 100 of Hostels around, and you will see, this is the ONLY ONE in Nairobi, where you have a living room, to stay and share your experience. The other Hostels give you a room only, they have definitely no lining room for their travelers.

So, anyway, you will be welcome their also, if you dont stay their during the nights, i have seen a lots of other Tourist, they came during the day, to share, to ask, and to book the Safaris, cause in nairobi, you will not find for that price, you will see!

Thanx for everything New Kenya Lodge, best regards from Hungary,
simon

Room Tip: If you want to stay alone, get the 1. Room nearest to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here for several nights and was very happy with it. It's conveniently located close to city center and local buses.
The staff was always very cheerful and helpful with all kinds of information. There was always people hanging out in the living area and that was a great opportunity to share experiences for further down the trip. There was also a tv, great for relaxation on some evenings after long travels!
The only thing that might be not so positive is that people were cooking on kerosine stoves in the same living area. And although this is open to the outside air, the bad smell of it still lingered in the whole hostel..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Spent the night here with my girlfriend and we woke up covered from head to toe in bed bug bites. The place other people have described on here does not even sound like the same place. It has a convenient location for many things except sleeping. It is located in one of the noisier parts in Nairobi and a combination of the bed bugs, blaring club music, matatu horns, and general uncleanliness of the place make it hard to sleep. Even for someone who has been in the air for twenty hours. I also have to question how often the sheets get washed at this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

The New Kenya Lodge is a very basic hostel, and yet a recommendable choice for a short stay in Nairobi. It is very well situated on River Road in the heart of Nairobi, next to most of the overland bus stops (just across the Akamba drop off).
There is a nice crowd of international travellers, and the staff offers free tea in the reception room every morning. The entrance to the hostel is always locked and guarded, which makes it a safe haven in the middle of one of the busiest parts of town.
The rooms, especially the crowded 4 bed dorms, are nothing for all too sensitive people - especially the U-shaped foam mattresses, the cockroach population, the rather smelly sanitary premises and the noise level, which can remain a bit tough to bear until the early morning hours.
The price is however unbeatable for this location, safety and friendliness - in August 2010: 500Sh/5€ for a dorm bed, and 1000Sh for a double room (including a private bathroom).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Kenya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kenya Lodge

Address: River Road | P.O. Box 43444, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Kenya Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.