We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT DISHES, VERY GOOD CHEF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tatu

Tatu
Fairmont Norfolk Hotel, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 327 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT DISHES, VERY GOOD CHEF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

One of the best meals we had throughout our stay in Kenya.
The chef is very skilled, knows what he was doing.
The ambiance so nice, minimalist decor, feng shui style very futuristic.
The ingredients used all so very fresh and flavors were up to scratch.
My husband had spicy lobster tandouri, this was out of this world.
I had carpacio, this was amazing, i also had ostrich steak, to die for.
I cannot stop singing my praises for this restaurant, it is very much worth a visit
Shame it was not busy at the time we visited since it was shortly before Xmas eve and perhaps everybody was busy with the family.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent steak restaurant but the meat quality should be higher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went here for our anniversary and the service was phenomenal, we had the chef's table and they addressed both of us by name. Her filet was excellent but my sirloin was a bit unimpressive. Sides were all nicely done and they had a special dessert for us. Great attention to detail, a nice place for a special occasion but bring a big wallet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The service was excellent, food and atmosphere amazing. We felt very special when being served. Atmosphere was soothing to the mood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Pampering meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having eaten big, buffet meals throughout our Kenyan safari tour, during our night on our own at the Norfolk, we decided to eat lighter, but we wanted to try some game meat. We saw ostrich on the Tatu menu, and made a reservation (not necessary on a Sunday night, as it turned out). We told the staff we would be splitting an appetizer and entrée, which no one had a problem with. First, we were brought an amuse bouche of sesame coated tuna, which my husband loved. We started with a bowl of tomato soup with toasted cheese sandwich. Our waiter brought out two bowls, adding the chef was being "generous" since we were the first customers of the day and save us a bit more than a half bowl each. Not only was this some of the best tomato soup we have had, but the two small wedges each of toasted cheese sandwich made each "half" bowl a meal in it self, especially with the Indian breads and assorted chutneys brought to the table. We shared the ostrich entrée and thought the chef was probably being generous with this serving, also. The traditional Ugali (like firm grits) were heavy on their own, but a nutty note when added to the ostrich, tree tomato sauce and kale to create the perfect bite. Complementary petit fours completed this meal. While expensive by most standards, it was a treat we savored in the sea of touristy buffets.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali Rwanda
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Looks good, seems good, isn't good but for steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is probably the most beautiful built-out space in the region. Service is generally good and efficient, though after mains were served, it waned considerably. They offer up an amuse bouche which was a piece of salmon wrapped around some cream cheese -- totally fine but uninspired. There's also a nice bread platter with pretty insipid dips.

After we finally got a server to see the soggy quality of the parmesean fries with truffle aioli, he noted that it was the kitchen's fault and brought us new fries. We were none to pleased to see that those remained on the bill. On the other hand, the enormous rack of lamb which I was assured wouldn't be chewy turned out to be just that. We decided, however, to share the two other mains we had among the three of us and were all full and the lamb was of course subtracted. The mushroom in cream and sherry side was delicious, tuna steak was banal, the crispy prawn starter had an uninspired accompanying salad that should have had hints of ginger and the orient, but was closer to a carrot slaw. All that said, the New York Strip steak was near perfection and the best you can probably get on the continent. Pricey, to be sure, as the proteins come with no sides -- you have to pay for those apart - but if you're in the mood for a great steak, you'd find no better than Tatu. Even though we had just 2 starters and two mains and two beers and a glass of wine, our 160,000 shilling bill (just shy of $200) seemed astronomical for the uneveness of the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatu also viewed

 

Been to Tatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.