We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tatu Restaurant

Tatu Restaurant
Harry Thuku Road | Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254202265000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 419 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tatu, the signature restaurant, has won several awards for its exquisite cuisine and personalized attentive service. Located on the ground floor of the hotel with access from main hotel entrance, Tatu restaurant is the new trendsetter for modern contemporary Americano-Kenyan cuisine in Nairobi. The restaurant defines the conceptualization of Fresh top quality food, warm prompt service and active lively ambience, bringing guest an elevated dining experience.
Dubai
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enchanting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The restaurant (and the hotel, in general) has an enchanting ambience! Because of the fact that it's from the 1900's, we really wanted to visit the Norfolk because of its' history, aside from it's a good and safe place to dine before our further long travel to Masai Mara. We didn't want to be too adventurous with food during the beginning of our safari so we decided on international foods that we are quite familiar with. They have a number of restaurants to choose from. The service was prompt and friendly. Price is also competitive. It's worth a visit when you're around Kenya - wish we have the time to stay next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Co. Donegal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A haven of calm in a bustling city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Norfolk Hotel is the epitome of old world charm and elegance. The staff are always cheerful and friendly - even the doorman remembers your name. Service is first class and of a high standard. One of the delights is to experience breakfast at a table set on the lawn. Evening drinks on the verandah are also a welcome escape from the frantic city. My only negative comment concerns the pool, which is in shadow in the afternoon, due to its proximity of newly erected tall buildings.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mozidotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level Contributor
144 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very nice hotel, Lovely rooms, excellent service great staff. The restaurant serves excellent food only a bit overpriced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoneVDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food but SLOW service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was my first time to revisit the Lord Delamare Terrace which before it was a Fairmont had been a favourite place to have supper. Fairmont have truned what had a specifically Nairobi place into something you might find in many other parts of the World. That is not to say it isn't very smart which it is; its just "international" with all that that implies.
Everyone was pleased with what they chose but we had to wait a long time to get it; well beyond the norms for freshly prepared food and more like waiting for it to defrost !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grand Hotel Of Colonial Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Fantastic hotel. The landmark of Nairobi. Enjoy lunches here and dinners. Excellent Swiss chef on staff. Grand entry with old colonial charm. Great gardens and pool. A little expensive but a real fantastic environment. The rooms are really exceptional. Great for conferences also with several rooms available for meetings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tatu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing