We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tatu

Tatu
Fairmont Norfolk Hotel, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 327 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

my boyfriend and i went to Tatu for our anniversary and it was amazing. the decor is contemporary and beautiful. the staff made special efforts to learn our names and gave us a complimentary glass of wine and dessert. the steak was impecabble and the fish tender and flavourful. the dessert of mango creme brulee is a must try! i think it was my favourite dish of the night. this restauraunt is expensive coming to 11,000 for two of us having a shared starter two mains and a shared dessert, a coke and a juice. BUT it is worth it for a special treat. cant wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We really enjoyed the steaks, the service was good although rather a short wine list (especially with some missing) for a top Nairobi hotel.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best steak & service in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I generally try to avoid hotel restaurants but to miss this one would be a fatal mistake. It is the best place I found so far in Nairobi.
It has very modern and stylish interior, the staff is very attentive and pleasant. Wine list consists of mainly south-african wines but it is a nice selection.
The food is a chapter for itself. We all had a steak, which was beautiful. They have a chef from North Carolina and have exclusive deal with local farm for the best beef. Steak was just a bit overcooked but it did not take much of the magic out.
Definitely recommend if you want a civilized dinner.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
604 reviews 604 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dining Makes for a Fabulous Evening Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I went to Tatu to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was perfect from start to finish. The service was outstanding and we even got to meet the Norfolk head chef. The serving of the courses was well paced. Attention is definitely given to detail. The restarant was quiet and perfectly lit. We shared a casar salad that was made table side. It was great. My terdeerloin steak was exquisite as was my husband's gigantic prawn dinner. The staff surprised us with a special dessert. This will truly be a memorable anniversary dinner. It will be hard to top this next year in Prague.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatu also viewed

 

Been to Tatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.