We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promises a peaceful stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Progressive Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Progressive Park Hotel to your Saves list
Progressive Park Hotel
Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE AIRPORT PICK UP
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Promises a peaceful stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A decent peaceful stay for you with family is assured for only $100 per night. Its centrally located, close to the Westgate Mall (which is shut after the attack) and opposite Ukay Nakumat. Though the restaurant offers only veg fare, there are many good places closeby for the non-veggies like the Ocean Basket and Art Cafe in the Oval. For the fitness enthusiasts, they have a good gym and aerobic pad.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the 4th floor and in the new building. They are more spacious and have better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
6
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's got a great location, right opposite a supermarket and money-changers etc. Very easy to get into town for a drink and dinner. The staff were helpful and courteous, generous with information, and this helped us to get to the Giraffe Center in time. You can find plenty of cabs right outside too and its always better to bargain with the drivers. The rooms were neat and good for the price. Although the food could have been improved on, I'd have no issues in recommending this to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes, I have stayed in this hotel many times, a right place for professionals. Though I am not a veggie, If someone is strictly vegetarian, this is the right & safe place for vegetarians!. A nice place to stay and with in a safe locality of West Lands. I remember those days, after seeing movie we used to walk down from the famous WEST GATE MALL to the hotel, it hardly takes 2 minutes!. It is not an expensive place. The hotel provides WIFI and good a Gym, which is good mix for a business traveler! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great loc ion amidst 24hour supermarket, finest artcafe and near sarit centre .Hotel serves great vegeterian breakfast and has very good security.Hotel room has unique high pressure alpha water showers. s

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I spent 8 years staying in Nairobi and left early this year.Now on my business trip back to Nairobi and was very difficult for me to stay in the Hotel in Nairobi.
Progressive park is the hotel which gave me homely feel.Nice and clean rooms.Good ventilation with Balcony.
This is already my second stay in 2 months and many more to come and it goes without say that it wil be only progressive ark hotel where I will stay.

Things to improve : Variety of the food to be introduced.try to create a seperate bar area with nice ambience where you can relax after busy day

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This hotel is great if you meet the following criteria:
1) you are visiting Nairobi for a short stay
2) you plan to spend most of your time out and about and NOT in the hotel.
3) and you want to stay in a safe neighborhood

Pros-
1) cost efficient
2) clean rooms
3) a 2 minute walk from a 24 hour shopping center
4) great gym on site
5) located in one of the more safer neighborhoods (Westlands)

Cons-
1) a great gym on site (in fact the hotel also doubles as a membership gym)
2) the Westlands neighborhood is in the West part of Nairobi and most of the attractions are in the South and East... and traffic in Nairobi is atrocious.
3) The hotel restaurant is vegetarian. That's right, NO MEAT
4) the hotel room phones do not allow outgoing calls. You either have your own cell phone or you have to go to the front desk to have reception make a call.
5) We noticed lots of little bugs in the cabinets of the restaurant during breakfast.

Room Tip: if you get the apartments be prepared for no A/C. For A/C get the studio or the Executive Studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Thank you for your review about our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay - in particular our Cost & Safety.

We are located in the heart of Westlands, opposite the 24hour Ukay Centre and a walking distance from The Oval & Sarit Centre. Although we are a bit further away from the Attractions (such as the Animal Orphanage; David Sheldricks & Giraffe Centre) many of our leisure travellers appreciate the Shopping, Dining, Bars, Casinos & Clubs available within the Westlands area.

For meat eaters there are plenty of dining options available withing a 5minute walking distance of the Hotel including: Hashmi (Ukay Centre); Ocean Basket (The Oval); Art Caffe (The Oval); Mediterraneo (9 West) & Furusato. In addition, several of the above names also deliver to the Rooms.

I shall immediately investigate your remarks regarding the bugs in the cabinets and, if true, immediate corrective action shall be taken. We take cleanliness very seriously - the majority of the reviews and our high occupancy rates are a testimony of this.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This hotel hits the mark right on in terms of service and really know what a single business traveller such as myself is looking for, and caters to all requests seamlessly. They provided me with an multi plug adaptor on request, good wifi, rooms cleaned in time, and no unnecessary noise. Could work very comfortably throughout my stay. Hotel is good, neat, easy access to business hub westlands and downtown nairobi; they organized many taxi rides for me at an affordable rate, clean safe taxis. overall great stay, excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Thank you for your great review about our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi.

I am pleased to read that our Staff provided you with all the assistance you required. As mentioned, our location is very ideal to both the business and the leisure traveller.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Progressive Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progressive Park Hotel

Address: Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nairobi's business and leisure district (Westlands), Progressive Park Hotel boasts a host of very good amenities and services. The Westgate-Mall, Sarit-Centre and Ukay-Centre are within walking distance and provide great convenience to all guests. The 23 Furnished Suites; 28 Studio Rooms and 9 Executive Studio Rooms with AC are spacious, airy and aptly suit the requirements of business executives and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Progressive Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Progressive Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.