We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Progressive Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Progressive Park Hotel to your Saves list
Progressive Park Hotel
Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE AIRPORT PICK UP
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here last week on a family vacay
Simple place, Comfortable, Clean & Tidy
Excellent food, gym and service.
The staff and management are just outstanding - very friendly, hospitable, accommodating..really made our stay!
Recommend it for the great service!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for the great review about our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi.It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the Food & Service.

I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you of some of the improvements we have undergone in the past few months:
- Hair Drier in all Studio Rooms, Executive Studio Rooms & Two Bedroom Apartments
- Rain Showers in all Studio Rooms & Executive Studio Rooms
- Increased variety in our Breakfast Menu
- Increase in the Number of Satellite TV Channels in the Rooms
- New Cardio & Isotonic Machines in our Gym
- Refurbishment of our Gym Changing Rooms (with Sauna)

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park.

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
6
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in early May 2014. Convenient location in Westlands - opposite Nakumatt Ukay complex and the Oshwal Centre. Set well back from the main road, so fairly quiet. Accommodation was adequate, but could have been cleaned better - especially the bathroom. My room faced the gym so didnt have much of a view.

Breakfast was sufficient - all the basics provided and the dinner menu looked good too although didnt have a chance to try it out. Shalin is a great host and very helpful as are all the staff at reception - service with a smile.

Room Tip: A room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review about our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay especially our Location and Friendly Service. We are located in the heart of Westlands with the 24hour Nakumatt Ukay opposite and The Oval & Sarit Centre within walking distance.

Your comment regarding the cleanliness is noted with concern and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused as a result. I would like to assure you that we take Room Cleanliness very seriously - which has been commended in the past by several previous Trip Advisor reviews.

I am also pleased to inform you that all our Studio Rooms & Executive Studios have been recently installed with Rain Showers and Hair Driers.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a good budget hotel in a convenient location for the Westlands commercial and retail area. My room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet, meaning that my quality of sleep was excellent. There is complimentary access to the on-site gym which appeared to be well equipped, although I didn't try it out!

So why no score of 5? There were a couple of things that prevented me from giving this review a 5. Firstly the wash basin only had a cold water feed which seems a bit odd in this day and age. I boiled the kettle and used this for shaving but would have liked not to have had to. Secondly, the lighting in the room was not great with no light over the wash basin or desk and the switch for the room lights was next to the door, a long way from the bed! Finally, the choices at breakfast are much more limited than at other hotels and the restaurant doesn't offer any meat dishes for dinner.

Please do not be put off by the above negative comments as these were all minor issues and were far outweighed by the positives. I stayed for 3 nights on a business trip and I would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your thorough review about our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and would recommend us to future visitors.

Your comments & feedback regarding the Wash Basin & Lighting have been well noted and passed on to the Management Team for further action.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Excellent value for money, quiet and clean.
For the reasonable cost, ideal for long stays (in this case better the rooms in the old part of the hotel). Restaurant nothing special.
Staff ok.
Excellent for business, fewer for couples.
Better to book in advance.
WiFi ok

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review about our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our Clean & Peaceful environment.

As mentioned in your review we also have One & Two Bedroom Apartments which are more suited to the long staying guests.

As we are busy all year round we recommend guests to make their reservations in advance to avoid disappointment.

I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that you may follow us on Twitter (@ProgressivePark) for access to latest developments & exclusive offers.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Progressive Park , Quiet and peaceful, Name it and they have it, Good Food, Gym , Good furnished rooms ,Ample parking , hospitality, Central Location - Near the biggest malls and the best restaurants.
It is perfect for Families in large numbers, occasions , business travellers . Spent my Easter holidays there and loved it.. Would stay there again...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review about our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi. It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including our Rooms, Location & Gym.

I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that you may follow us on Twitter (@ProgressivePark) for access to latest developments & exclusive offers.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My one week stay at PPH over Easter was a very pleasant experience, its excellent location, proximity to shopping malls, clean spacious rooms, well equipped gym, a good choice of food, friendly staff and excellent service made my stay enjoyable. I got value for money and will certainly make PPH my hotel of choice for all future visits to Nairobi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review about our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi. It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Easter Break with us.

I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that you may follow us on Twitter (@ProgressivePark) for access to latest developments & exclusive offers.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Hotel location is convenient if your activity concerns the UN or the EU. The facility itself is inside guarded premises where you can also find a fully equipped gym as well as a small restaurant (Indian dishes mostly).

Across the street (in front of the hotel gates) there is large shopping mall where you can buy almost anything that you may need when travelling in the region.

Do not expec t5 stars (even 4 stars...) comfort or sophistication but all the basic requirements are there. Rooms are spacious, quiet and clean. Staff is friendly.

This hotel is a good option for a short stay in Nairobi. The cost-quality balance is very interesting.

Room Tip: Always book in advance. A top (2nd) floor may be best. Make sure that you have learned how to operat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your review about our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular our Gym Facilities & Friendly Staff.

As mentioned in your review we are a 3.5 Star Hotel; the room rate and the facilities offered are based on good value for money and functionality for a business traveler. As many past reviews have pointed out our Location suits both the business & leisure traveler and is more importantly very secure. For the leisure traveler we are located within walking distance of the Ukay Centre, The Oval & the Sarit Centre. For the business traveler we are located in the heart of Westlands and a short distance away from the CBD, Upper Hill & Gigiri areas.

As we are busy all year round we recommend guests to make their reservations in advance to avoid disappointment.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Progressive Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progressive Park Hotel

Address: Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nairobi's business and leisure district (Westlands), Progressive Park Hotel boasts a host of very good amenities and services. The Westgate-Mall, Sarit-Centre and Ukay-Centre are within walking distance and provide great convenience to all guests. The 23 Furnished Suites; 28 Studio Rooms and 9 Executive Studio Rooms with AC are spacious, airy and aptly suit the requirements of business executives and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Progressive Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Progressive Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.