We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average 3 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Progressive Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Progressive Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Progressive Park Hotel
Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Karachi
1 review
“Average 3 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks when on an official trip. The hotel is strictly vegetarian (some of the dishes are truly delicious) but I certainly missed eggs for breakfast.
Hotels are generally expensive in Nairobi and so this seems pricey for an average 3 star hotel. There are no heaters in the rooms and September is winter in Kenya which meant sleeping with multiple blankets to stay warm. There are also no air conditioners for those travelling in the summer time.
It could do with a face lift.
Overall the staff is efficient and helpful and it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay.

I would like to point out that we do have the option of Studio Rooms/One Bedroom Apartments (with Fans) or Executive Studio Rooms (with AC). The weather in Nairobi is generally quite pleasant hence the use of the AC is not necessary to most of our clients. However, we did experience a cold winter this year (which is not very usual) for which we do provide extra blankets if requested.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
4
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had an amazing stay at Progressive Park Hotel. The staff went above and beyond to make my stay absolutely wonderful.
Reception was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the city.
Room was clean, and tidy and was taken care of promptly. I was quite impressed with the design of the rooms as they were quite posh with leather couches and a comfy bed.
Landry service was fast and the clothes came out great.
Food at the restaurant was delicious. I highly recommend the Indian dishes, they were fantastic.
Internet worked great.
And above all, you can't beat the location. Right beside a major mall, casino, bank, and 24 hour grocery store. And a 5 minute cab ride to some excellent night life.
Gym machines worked well and seemed fairly modern.
Basically everything a well rounded Canadian tourist would need in Africa.
All in all, great stay! I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: If travelling with quite a few people, grab a suite. They aren't that much more expensive but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are travelling to Nairobi,Kenya, this is an excelent hotel with budget price.The breakfast is
included in price.Rooms are very clean.Staff is very friendly and ready to help.24 hour super market is across the street and hence you can get anything at any time.Westgate shopping mall is just one block away and it is high end.It has casino, movie theatre and food court ,supermarket and various other stores.There is restaurant and bar in the hotel.They serve East Indian Buffet.Food is delicious and menu changes everyday.Hotel has taxi service and also can arrange
shuttle to and from airport.and can also arrange for excursions to safaris and other city attractions.I loved the Gym also with personal trainers ready to help.I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and spacious.Book early during high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This was an excellent choice for a HQ before my husband and I embarked on several hiking trips. The staff were very polite and professional, the place was clean plus the breakfast (included in the rate) was too good to pass. Use of the gym and wifi were complimentary. As it was located close to a mall, it made getting supplies convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a 2 week stay for me and a few friends and I have to say we were a little dubious about the safety in and around Nairobi before getting there but it didn't seem as though there were any problems at all around this hotel - located on a quiet road near one of the best malls in Africa !

The rooms are massive and the service is top quality. Food is nice and spicy and has plenty of variety. (Breakfasts till 11am meant we were able to wake up late after a night out). Good Wi-fi and friendly staff - sorted us out with drivers efficiently. Also, showers are ridiculously powerful..

Best bit was the gym - international quality with every machine imaginable and some hench personal trainers ready to help out.

The only downer was the music in the lift going up to the 4th floor, which was painful to ears after a while !!

Otherwise, highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great Location. The rooms are nice, big, clean with lot of sunlight. The Staffs are friendly. The hotel is easy to locate. Restaurant is pure vegetarian. Bathrooms could have been cleaner. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Manager
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a safari tour and it was a great spot. The hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious, the shower is hot, and breakfast is good. The wifi is okay, I sometimes had trouble connecting but that could be temporary/where my room was located. I stayed at another westlands hotel for double the price at the start of my tour and I wish I just stayed here instead. It was great value for the price.
Ps- There is a gym on site that looks great, I just wasn't feeling well enough to use it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed yourself and appreciated the value for money that we offer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Manager
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Progressive Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progressive Park Hotel

Address: Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nairobi's business and leisure district (Westlands), Progressive Park Hotel boasts a host of very good amenities and services. The Westgate-Mall, Sarit-Centre and Ukay-Centre are within walking distance and provide great convenience to all guests. The 23 Furnished Suites; 28 Studio Rooms and 9 Executive Studio Rooms with AC are spacious, airy and aptly suit the requirements of business executives and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Progressive Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Progressive Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.