We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Progressive Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Progressive Park Hotel to your Saves list
Progressive Park Hotel
Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE AIRPORT PICK UP
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed in the Progressive many times, and highly rate the hotel. Its location (close to Westgate), and cost ($100) make it a very good choice for Westlands.
I always stay in the 1-bed apartment, which has ample space, and good amienties. The only negative is the operation of the shower.
The hotel food caters to an Indian crowd, but with Westgate 200 yards from the hotel, there's no shortage of cafes and restaurants.
The boss (Shalin) and staff (Eva & Stella) always make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed yourself, in particular our Location & Room facilities.

I have noted with concern your comments regarding the operation of the shower and shall ensure immediate corrective action is taken to rectify this.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
6
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very well priced compared to all other hotels in Nairobi in the westlands area. The Rooms were good and so were the amenities and the room service was an added advantage for afternoon snacks. The free wifi was definitely appreciated and the ever helpful staff were a pleasure to meet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have stayedat the Progressive Park Hotel many times and am very satisfied with what the Hotel provides. Rooms are kept clean and most have very good showers. In some rooms the wi-fi can be hit and miss, but staff always try and assist. Great location - just next to a big mall which has good restaurants, super market and cinema! If you go for an apartment style room you have basic cooking facilities and a very spacious room. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed yourself, in particular our Location & Room facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night prior to leaving on a safari tour. The rooms are smart, clean, and include everything we needed – fridge, wi-fi, hot showers. Breakfast was standard and the staff were all very nice, attentive, but not overly so. Located a stone’s throw from the Nakumat Westgate shopping center and many other convenient markets for gathering supplies

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Held a conference for 12persons here. As I had booked 6guests to stay at the hotel we received a good discount on the conferencing (ksh1500 per person per day including lunch). This was more than half the price I was quoted in nearby hotels

Facilities are good and modern. Includes a projector/screen; wifi; writing pad and pens.

My guests also enjoyed their stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review of our Conferencing Facilities. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is just 100metres from the Westgate Shopping Mall so has some restaurant options for those who stay. The Hotel has a mixture of double, triples and apartments for most needs and at a reasonable cost considering this is Nairobi. There is a new dining room which is clean and functional.

The hotel mainly caters for the Indian decent traveller and all breakfasts and meals centre on their requirements. The breakfast however would only need to have minor improvements in range of foodstuffs to be more attractive to a wider range of guests. All juices are from cartons and are not chilled and only a basic range of cereal and toast is available plus some fresh fruit.

The rooms are clean and tidy and all have a fridge which is useful and Satelite TV which has a couple of general channels such as BBC world and a movie channel with the rest catering for the local and Indian guests.

Whilst I give an avarage this is due to the very specific market catered for.

All in all I would go back mainly due to it's location

Room Tip: Book a studio room for couples and singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed yourself, in particular our Location & Room facilities.

Your comments regarding the Breakfast have been well noted and I would like to assure you that we are in the process of adding further variety to the Breakfast Menu.

I would like to point out that when compared to other Nairobi hotels within a similar price range we offer a good mix of TV channels to suit the international traveler.

I look forward to welcoming you back next year to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel was good, clean and located in a great place. But the food had little variety and unless you like curry and chillis, you won't find much on the menu to eat. Ended up eating out a lot because of this, especially at breakfast time.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay - in particular our Rooms, Hygiene Standards & Location.

I have noted your comments regarding the variety of food on our menu and shall share it with the Management team

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Progressive Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progressive Park Hotel

Address: Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nairobi's business and leisure district (Westlands), Progressive Park Hotel boasts a host of very good amenities and services. The Westgate-Mall, Sarit-Centre and Ukay-Centre are within walking distance and provide great convenience to all guests. The 23 Furnished Suites; 28 Studio Rooms and 9 Executive Studio Rooms with AC are spacious, airy and aptly suit the requirements of business executives and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Progressive Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Progressive Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.