We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Progressive Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Progressive Park Hotel to your Saves list
Progressive Park Hotel
Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely stay in the studio room. Didn't expect the breakfast to be in such a lovely lounge. Spent the day shopping in Nairobi then got a chance to experience authentic italian food at the hotel restaurant.

Room cleanliness was excellent. Staff always helped clean up, provide any extra fans, insect repellants and friendly tour advise. Its a great place for a first timer in Nairobi with quick access to taxi's and the hotel"s airport pick up.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
6
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Well whats not to like about the hotel. Its in the middle of 4 malls each within a km at the max. Its neat , clean and extremely affordable. Yes it may not be the glitziest hotel you are gonna stay in but if you are looking for a safe , clean , cheap and nice hotel with free wifi and good breakfast at a great location this one is ideal for you. And if you are an Indian like me you would love the food served in the restaurant. Its vegetarian but delicious.Would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. It is very pleasing to read such positive feedback. As mentioned, we definitely agree that the value proposition we offer is certainly one of our best selling points.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was very pleased with the location of the hotel i.e. safe, very close to a shopping mall and restaurants. The service was great, the staff were very welcoming and homely. I particularly enjoyed the amenities at the hotel i.e. a fully equipped gym with a sauna on-site. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was very impressed with the quality of the customer service at Progressive Park Hotel, as they would always attend to my needs and answer any queries promptly. The location of this hotel is second to none in Nairobi, next to multiple shops, boutiques, cafes and a large mall. The staff are very friendly and polite and security is not a concern. There is also the added bonus of a gym and sauna on-site, making life even more relaxing. The morning breakfast caters for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians and offers a healthy choice of food. All in all, I would personally recommend Progressive Park Hotel to friends without a second thought. Thank you for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is hotel is about practicalities and not luxuries. It is suited for the asian hub that is westlands, and thus most clients needs. Most floors have free wifi (unless you stay in the 3rd floor) which is a bonus. The reception staff are efficient and prompt in replying to emails and the security staff are friendly.

Many rooms dont have A/C which can mean being hot and stuffy. The blinds are thin which means if you are in an east facing room there is no prospect of a late wake up.

The rooms are spacious and clean. There is free supply of drinking water. There is free tea/coffee making facilities. There are places to eat and few shopping malls nearby. There is a decent indian breakfast.

Room Tip: 2nd floor or lower if you want wifi. Get a west facing room if you want a late wake up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed yourself.

I would like to point out that we do have the option of Studio Rooms (with Fans) or Executive Studio Rooms (with AC). The weather in Nairobi is generally quite pleasant hence the use of the AC is not necessary to most of our clients.

I have noted your remarks on the curtains which I have shared with our Management team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Delhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is outside the CBD area. One mall s in front. Nothing else. Its more like an aprtment, not a regular hotel. Service is not so good. Reception staff seems to be out of sorts. Even after paying the rent again aksed for payment. Wasted lot of time. This is terrible.

Room Tip: Stay in new wing. little better then old wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank your for the feedback received regarding your stay at our hotel recently. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

As many reviews have pointed out our Location, although away from the CBD, is quite prime and more importantly very secure.

I have noted with concern your remarks regarding the reception asking for payment twice and assure you that necessary corrective measures shall be taken up. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused as a result.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity so we can show you why your disappointment on your last visit was an isolated case.

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Location:
Westlands. A 24 hr Nakumatt and one of the better malls of Nairobi at 50m on either side of the hotel.
In a city infamous for notorious nights, you can easily walk to these 2 places to for meals /shopping /movies and a cup of coffee. The breakfast and dining had started barely 2 months before I stayed. Food was ok, not great. The rooms arent upto the mark . There is a typical smell that fills the whole room. Somehow I found the rooms to be a bit shady because of the interiors too.

They do not have an in house laundry service but the housekeeping run one on their own personal level.

One big disappointment is lack of a elevator even though there are rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor of one the buildings. Be careful if you are carrying a heavy luggage.

Overall its decent for a night or 2's stay but anything more than that can be avoided.

Room Tip: Choose ones on the ground or 1st floor if you have heavy luggage. Also avoid rooms near the gym as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank your for the feedback received regarding your stay at our hotel recently. We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Our Studio Rooms which are newly built have been furnished to very high standards and it is regrettable to read that they did not meet your expectations.

As pointed out the Restaurant was fairly new when you visited us; since then the Menu has been extensively improved and has received lots of compliments from the Hotel Guests.

There is already a plan to install an elevator and this should be installed very shortly (next 4-6 weeks)

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity so we can show you why your disappointment on your last visit was an isolated case.

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Progressive Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progressive Park Hotel

Address: Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nairobi's business and leisure district (Westlands), Progressive Park Hotel boasts a host of very good amenities and services. The Westgate-Mall, Sarit-Centre and Ukay-Centre are within walking distance and provide great convenience to all guests. The 23 Furnished Suites; 28 Studio Rooms and 9 Executive Studio Rooms with AC are spacious, airy and aptly suit the requirements of business executives and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Progressive Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Progressive Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.