We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and homely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Progressive Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Progressive Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Progressive Park Hotel
Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
UK
1 review
“Friendly and homely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a very good hotel which offers a reasonable standard of accommodation. It has excellent local amenities including some very good restaurants nearby. Generally we had a very pleasant and homely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
4
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Been here in year 2011.Awesome place to stay.Very homely environment.Close to Nakumart & Westlands mall.Few minute drive from main city area.Good location with beautiful view from hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Owner at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from you latest stay with us. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our location.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Shalin Thakrar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,095 reviews 1,095 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
680 helpful votes 680 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Having stayed in the heart of Nairobi for a few nights, I was getting a bit run down and tired. With all the street noise, I had been having a hard time of sleeping. Then came a couple of blissful nights at the Progressive Park Hotel and all was solved.
Progressive Park is almost literally next door to the Westgate Shopping Centre in Westlands. It is back off the road a ways, and the area is very quiet at night. With the shopping centre nearby, the location is great. There are even some other centres and a heap of restaurants and bars to choose from as well, all within walking distance.
The hotel is accessed via a gate to a long driveway, and there is a guard on the gate so security is good.
My room was great – more of an apartment than a hotel room, with a separate lounge and kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Heaps of space and all kept clean and comfortable. The rooms are not new, but in reasonable shape.
The hotel has free wifi, which was a good speed and reliable. My booking also included a free airport transfer which was very handy.
The only real negative was the hot water – or lack of it. The water heater on the wall didn’t really do much – I got luke warm water on one day and stone cold the next. But other than that, I cannot really fault Progressive Park Hotel.
Westlands is not too far from the centre of town – in off peak times I travelled between the two in around 20 minutes – peak times will take MUCH longer. Progressive Park was an excellent hotel, not too remote and nice and quiet. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Owner at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review with some very nice photos. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, in particular the hotel location, complimentary high speed WIFI and clean comfortable rooms.

I would like to sincerely apologize regarding the hot water situation you were faced with. The water heaters installed in every room are of very high quality (The unit is made in Malaysia and the heating element in the UK); I wish this problem would have been reported to the reception so that appropriate action could have been taken immediately.

I would like to once again apologize for the inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park.

Shalin Thakrar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My last rating of this hotel was average, I have been back here a couple of times since and I have to say it gets better and better. The building work has been completed and there are now new rooms. There is a new spacious breakfast room and I understand a new restaurant opens soon. Still a great location, the price is good and excellent staff. Nice to see a place improving all the time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Owner at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure to read that our continuous improvements are being noticed and appreciated. I am sure that the team will be as happy as I am to hear that their service was appreciated, as well as our prime location. Our restaurant shall be open by 1st August 2012. We do hope to welcome you back to the Progressive Park again in the future.

Shalin Thakrar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very Nice Hotel , clean , free wi fi , spacious rooms with tv and modern bathroom , good secuirty , if you need a driver with a car I can give the contact details reliable and honest just e-mail me on SapnaRprl@aol.com also Airport pick up .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking some time and writing a nice review from your recent stay on Trip Advisor
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well
I will share your comments with my team
Please let me know of any future visits to Nairobi and I be more than happy to help with any reservations
Wishing you all the best
Shalin Thakrar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tanzania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

A perfect setting next to the Westgate shopping mall, a mix of doubles, twin family rooms to suit various budgets. Breakfast is basic Indian style but adequate Rooms are very clean and most have a small kitchen attached hich is useful. A perfect place to stay if you need something central.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from you latest stay with us.
I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our location. Regarding the Breakfast, I am pleased to inform you that our New Breakfast Room with a larger variety of options is now open. I have uploaded a picture of the same.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Shalin Thakrar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days. The hotel services are really good in a nice location. Shopping mall, varieties of restaurants including muslim food, taxi stand, mosque : all are within short distance from the hotel. They have allowed me early check in with complimentary breakfast, which is absolutely beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review which I took great pleasure in reading. I am delighted to learn that we exceeded the promise and delivered beyond your expectations. I’m sure that the team will be as happy as I am to hear that their service was appreciated, as well as our flexible check in policy. We do hope to welcome you back to the Progressive Park again in the future.

Shalin Thakrar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Progressive Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progressive Park Hotel

Address: Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nairobi's business and leisure district (Westlands), Progressive Park Hotel boasts a host of very good amenities and services. The Westgate-Mall, Sarit-Centre and Ukay-Centre are within walking distance and provide great convenience to all guests. The 23 Furnished Suites; 28 Studio Rooms and 9 Executive Studio Rooms with AC are spacious, airy and aptly suit the requirements of business executives and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Progressive Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Progressive Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.