We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for Nairobi” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Progressive Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Progressive Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Progressive Park Hotel
Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ok for Nairobi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as a group of us having a night out in Nairobi. The rooms are more small apartment style with a small kitchen area. Location is good with a Nakumart supermarket opposite & shopping malls all nearby. Taxis are available always right outside. All in all a good value clean place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed your overall stay including our Location, Cleanliness and Value.

I am pleased to inform you that we have undergone a complete refurbishment since your last stay. We now have a New Wing with Standard Studios & Executive Studios which are accessible by Lift. We also have a New Reception & Restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
4
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Being a local, I booked Progressive Park Hotel for my guests to stay at while on holiday to Nairobi. The location was close within proximity to local shopping areas which made it easier for the guests to explore Nairobi. They enjoyed their stay and were satisfied with the facilities provided at the Hotel.

The receptionist (Stella) helped greatly and even assisted my guests to safely store their luggage when the were out on safari.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I was very apprehensive, initially, but the location is superb. Well connected and surrounded by the business district. A 24Hr huge store (wouldn't call it a mall) right opposite and West Gate mall another 300 meters down the lane.

The lodging is quite comfortable. You get a sitting area with ample seating arrangement and a bedroom complete with a wardrobe and a locker. Bed was pretty comfortable although air-conditioning is missed. Would have liked to see an attached bath but no complaints on that.

Quality wise, I got fresh linen every day, enough fresh towels in the bath and the room was cleaned everyday and smelled fresh.

Gym is a nuisance as you would hear loud music early in the morning and then again in the evenings.

Breakfast is a problem as it's pretty basic. I wouldn't like to have it everyday. But then there are enough outlets at the nearby West Gate mall.

Internet was non-existent. I tethered my iPhone and used the data services of Airtel connection that I bought at the airport.

Staff is amazing and always around to help you. All in all, a good option to stay if you are on a budget business travel.

Room Tip: As mentioned in some other review, there's no way you can choose a room facing away from the gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

They promote it as a hotel/service apartment. The rooms are spacious with a kitchenette. One can cook some food if required. Opposite this a China Town restaurant which serves up great Indian & Chinese food. Another advantage is its location in the business district of Nairobi, adjacent to wonderful Mall and the 24-hour departmental store, for all daily needs. However, furnishings are old, towels were frayed, and the place is expensive for services which are not so good. One gets a complimentary membership to their gym which is good. Broadband is free, which is an advantage.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed our large spacious rooms, convenient location & free WIFI.

I am pleased to inform you that we have undergone a complete refurbishment since your last stay. We now have a New Wing with Standard Studios & Executive Studios which are accessible by Lift. We also have a New Reception & Restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We recently stayed at PP after returning from Amboseli and on route to The Mara. We had a spacious 1 bed apartment and the hotel brought in a double z-bed for the children. The hotel seemed like good value for money at $120/night compared to other hotels in Nairobi. However, this was still expensive for what you got. Cleanliness of the room was poor. The spare blankets were stained and clearly not washed. The pillows were very old and well used, could be folded in 2! There was no hot water for washing or shaving and no sink plugs and the instantaneous electric shower involved turning on two different water taps and an electric switch for the pump. It was no power shower either! It also had exposed electrical wires.
The internet was patchy and there was no A/C. Not a problem for us, but could be in the warmer months.
Breakfast was basic and largely Indian food, looked good but selection poor.
We were not expecting to stay in luxury as this is Africa, but the tents we stayed in in Amboseli were 100% better in terms of cleanliness and comfort in comparison.
We experienced excessive noise and loud music from the adjacent gym. On a positive note, the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Its a good location for the Westgate and Westlands shopping areas and seemed quite safe.
Overall, we were disappointed and booked into a different hotel on our return from The Mara at what turned out to be a cheaper price and much better facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not adjacent to the gym to avoid loud music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for not having been able to meet your expectations. We have rectified all the shortcomings mentioned in your review.

I am pleased to inform you that we have undergone a complete refurbishment of the property since your last stay. We now have a New Wing with Standard Studios & Executive Studios (with AC) which are accessible by Lift. We also have a New Reception & Restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Taking price into account this is one of the best hotel's that i have stayed in, in Nairobi. The staff were very helpful and always did their best to please, rooms were spacious and always kept very clean and it was a pleasure to stay there. I also felt safe staying at the hotel and enjoyed using the gym. The hotel is situated very close to the town centre which was great as the new shopping malls were very easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Its located very well, and serves the purpose of a business hotel. Fairly priced, service was also v good. Def stay there for my next trip to Nairobi later this year - KS

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Progressive Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progressive Park Hotel

Address: Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nairobi's business and leisure district (Westlands), Progressive Park Hotel boasts a host of very good amenities and services. The Westgate-Mall, Sarit-Centre and Ukay-Centre are within walking distance and provide great convenience to all guests. The 23 Furnished Suites; 28 Studio Rooms and 9 Executive Studio Rooms with AC are spacious, airy and aptly suit the requirements of business executives and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Progressive Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Progressive Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.