We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Progressive Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Progressive Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Progressive Park Hotel
Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Anand, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

They promote it as a hotel/service apartment. The rooms are spacious with a kitchenette. One can cook some food if required. Opposite this a China Town restaurant which serves up great Indian & Chinese food. Another advantage is its location in the business district of Nairobi, adjacent to wonderful Mall and the 24-hour departmental store, for all daily needs. However, furnishings are old, towels were frayed, and the place is expensive for services which are not so good. One gets a complimentary membership to their gym which is good. Broadband is free, which is an advantage.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed our large spacious rooms, convenient location & free WIFI.

I am pleased to inform you that we have undergone a complete refurbishment since your last stay. We now have a New Wing with Standard Studios & Executive Studios which are accessible by Lift. We also have a New Reception & Restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
4
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We recently stayed at PP after returning from Amboseli and on route to The Mara. We had a spacious 1 bed apartment and the hotel brought in a double z-bed for the children. The hotel seemed like good value for money at $120/night compared to other hotels in Nairobi. However, this was still expensive for what you got. Cleanliness of the room was poor. The spare blankets were stained and clearly not washed. The pillows were very old and well used, could be folded in 2! There was no hot water for washing or shaving and no sink plugs and the instantaneous electric shower involved turning on two different water taps and an electric switch for the pump. It was no power shower either! It also had exposed electrical wires.
The internet was patchy and there was no A/C. Not a problem for us, but could be in the warmer months.
Breakfast was basic and largely Indian food, looked good but selection poor.
We were not expecting to stay in luxury as this is Africa, but the tents we stayed in in Amboseli were 100% better in terms of cleanliness and comfort in comparison.
We experienced excessive noise and loud music from the adjacent gym. On a positive note, the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Its a good location for the Westgate and Westlands shopping areas and seemed quite safe.
Overall, we were disappointed and booked into a different hotel on our return from The Mara at what turned out to be a cheaper price and much better facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not adjacent to the gym to avoid loud music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for not having been able to meet your expectations. We have rectified all the shortcomings mentioned in your review.

I am pleased to inform you that we have undergone a complete refurbishment of the property since your last stay. We now have a New Wing with Standard Studios & Executive Studios (with AC) which are accessible by Lift. We also have a New Reception & Restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Taking price into account this is one of the best hotel's that i have stayed in, in Nairobi. The staff were very helpful and always did their best to please, rooms were spacious and always kept very clean and it was a pleasure to stay there. I also felt safe staying at the hotel and enjoyed using the gym. The hotel is situated very close to the town centre which was great as the new shopping malls were very easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Its located very well, and serves the purpose of a business hotel. Fairly priced, service was also v good. Def stay there for my next trip to Nairobi later this year - KS

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed here very recently, and I have to say, it is excellent accommodation - simple, clean spacious rooms, good location (close proximity to the biggest mall - Westgate) and very helpful staff. The breakfast menu is not extensive but was indeed delicious. When looking for accommodation in Nairobi, my primary concern was security, but I felt safe here, they have 24 hour security, and thankfully, the location of this hotel is in one of teh most happening areas of the city, and the area is never disserted, thanks to the 24 hour supermart opposite this hotel. Definitely, worth the money. Thank you and will definitely be back again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed at Progressive Park Hotel for just one night with mine and my cousin's family. All the good hotels we were checking were charging almost $220 + for one night for a double room where we got a two bedroom apartment for $160. Its a good value for a two bedroom accommodation ($440 vs $160).

The location is quite nice and safe, especially with Nakumatt (supermarket) just opposite the road. The apartment was spacious, but it was right next to the humengous power generator which was spilling smoke and was roaring at the highest noice. There are no ACs, and only one room had a fan, which was surprising for us. AFter a bit of negotiation, we managed to get one table fan for one room. There is hardly any service or room service there.

As for breakfast, we being Indians, found it ok, but was wondering how the non Indian guests survive there. This is basically a good location for Indian / South Asian tourists who can manage to get good Indian food / vegetarian food in a few steps walk. And the lady at the restaurant was so tough, made us feel as if we are taking their food for free...

Conclusion: For the budget I was looking for, its a good deal. The cons are manageable looking at the value benefit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

I am happy to note that you appreciate the value for money that we offer

I am pleased to inform you that we have undergone a complete refurbishment since your last stay. We now have a New Wing with Standard Studios & Executive Studios (with AC) which are accessible by Lift. We also have a New Reception & Restaurant.

The Two Bedroom Apartments have been refurbished to a high standard and includes 2 Fans.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is an unusual find; I stayed here because the hotel I usually stay at in Nairobi was fully booked. I picked it because of the Trip Advisor reviews. I agree that it is very well located and for the price it is OK. It does not have air conditioning and the only source of hot water is a strangely plumbed in electric shower that takes a bit of working out. The kitchen is not that well stocked, there is a microwave and a fridge. If you were staying here for any length of time you would struggle to prepare meals with what is provided.
There were a number of blackouts when I was there and I can confirm the generator works, albeit it took 10 minutes on one occasion to kick in and it is very noisy! I would also add that if you are sensitive to noise this place may not be ideal, there is some building work going on in the complex and the apartments have some residential blocks around them which generate a fair amount of noise as does the gym (loud music) and aerobics studio (an instructor who sounds like a drill instructor!).
There is WiFi, but it is hit and miss and fairly slow when it is working.
The apartment I had was spacious, the furnishings were a bit shabby, overall this is a fairly average place to stay. Note, aside from the breakfast room, which I did not use, there is no longer a restaurant on site. However it is an easy walk to shopping malls and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Progressive Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progressive Park Hotel

Address: Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nairobi's business and leisure district (Westlands), Progressive Park Hotel boasts a host of very good amenities and services. The Westgate-Mall, Sarit-Centre and Ukay-Centre are within walking distance and provide great convenience to all guests. The 23 Furnished Suites; 28 Studio Rooms and 9 Executive Studio Rooms with AC are spacious, airy and aptly suit the requirements of business executives and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Progressive Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Progressive Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.