We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Excellent Indian food”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open House Restaurant

Open House Restaurant
Ring Road Parklands, Opp The Mall | Centro House, Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
+254 727 726345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
““Excellent Indian food””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I ate at Open House for the first time. I found the food excellent,and it was served to my instructions as I prefer very spicy food. I order both paratha and garlic naan and they were neither greasy nor oily which is a common problem in their preparation in Indian restaurants. My appetizer ginger chicken wings was excellent as was my vegetarian main course: spinach korma.I enjoyed the salted lassi. The service was efficient and very polite. The restaurant's ambiance was very nice. Open House is a good place to chill out with family and friends It gives you a warm feeling of one's own home. I will highly recommend this place to all my friends and other family members.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Albert,

Thank you for your excellent review. As a spicy food lover I hope you will try the Turbo Nan (Chilly Nan) on your next visit.

Regards,
v
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    61
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had our dinner at their Westlands branch on Nov 11. After having to a large number of Indian restaurants, from the world’s famous Bukhara in New Delhi, India, to Michelin starred Amaya in London, I am glad to say that as far as food - particularly gravies /curries - is concerned, Open House in Nairobi must be one of the best Indian restaurants in the world. Amazing.

Remember, I am not the one who gets impressed that easily, it takes a lot before I use superlatives.

If you like Indian food, and if you are in Nairobi, don’t miss this place. It‘s a treat, it’s an experience – a delightful experience. The owner and manager Mr. Anil is around to guide you. Ask him if you are not sure what to order.

On top of it, very good and attentive service. Value for money, in all regards.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi EuropeanTourist201,
Its an amazing feeling to know that we have brought such satisfaction to a patron. I will make sure to show your review to Mr. Anil and the staff so that they can all also experience the elation I felt reading it.
Kindest Regards,
v
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Don't be fooled by the obscure alley - this place is absolutely brilliant and you will smell it as soon as you open their door. Good service, spacious tables, but most importantly: lovely, lovely food. The appetizer of prawns with deep-fried (?) spiced ginger is simply amazing. Yum.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian Restaurants in Kenya!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went to Open house for a family meal. Service was quick and efficient, food was even better (chilli paneer is a must have!), ambience is very good although can be a bit dark and the entrance needs a bit of work. Value for money is good too, not too expensive considering the quality of food and decor. Definately a must visit for anyone looking for good indian food in Nairobi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

very very good food - the chilly paneer and the reshmi paneer are a must have

service is very personalized and efficient

portions are big and price very reasonable

you need to book to get a table esp in evenings

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.