We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craving Indian food in Kenya?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Open House Restaurant

Open House Restaurant
Ring Road Parklands, Opp The Mall | Centro House, Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
+254 727 726345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 323 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Craving Indian food in Kenya?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in Kenya on holiday and wanted Indian food. A local took us here - and we loved it! We even went back twice. Five of us were stuffed in 40 USD so it definitely isn't a bad deal. The dishes are authentic and delicious.

Chilli paneer was my favorite!! Definitely a place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    61
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Undisputed King of Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The title above says it all. Out of all the Indian restaurants mushrooming all over Westlands, none of them come close to touching Open House.
Please note, when you are planning to go on Wednesday,Friday,Saturday/Sunday, you make an advance booking as they are very busy then.
Food is prepared fresh and the curries are mostly prepared in the traditional North Indian style - aromatic, spicy (to your preference -mild, medium or hot) and very creamy.
I recommend Ginger Mushroom, Paneer Makhani, Chilly Paneer, Chicken curries (all are amazing).
The internal atmosphere is very cozy and warm. Only issue is there is no smoking section as it is a fully closed restaurant and you have to go completely outside to smoke.
It is not over pricey and their portions are to satisfaction.
I will highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants authentic Indian cuisine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“simple and delicious indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

when you get to the restaurant,first thing you notice is the number of Indians. which is a good thing.food is good, simple and affordable. we went there a party of 10 people and was surprised that we didn't break the bank by the end of the meal.
please make a reservation if you intend to go there as a big group to avoid disappointments. Its always packed.
Open house is my to go to Indian joint.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great tasting Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Delicious Indian food plus good service. A great selection of different curries to choose from and they're great with making sure kids can eat the mild version of whatever they choose. Not overpriced either!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Indian fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

There is nothing exquisite on the menu, but somehow the food just tastes different in a nice way. Never let my taste buds down!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.