We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints - the best Indian food in a town full of Indians” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open House Restaurant

Open House Restaurant
Ring Road Parklands, Opp The Mall | Centro House, Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
+254 727 726345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never disappoints - the best Indian food in a town full of Indians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Decor: simple
Service: v good
Food: excellent

Try the Chilean red...good value and goes well with the food.

I think the secret to this restaurants success is that the original chefs are now the management and they continue to be present every day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    91
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Cuisine I have had besides my Moms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have ordering take outs from Open House and I have never been disappointed. The portions are large, when you specify how spicy you want it to be they never over/under do it. I highly recommend Open house

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't go anywhere else for Indian food in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Don't accept anyone telling you that the rival establishments of Anghiti's or Handi's are better. They are not. I have been going to Open House since 2000 when it was located in Bishan Plaza. It's current location gives it a more comfortable restaurant feel. Less upmarket than other restaurants, but you don't come here to eat the decor. Run by brothers Matthew and Anil, one of them is always on duty at the restaurant to ensure that standards do not drop. Indeed, after thirteen years I have still not had a bad meal. Consistency is the toughest thing to find in the Nairobi restaurant scene but Open House ticks the box. Particularly recommended are the starters, especially ginger fried prawns, paneer chili fry, chicken chili fry, ginger chicken wings and the mushroom special (garlic). A wide selection of Nan's also including particularly good cheese nan and (chili) turbo nan. Mains are also good but we tend to be full by then, so consider ordering just a large selection of starters, many of which you won't see at other Indian restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Open House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This has the best curry in the whole world. Wonderful friendly service. If you are a visitor to Nairobi, this is a must to know what the locals love to eat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Definitely the best Indian restaurant in Nairobi. Don't be put off by the shabby exterior, or the pull of the more famous Haandi restuarant across the road in Westlands mall. Open House's food is truly excellent: fresh, subtly spiced, and not too rich. Ginger prawns are a must. Get there early as it gets very crowded.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.