We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open House Restaurant

Open House Restaurant
Ring Road Parklands, Opp The Mall | Centro House, Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
+254 727 726345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Definitely the best Indian restaurant in Nairobi. Don't be put off by the shabby exterior, or the pull of the more famous Haandi restuarant across the road in Westlands mall. Open House's food is truly excellent: fresh, subtly spiced, and not too rich. Ginger prawns are a must. Get there early as it gets very crowded.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    79
    59
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hard to fault on any account.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

For starters, the fact that this place is primarily patronized by Indian (ethnically) families is a good thing. The food is pretty legit and the atmosphere is cozy if a little cheap and cheerful.

Like most any restaurant in Nairobi, the staff here also tend to dote -- invisible and efficient is unthinkable -- and may repeatedly move the same object on the dinner table to 'make room' for a later addition. This is more likely than not to provoke your acknowledgement...ignoring them may have the opposite and unintended effect.

But at least at Open House they're running such a brisk business that they hardly have the time for this. So don't hesitate to go for the quick comfort food. Just don't expect to be able to park on site: so pay a bit extra for the car park next door at the Uchumi shopping plaza.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Constantly in the Top10. Rightly so.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Without doubt the best Indian in town with a solid food selection and efficient and very polite service. Always full, mainly Indian patrons, and they should know. Not pocket friendly these days - as taxes are added on top. Long gone are the days Open House was a simple curry take-away along Muthithi Road know as the 'Den'. Great place.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The service was very good, and the food was wonderful. It was nice to enjoy a tasty meal. I would recommend dressing up a bit. We went in jeans and t-shirts and felt a bit out of place. It is a little bit expensive, but completely worth it! I would recommend the vegetarian paneer and the house ice cream!! We went to the location in Karen at the Crossroads Mall on the second floor. What a hidden gem!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST Indian Food in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Open House, Hashmi's, Diamond Plaza Food court - that is my order of good indian food. People say Haandi's, I say Open House. But, this is just my opinion. Get the ginger mushroom and the paneer chili...awesome!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.