We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Godial's Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Godial's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Godial's Bed & Breakfast
Lenana Road | P.O.Box 76314, Nairobi 00508, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I recently got to stay at Godial's in Nairobi when my daughter was having an emergency c-section! She was first cared for at the hotel before I arrived - was on bedrest and the staff were just the best - they checked on her every hour! Well above the call of duty. Then I was ensconsed with my 3 year old grandson waiting for the delivery results - they could not have been kinder to us. Josh got to play with their kids, and we watched TV in their lovely sitting room. The breakfasts were wonderful and the pizza in the patio bar was great. Nancy and her staff were so kind and friendly. And we had a small but perfect baby boy. The rooms were comfortable with a lovely little outside sitting area for each room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
16
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Index, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was in Nairobi for about two weeks working on a project in the slums. It was so nice to come home to Godial's every evening to smiling faces, hot showers, a clean room and a delicious meal. The staff was very helpful and took good care of me. They have a driver on staff there named Joseph who was just great - he had excellent knowledge of the city and genuinely enjoyed showing me around it when we had the opportunity. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here after an overland tour (i.e. needed somewhere comfortable and relaxing) - and we enjoyed it for what it was. The staff were friendly, the place was clean and it was close to restaurants and malls. The bar was good, and breakfast was delicious. The place was great value for money, in expensive Nairobi (relative to other African cities). The staff organised a driver for us to visit the local attractions, which was nice but quite pricey. They also organised for us to visit a pool of another hotel, but it was $10 each to enter the pool, plus the cost of the driver, so not a cheap afternoon out. The 'Ya Ya centre' mall which has everything you need is a 10 minute walk. They had some cable TV and the bed was huge but quite hard, and the room very small. The staff left us a bottle of wine, and rose petals on our bed after hearing it was our honeymoon, which was a nice touch. There were restaurants within walking distance for dinner time and you can get dinner there too but it wasn't that cheap for what it was (although very convenient for us weary travellers). Oh and the gardens were small, but lovely to enjoy a glass of wine in, and the security was excellent. There was free wi-fi which was great after a month-long holiday. I would recommend to stay here if you are looking for somewhere quiet and have a little extra cash to spend on some small luxuries (i.e. restaurants, wine, drivers).

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with some sunshine - ours was a bit dark but it made it cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed for about 3 weeks in the spring/summer of 2011, and had an irritating experience. The chef was consistently rude, and meals were very over-priced. Prices also weren't transparent (they charged an insane amount for laundry), and when we checked out there was a somewhat tense exchange when we saw that the bill was much larger than had been expected or explained. Am back in Nairobi now and will definitely avoid this place. Lots of other nice places to stay that are better value for the cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODIALS, Owner at Godial's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
It is a pity you had an irritating experience staying at Godials Bed & Breakfast ...We threat all reviews very with importance even though you chose to share a whole year later.

Your booker and I had several meeting and email exchanges before your group's arrival. Everything especially meal pricing were detailed with sample menus emailed to her. Both meal and laundry prices are also clearly published in the rooms. It was however very clear at the time of booking that there were budgetary constraints.

During your stay, you also requested to view your bill severally before your check-out and had many changes as to who in the group would pay for what, the billing instructions were never clear from your end. We even offered you further discounts on your meals after discussions yet did not seem enough because upon check-out you still asked for further discounts.

Nairobi is a beautiful city and there is plenty of choice to suit different individuals. We are sorry you feel so poorly of Godials B&B. It is important for travelers to manage their budgets so as not to judge services as substandard because of an overstretched expenditure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROBI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

In general it is okay, but if you have the expensive ensuite room don't expect too much. A working desk is not available, toilet drips all night, shower drowns groundwater, one day no hot water.
Hostility of the personell is good, but they don't know how to deal with guests.

Room Tip: Don't take the ensuite room. It isn't the extra money worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODIALS, Owner at Godial's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our services. Some of the issues you mention were discussed upon check-in especially the luck of a huge work table of which a temporary solution was offered and welcomed. Furthermore we offered to move you to another room the following day but somehow you opted to stay in the current room.

I believe it is also important to see the differences/similarities in the room options before making conclusions on their worth.

We pride in our hospitality and our staff is friendly and professional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I found it difficult to find an affordable place to stay in Nairobi, and was a bit disappointed by what Godial's provided for the high price.

However, the room was exceptionally clean and the property quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. They arranged for a driver to pick us from the bus stop in the middle of the night and to pick us up in the morning. The free internet in the reception area really helped us out with planning the rest of our time in Nairobi. The location was very convenient - within walking distance of the YaYa Center.

The downsides - The shower never got hot and the bed was really hard. The bathroom was clearly an later addition and both the bedroom and the bathroom were very small.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODIALS, Owner at Godial's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Nairobi recently. All responses to our services both positive and negative are most welcomed and appreciate you highlighting them.
Apologize for the for your water not getting hot, it must have been a small hitch which could have been sorted out immediately if it was brought to our attention.
Godials was fully renovated in 2009 and there were definitely some additions we included, like bathrooms e.t.c.

We do hope to see you again next time you are in Nairobi!
Many thanks
Nancy A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stopped here in transit through Nairobi and found the accommodation and setting relaxing. The welcome smiles on arrival were genuine and gave credence the the 'treat this as home' statement. The location is near shopping malls and restaurants that suited my needs for the short duration.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODIALS, Owner at Godial's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
It is so gratifying to know that you truly enjoyed your short stay with us and felt welcomed and at home! We look forward to meeting with you again in the near future.

Many thanks
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Godial's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godial's Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lenana Road | P.O.Box 76314, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the family home of the Godials, this Bed & Breakfast situated in the Kilimani area has combined the character of its history with all the modern comforts, creating tranquility and luxury in home comfort, which is the core emphasis of our family business. GBB was completely renovated in 2009, but has kept its old charm. The lounge hosts a chic bar. The lush green gardens are refreshing for a stroll. There is a Business centre where you can surf the internet, make photocopies and print. Complimentary English breakfast is served in the dining room along with your morning newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Godial's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godial`s Hotel Nairobi
Godial`s Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Godial's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.