We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, beautiful property, friendly staff, good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Godial's Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Godial's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Godial's Bed & Breakfast
Lenana Road | P.O.Box 76314, Nairobi 00508, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Index, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean rooms, beautiful property, friendly staff, good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was in Nairobi for about two weeks working on a project in the slums. It was so nice to come home to Godial's every evening to smiling faces, hot showers, a clean room and a delicious meal. The staff was very helpful and took good care of me. They have a driver on staff there named Joseph who was just great - he had excellent knowledge of the city and genuinely enjoyed showing me around it when we had the opportunity. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
16
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here after an overland tour (i.e. needed somewhere comfortable and relaxing) - and we enjoyed it for what it was. The staff were friendly, the place was clean and it was close to restaurants and malls. The bar was good, and breakfast was delicious. The place was great value for money, in expensive Nairobi (relative to other African cities). The staff organised a driver for us to visit the local attractions, which was nice but quite pricey. They also organised for us to visit a pool of another hotel, but it was $10 each to enter the pool, plus the cost of the driver, so not a cheap afternoon out. The 'Ya Ya centre' mall which has everything you need is a 10 minute walk. They had some cable TV and the bed was huge but quite hard, and the room very small. The staff left us a bottle of wine, and rose petals on our bed after hearing it was our honeymoon, which was a nice touch. There were restaurants within walking distance for dinner time and you can get dinner there too but it wasn't that cheap for what it was (although very convenient for us weary travellers). Oh and the gardens were small, but lovely to enjoy a glass of wine in, and the security was excellent. There was free wi-fi which was great after a month-long holiday. I would recommend to stay here if you are looking for somewhere quiet and have a little extra cash to spend on some small luxuries (i.e. restaurants, wine, drivers).

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with some sunshine - ours was a bit dark but it made it cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed for about 3 weeks in the spring/summer of 2011, and had an irritating experience. The chef was consistently rude, and meals were very over-priced. Prices also weren't transparent (they charged an insane amount for laundry), and when we checked out there was a somewhat tense exchange when we saw that the bill was much larger than had been expected or explained. Am back in Nairobi now and will definitely avoid this place. Lots of other nice places to stay that are better value for the cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODIALS, Owner at Godial's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
It is a pity you had an irritating experience staying at Godials Bed & Breakfast ...We threat all reviews very with importance even though you chose to share a whole year later.

Your booker and I had several meeting and email exchanges before your group's arrival. Everything especially meal pricing were detailed with sample menus emailed to her. Both meal and laundry prices are also clearly published in the rooms. It was however very clear at the time of booking that there were budgetary constraints.

During your stay, you also requested to view your bill severally before your check-out and had many changes as to who in the group would pay for what, the billing instructions were never clear from your end. We even offered you further discounts on your meals after discussions yet did not seem enough because upon check-out you still asked for further discounts.

Nairobi is a beautiful city and there is plenty of choice to suit different individuals. We are sorry you feel so poorly of Godials B&B. It is important for travelers to manage their budgets so as not to judge services as substandard because of an overstretched expenditure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROBI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

In general it is okay, but if you have the expensive ensuite room don't expect too much. A working desk is not available, toilet drips all night, shower drowns groundwater, one day no hot water.
Hostility of the personell is good, but they don't know how to deal with guests.

Room Tip: Don't take the ensuite room. It isn't the extra money worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODIALS, Owner at Godial's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our services. Some of the issues you mention were discussed upon check-in especially the luck of a huge work table of which a temporary solution was offered and welcomed. Furthermore we offered to move you to another room the following day but somehow you opted to stay in the current room.

I believe it is also important to see the differences/similarities in the room options before making conclusions on their worth.

We pride in our hospitality and our staff is friendly and professional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I found it difficult to find an affordable place to stay in Nairobi, and was a bit disappointed by what Godial's provided for the high price.

However, the room was exceptionally clean and the property quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. They arranged for a driver to pick us from the bus stop in the middle of the night and to pick us up in the morning. The free internet in the reception area really helped us out with planning the rest of our time in Nairobi. The location was very convenient - within walking distance of the YaYa Center.

The downsides - The shower never got hot and the bed was really hard. The bathroom was clearly an later addition and both the bedroom and the bathroom were very small.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODIALS, Owner at Godial's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Nairobi recently. All responses to our services both positive and negative are most welcomed and appreciate you highlighting them.
Apologize for the for your water not getting hot, it must have been a small hitch which could have been sorted out immediately if it was brought to our attention.
Godials was fully renovated in 2009 and there were definitely some additions we included, like bathrooms e.t.c.

We do hope to see you again next time you are in Nairobi!
Many thanks
Nancy A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stopped here in transit through Nairobi and found the accommodation and setting relaxing. The welcome smiles on arrival were genuine and gave credence the the 'treat this as home' statement. The location is near shopping malls and restaurants that suited my needs for the short duration.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODIALS, Owner at Godial's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
It is so gratifying to know that you truly enjoyed your short stay with us and felt welcomed and at home! We look forward to meeting with you again in the near future.

Many thanks
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is small, very nice and presonally owned B&B. If I will return to Nairobi some day, I will not consider any other option (if the price - approx 30 Euro per person will remain the same)!

Pros:
- The whole booking / payment / lodging is mainly provided by the owner Nancy herself. So, because it is her own business, she puts as much afford to make you satisfied as possible! Nancy is really kind person, we have spend a lot of time chatting each other. This is originally a family villa, so the the best positive thing is, that you will fell like staying at home rather than at hotel...

- Transport to the B&B from the airport was arranged by Nancy and was OK. B&B has its own car - a brand new and huge Toyota I gesss whis we used also for taking us around Nairobi (Joseph - the hotel driver was a bit late, but this is normal in africa ;-)
- Transportation to the B&B took us around 15 minutes

- B&B itself is well guarded (this is very important), well situated and well maintained and quite place. Rooms are furnished simply, but they are really clean and the beds are comfortable. Also the bathoroom was clean.

- We used a hotel car for getting us around the city. I must mention the driver named Joseph. This guy was very well english speaking (better than me ;-), he was really kind, attentive and he took us anywhere we wanted to go (we went to museum, and for a dinner to Carnivore which I recommend to visit. I must say that hotel owned car and the Joseph himself were one of the biggest advantages of the hotel!
- "Buffet like" breakfast was included in the price. it was simple bud very tasty and personally operated by the "breakfast staff".

Cons:
- The final communication with Nancy was a bit awkward. I needed to remind myself and it took her few days till she confirmed our in-advance payment.
- We have sleeped at the triple room directed to the entrance. So we heard a watchdog barking almost the whole night. But on the other side, this is sacrifice for your security.
- Not every room has an aircon. Our room had not A/C, but even if it was equipped with it, we would barely use it because during the night it was quite cold (we have stayed here at January 2012 and the night temperature was around 22 I guess).

So, all in all great place to stay. If you go there, say hello to the Nancy and Joseph from guys from Slovakia !!!

Room Tip: Some not orientated to the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODIALS, Owner at Godial's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
I am touched by your kind words and glad that you had a wonderful stay. Your comments both positive and negative, as well as your recommendations mean a lot to our business. I must apologize for the small lapse in communication due to technical problems we experienced at the time.
Thank you for your kind words about Joseph as it is important for our staff to feel that their efforts made your special time in Kenya worthwhile and memorable!

The pictures are wonderful and reflect the good times you had.

We look forward to hosting you all again.

Warm regardsto you all
Nancy A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Godial's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godial's Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lenana Road | P.O.Box 76314, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the family home of the Godials, this Bed & Breakfast situated in the Kilimani area has combined the character of its history with all the modern comforts, creating tranquility and luxury in home comfort, which is the core emphasis of our family business. GBB was completely renovated in 2009, but has kept its old charm. The lounge hosts a chic bar. The lush green gardens are refreshing for a stroll. There is a Business centre where you can surf the internet, make photocopies and print. Complimentary English breakfast is served in the dining room along with your morning newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Godial's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godial`s Bed And Breakfast
Godial`s Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Godial's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.