We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and magaical last Kenyan nights.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
Nairobi Tented Camp
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 163 Nairobi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious and magaical last Kenyan nights.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed here for a fantastic, final two nights of our honeymoon. It’s an idyllic rural retreat and almost impossible to believe you’re only twenty minutes outside of Nairobi.

Entering the safari park we waited while giraffes gracefully crossed the road before continuing our drive passing a herd of zebra and a few gazelle. On arrival at NTC we were greeted with an extremely warm welcome from the very friendly staff and a refreshing glass of lime juice.

Our bags had already arrived at our gorgeously eco-chic tent. Lights are solar powered, and torches are provided next to the bed (which was hugely comfortable). Also next to the bed were fluffy sheepskin rugs, a luxurious feeling. At nights the panels of the tent were zipped and the bed carefully turned down. Each tent is complete with shower cubicle, basin and flushing loo. When showers were required hot water was carried up to the tent and poured into the overhead shower unit.

Both nights we spent very enjoyably sitting round a campfire listening to the noises of the nightlife, watching sparks drift into the night sky, drinking good wine. Supper was served in the dining tent, long polished tables with director’s chairs decadently smothered in sheepskin, warm and comfortable. The food was utterly delicious, the chef created three course meals of an astonishingly high quality given only a coal-fired oven. A beautiful carrot and ginger soup with fluffy bread rolls to start. The main course consisted of creamy mashed potato, vegetables and perfectly pink lamb. For pudding a truly light and zingy mint and lime mousse.

We enjoyed a game drive in the morning with camp manager Will who is unbelievably knowledgeable about flora and fauna of the locality. During our stay at NTC we spotted a wide variety of wildlife…too many to mention. We also had time to visit the nearby Sheldon elephant nursery and a giraffe sanctuary, both were fantastic experiences and if there’s time well worth a visit.

If you’re looking for a quick safari experience or prefer the great outdoors to a soulless hotel room then this is the place to stay and we couldn’t recommend it highly enough. It finished our trip to Kenya in the best way possible.

N.B. We booked our trip to Kenya though Westminster Safaris. The itinerary was tailored to suit us, which it did, and we would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
42
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

My organisation held their annual management meeting at Nairobi Tented Camp, and it turned out to be the perfect venue for us.

The fantastic staff helped to make the two days run very smoothly, working very hard to accomodate our many demands!

The foodsurpassed all of our expectations. There is a great variety of fresh homemade dishes and baked delights. We were all in agreement that the chef desereved a round of applause at the end of our stay.

The tents are exceedingly comfortable. It was endearing to find a little hot water bottle in my bed as I got in. I can honestly say that I had the best nights sleep there. I wasn't even woken by the lions roaing in the early hours.

All in all Nairobi Tented Camp is a great venue for a conference. It provides peace and tranquility to really get down to some business, with the occasional distraction of a family of warthogs walking by. I would thoroughly recommend Nairobi Tented Camp, for business and pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

A wonderful concept and superlatively executed. A true "safari" camp within minutes of "down town Nairobi". Comfortable safari living literally on the doorstep of Nairobi. A great way to start or finish a safari.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flawrence, Manager at Nairobi Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind review, it was great to have you to stay in the camp and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to Nairobi Tented Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We Live in Nairobi and needed a convenient get away from the city for a night. NTC proved to be the perfect combination. Close to the city, but very cleverly located in a tranquil forest in the Nairobi game park that we could have been 200miles from the city. The camp is beautifully done and the luxury tents are exactly that. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience, from food, to the staff to the accommodation. I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going there!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We live in Nairobi and my husbands company booked the new Nairobi Tented Camp for an early Christmas dinner with the option to spend the night. With two young kids we decided to spend the night rather than brave the roads at night. We were not disappointed. After a fantastic sundowner on a hill overlooking the national park, we retreated back to camp where there was an amazing fire and our luxurious tents waiting for us. The tents have been decorated in modern style, with solar lights and comfy cosy double beds with ensuite bathrooms. After finally settling the kids as they were on "safari excitement mode" we settled down to a delicious three course dinner.

The next morning after being in the bush for the night and hearing hyena calling and I am convinced a lion or two, we headed back into town through the park to take the kids to school. This twenty minute drive to school was the best school run ever. We may permanently move in!!!...

Thank you Willy and Guy for your hospitality, We have already discussed when we will be back and have recommended it highly to our "city" friends for a night out doing something wild in Nairobi!!..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We had a wonderful day trip to Nairobi tented camp complete with a luxurious lunch and absolutely excellent service. On the grounds right around the camp we saw unique vegetation and it was amazing to feel in the middle of complete wilderness whlie being so close to the city, This is the perfect accomodation for anyone looking for excellent service with chique, eco-friendly accomodations. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I can't speak highly enough of the new Nairobi Tented Camp in Nairobi National Park. I had just come in from an incredible 2 week safari around Kenya and was sad to be returning to city life. To delay the inevitable as long as possible I decided to avoid staying at a hotel and spend my final night in the bush instead. The camp was fantastic, great showers, incredibly comfortable beds and delicious food - but the highlight was sitting around the campfire with good company listening to Robin's wonderful music and singing. It is definitely the perfect way to start or finish your trip, the camp is conveniently close to the airport but somehow manages to feel worlds away.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.