We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful escape from the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nairobi Tented Camp
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Virginia
1 review
“A wonderful escape from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We had a wonderful day trip to Nairobi tented camp complete with a luxurious lunch and absolutely excellent service. On the grounds right around the camp we saw unique vegetation and it was amazing to feel in the middle of complete wilderness whlie being so close to the city, This is the perfect accomodation for anyone looking for excellent service with chique, eco-friendly accomodations. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
37
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I can't speak highly enough of the new Nairobi Tented Camp in Nairobi National Park. I had just come in from an incredible 2 week safari around Kenya and was sad to be returning to city life. To delay the inevitable as long as possible I decided to avoid staying at a hotel and spend my final night in the bush instead. The camp was fantastic, great showers, incredibly comfortable beds and delicious food - but the highlight was sitting around the campfire with good company listening to Robin's wonderful music and singing. It is definitely the perfect way to start or finish your trip, the camp is conveniently close to the airport but somehow manages to feel worlds away.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

What an amazing experience, we joined Guy Lawrence at the new nairobi tented camp for an introductory breakfast & guided tour of the new Tented Camp that has been launched within Nairobi Park! On arrival my phone signal died & immediately I was thinking, of the possibilites of staff retreats, management or board level meetings without disturbances, an easy retreat for our foreign business visitors, in which we can add an incredible bush & game park experience to our foreign business associates' visits.....great!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed in Nairobi Tented Camp for one night... and in the words of one of the other guests, it is the perfect place to 'keep the dream alive for one more night'. We live in Nairobi but she had just finished a safari, and this was the ideal place to relax and enjoy bush life for one more night before getting on the plane back to London. We arrived around sundown time; and had drinks around a roaring fire before a delicious three course, fully plated meal in the comfort of the mess tent which has chairs covered in gorgeous sheepskin throws. After excellent food, we sat around the camp fire again and chatted whilst the masai staff played a guitar and sang. it was immensely peaceful. The next morning we were visited by a small family of warthog who came down to the Kisembe Stream which is in front of the camp. Service was great and can't find fault with it at all. A great bush experience in Nairobi!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.