We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome safari experience making a difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
Nairobi Tented Camp
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Asia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome safari experience making a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have imagined watching animal migration in Kenya would involve quite some risks: Six vaccinations and anti-malaria pills ahead; some wild animals like lions are outrageously dangerous … Many thanks to Gamewatchers Safaris, our first ever safari holiday has turned out to be a very rewarding life experience. Also thanks to TripAdvisor and the many reviewers for sharing their experience on this platform that have helped us to make this right choice. We recently spent 2 nights in Nairobi Tented Camps and 3 nights in Maasai Mara Bush Camp. Both camps belonging to GameWatchers group; one in a national park and the other in a private conservancy. Fantastic reviews on these two camps on camp location, amenities and staff, safari guides, and game watch have mostly materialized. We are happy to add in a few extras that altogether have made a difference in us.
We were privileged to experience safari through the eyes of expert Maasai safari guides including Andrew, Wilson and Ben. We are impressed not only by their knowledge, but also by their pride and respect for nature, wildlife, and community that welcome tourists as guests on their homeland. Our heartfelt thanks go to our wonderful guide Andrew in Nairobi. His incredible sensitivity in spotting animals and readiness in sharing with us his rich knowledge has made our game watch amazing and fruitful. Many thanks also go to the camp staff, specifically Harry the Bush Camp manager and his great team of Maasai guides and warriors, who were always willing to go beyond lengths to integrate seamlessly environment with camp life to ensure our safety, comfort, and a fulfilling safari experience. And, of course, Sally in Gamewatchers UK for her responsiveness and professional arrangement.
Seeing is believing and disbelieving, too. We have never expected to co-exist in perfect harmony with lions in close proximity (5 -10 meters) unobstructively from an open 4 x 4 vehicle. Watching at our own pace lions climbing, cheetahs strolling, giraffes necking, wildebeests migrating, and a monkey calling alarm in wilderness were thrilling. Yet, we were somewhat surprised that not a single mosquito was found in our camps; even flies were rare. We might have to stretch our imagination a bit beyond our daily city life to fully enjoy the camp life. Safari shower (raising bucket of hot water to make shower by camp staff) seems a bit inconvenient to start with. But it was easily adapted to and has quickly become fond memories of the Safari and moments of reflection … May be I can take a “quicker” shower at home?!
We are planning our next visit to another Porini Camp. Asantesana (meaning thank you very much in Swahili that I learnt from Nairobi) Gamewatchers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
39
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We recently stayed at the Nairobi Tented Camp for five days. During this time we were most impressed with the Camp, the staff who to a person were polite, well versed in the service requirements needed in a camp. Our tent was most comfortable, hot showers readily available and hot water bottles in bed most welcome as it was very chilly at night. The food was delightful and more than enough. Our game drives were excellent and with the exception of elephant and leopard we saw, black and white rhino, lion prides with cubs and substantial bird life, antelope.Andrew Saruni who was our guide is commended on his knowledge of the bush was and Kenya. Although the Camp is in the Nairobi Game Park and located on the edge of Karen a suburb of greater Nairobi one was never really aware of the city. We will return to this camp in 2015 and wish Clemence and her Team a successful year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Lovely tents, very comfortable and clean, with a charming ensuite shower with proper flushing loo.
All very nicely done. Always someone on hand to walk you from your tent to the main reception, or from the restaurant to the toilets, you only have to step out into the dark, and a torch beam lights your way.
My daughters were delighted to have impala walk right past their window. Also their first experience of 'glamping', so something to tell friends.
The staff very nice, and friendly.
However I though the food mixed, on both evenings of my stay we started with extraordinarily good soup ( not usually my favourite), but both times was followed by a very tough indeterminate stewed meat. Pudding so so.
My only other gripe is the safari jeep, because it has a roof , albeit with an opening so that you can stand up while stationary, your view was more than partially blocked by the frame of the vehicle, so that we ended up with cricked necks trying to lean out of the window whilst looking up at eagles, etc.. Our guide Andrew was lovely and is a keen birder himself so I was very happy with his obvious expertise.
If you are short on time this is a good place to have a sort of mini safari experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We learnt about the existence of this place very recently and tested it week before last. We did not expect much but were very pleasantly surprised! It really is in the middle of a bush and at night time you won't even make out whether you are in Mara or Nairobi. The tent is basic but the beds beautifully warmed by hot water bottles. If u r lucky, u may even get more than your regular quota. Our guide Andrew was very knowledgeable and we had some great sightings eg a secretary bird nesting with its mate, hippos and lions obstructing our path. And a majestic juvenile martial eagle. However, because there aren't much activities, 2 nights is the maximum you should stay here. Ideally check in the afternoon to enjoy a game drive. Two more the next day and then leave the next morning. Be warned that the temperature here is a few degrees lower than the city!
Food was nice and sharing a table with the other guests was fun!

Room Tip: There isn't much to choose from but if u r scared of being nudged by a lion at night, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After spending 24 hours in planes and airports it was nice to start my safari within 1 hour of landing in Nairobi. The staff are extremely friendly and informative. The tents are very luxurious with comfortable beds, much better than some of the hotels I have been in. Saw lots of wildlife on the game drive, including white rhino which are becoming very hard to spot now. The food is excellent. After factoring in a game drive, a visit to the elephant orphanage and a nights accommodation it is much less expensive than staying in a hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

What an amazing place to spend to a night in Nairobi before heading out to camps!

The setting is lovely, the tents are comfortable, the food is great and you get game drives too! Excellent guiding from Andrew, who helped us find some beautiful birds in addition a to a wide variety of bigger game. We saw tree-climbing lions and took pictures of zebras with skyscrapers in the background. It is remarkable to have a park like this so close to the city, and staying here is a luxurious introduction to a trip to Kenya..

We had wart hogs outside our tent and wireless internet -- what a combination!

The staff were lovely and proactive in anticipating needs, warm and welcoming. Just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After just serving on a mission trip in rural Kenya with primitive "facilities" all of our stay - this tent camp was nothing short of luxurious! We felt pampered and spoiled the entire time we were at Nairobi Tented Camp. The staff was so courteous and met our every need. I loved our time there - loved the amazing safari - and would highly recommend this camp. Our stay was covered in our trip price so I can't speak to the value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.