We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Neighborhood of Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nairobi Tented Camp
Save
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 179 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“In the Neighborhood of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We recently stayed at the Nairobi Tented Camp for five days. During this time we were most impressed with the Camp, the staff who to a person were polite, well versed in the service requirements needed in a camp. Our tent was most comfortable, hot showers readily available and hot water bottles in bed most welcome as it was very chilly at night. The food was delightful and more than enough. Our game drives were excellent and with the exception of elephant and leopard we saw, black and white rhino, lion prides with cubs and substantial bird life, antelope.Andrew Saruni who was our guide is commended on his knowledge of the bush was and Kenya. Although the Camp is in the Nairobi Game Park and located on the edge of Karen a suburb of greater Nairobi one was never really aware of the city. We will return to this camp in 2015 and wish Clemence and her Team a successful year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
46
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Lovely tents, very comfortable and clean, with a charming ensuite shower with proper flushing loo.
All very nicely done. Always someone on hand to walk you from your tent to the main reception, or from the restaurant to the toilets, you only have to step out into the dark, and a torch beam lights your way.
My daughters were delighted to have impala walk right past their window. Also their first experience of 'glamping', so something to tell friends.
The staff very nice, and friendly.
However I though the food mixed, on both evenings of my stay we started with extraordinarily good soup ( not usually my favourite), but both times was followed by a very tough indeterminate stewed meat. Pudding so so.
My only other gripe is the safari jeep, because it has a roof , albeit with an opening so that you can stand up while stationary, your view was more than partially blocked by the frame of the vehicle, so that we ended up with cricked necks trying to lean out of the window whilst looking up at eagles, etc.. Our guide Andrew was lovely and is a keen birder himself so I was very happy with his obvious expertise.
If you are short on time this is a good place to have a sort of mini safari experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We learnt about the existence of this place very recently and tested it week before last. We did not expect much but were very pleasantly surprised! It really is in the middle of a bush and at night time you won't even make out whether you are in Mara or Nairobi. The tent is basic but the beds beautifully warmed by hot water bottles. If u r lucky, u may even get more than your regular quota. Our guide Andrew was very knowledgeable and we had some great sightings eg a secretary bird nesting with its mate, hippos and lions obstructing our path. And a majestic juvenile martial eagle. However, because there aren't much activities, 2 nights is the maximum you should stay here. Ideally check in the afternoon to enjoy a game drive. Two more the next day and then leave the next morning. Be warned that the temperature here is a few degrees lower than the city!
Food was nice and sharing a table with the other guests was fun!

Room Tip: There isn't much to choose from but if u r scared of being nudged by a lion at night, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After spending 24 hours in planes and airports it was nice to start my safari within 1 hour of landing in Nairobi. The staff are extremely friendly and informative. The tents are very luxurious with comfortable beds, much better than some of the hotels I have been in. Saw lots of wildlife on the game drive, including white rhino which are becoming very hard to spot now. The food is excellent. After factoring in a game drive, a visit to the elephant orphanage and a nights accommodation it is much less expensive than staying in a hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

What an amazing place to spend to a night in Nairobi before heading out to camps!

The setting is lovely, the tents are comfortable, the food is great and you get game drives too! Excellent guiding from Andrew, who helped us find some beautiful birds in addition a to a wide variety of bigger game. We saw tree-climbing lions and took pictures of zebras with skyscrapers in the background. It is remarkable to have a park like this so close to the city, and staying here is a luxurious introduction to a trip to Kenya..

We had wart hogs outside our tent and wireless internet -- what a combination!

The staff were lovely and proactive in anticipating needs, warm and welcoming. Just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After just serving on a mission trip in rural Kenya with primitive "facilities" all of our stay - this tent camp was nothing short of luxurious! We felt pampered and spoiled the entire time we were at Nairobi Tented Camp. The staff was so courteous and met our every need. I loved our time there - loved the amazing safari - and would highly recommend this camp. Our stay was covered in our trip price so I can't speak to the value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our stay here was exceptional. The camp is located within the National Park, though surrounded by the city of Nairobi on its skyline. Our tent was twice as big as our hotel room in Paris. We had a flush toilet, a bush shower with warm water, provided at times of our choice, two game drives a day or one drive and a visit to the baby elephant orphanage.
As it was winter, on some days we were the only guest there, and we were cared for like family. The staff are courteous, friendly without being obsequious, and nothing is too much trouble.
Wake up is at a time of your choosing, and is personally delivered with a cuppa and cookies. The meals are excellent. One of the highlights was that the chef, Dixon, created special dishes for me to meet my dietary requirements. Rice pancakes, chocolate and nut cookies, tarte au chocolate and a chocolate dessert.. In the past, I have stayed at 5 star hotels, who though given ample,notice, came up with a fruit platter, over and over and over again. Dixon was delighted to offer me something special and I will treasure that memory, as well as the treats.
Our game drive guide, Michael, must be descended from eagles. I swear he found game where we saw only grass and trees. A highlight for all of us was when he spotted a leopard in a tree, easily half a km away. He as so excited too as it's the first he has seen in the park. They are very elusive. He is a fount of knowledge on animal habits and well being.
This camp is Eco friendly. All power from solar operated batteries. There is electric light in your tent, tho you can opt for lanterns. No pool, as the Camp can be packed up and leave virtually no footprint. Wi fi available in lounge and dining area. You cannot charge batteries or devices in your rooms, but the staff will charge them for you whenever you wish. It dies take a while via battery, so if you are a serious photographer and take lots of videos, the. You might want to have a second battery.

Room Tip: You don't need a tip. There are only 8 tents, all situated within a short walk of the welcome te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.