We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tented camp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nairobi Tented Camp
Save
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 183 Nairobi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice tented camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Lovely tents, very comfortable and clean, with a charming ensuite shower with proper flushing loo.
All very nicely done. Always someone on hand to walk you from your tent to the main reception, or from the restaurant to the toilets, you only have to step out into the dark, and a torch beam lights your way.
My daughters were delighted to have impala walk right past their window. Also their first experience of 'glamping', so something to tell friends.
The staff very nice, and friendly.
However I though the food mixed, on both evenings of my stay we started with extraordinarily good soup ( not usually my favourite), but both times was followed by a very tough indeterminate stewed meat. Pudding so so.
My only other gripe is the safari jeep, because it has a roof , albeit with an opening so that you can stand up while stationary, your view was more than partially blocked by the frame of the vehicle, so that we ended up with cricked necks trying to lean out of the window whilst looking up at eagles, etc.. Our guide Andrew was lovely and is a keen birder himself so I was very happy with his obvious expertise.
If you are short on time this is a good place to have a sort of mini safari experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
48
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We learnt about the existence of this place very recently and tested it week before last. We did not expect much but were very pleasantly surprised! It really is in the middle of a bush and at night time you won't even make out whether you are in Mara or Nairobi. The tent is basic but the beds beautifully warmed by hot water bottles. If u r lucky, u may even get more than your regular quota. Our guide Andrew was very knowledgeable and we had some great sightings eg a secretary bird nesting with its mate, hippos and lions obstructing our path. And a majestic juvenile martial eagle. However, because there aren't much activities, 2 nights is the maximum you should stay here. Ideally check in the afternoon to enjoy a game drive. Two more the next day and then leave the next morning. Be warned that the temperature here is a few degrees lower than the city!
Food was nice and sharing a table with the other guests was fun!

Room Tip: There isn't much to choose from but if u r scared of being nudged by a lion at night, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After spending 24 hours in planes and airports it was nice to start my safari within 1 hour of landing in Nairobi. The staff are extremely friendly and informative. The tents are very luxurious with comfortable beds, much better than some of the hotels I have been in. Saw lots of wildlife on the game drive, including white rhino which are becoming very hard to spot now. The food is excellent. After factoring in a game drive, a visit to the elephant orphanage and a nights accommodation it is much less expensive than staying in a hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

What an amazing place to spend to a night in Nairobi before heading out to camps!

The setting is lovely, the tents are comfortable, the food is great and you get game drives too! Excellent guiding from Andrew, who helped us find some beautiful birds in addition a to a wide variety of bigger game. We saw tree-climbing lions and took pictures of zebras with skyscrapers in the background. It is remarkable to have a park like this so close to the city, and staying here is a luxurious introduction to a trip to Kenya..

We had wart hogs outside our tent and wireless internet -- what a combination!

The staff were lovely and proactive in anticipating needs, warm and welcoming. Just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After just serving on a mission trip in rural Kenya with primitive "facilities" all of our stay - this tent camp was nothing short of luxurious! We felt pampered and spoiled the entire time we were at Nairobi Tented Camp. The staff was so courteous and met our every need. I loved our time there - loved the amazing safari - and would highly recommend this camp. Our stay was covered in our trip price so I can't speak to the value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our stay here was exceptional. The camp is located within the National Park, though surrounded by the city of Nairobi on its skyline. Our tent was twice as big as our hotel room in Paris. We had a flush toilet, a bush shower with warm water, provided at times of our choice, two game drives a day or one drive and a visit to the baby elephant orphanage.
As it was winter, on some days we were the only guest there, and we were cared for like family. The staff are courteous, friendly without being obsequious, and nothing is too much trouble.
Wake up is at a time of your choosing, and is personally delivered with a cuppa and cookies. The meals are excellent. One of the highlights was that the chef, Dixon, created special dishes for me to meet my dietary requirements. Rice pancakes, chocolate and nut cookies, tarte au chocolate and a chocolate dessert.. In the past, I have stayed at 5 star hotels, who though given ample,notice, came up with a fruit platter, over and over and over again. Dixon was delighted to offer me something special and I will treasure that memory, as well as the treats.
Our game drive guide, Michael, must be descended from eagles. I swear he found game where we saw only grass and trees. A highlight for all of us was when he spotted a leopard in a tree, easily half a km away. He as so excited too as it's the first he has seen in the park. They are very elusive. He is a fount of knowledge on animal habits and well being.
This camp is Eco friendly. All power from solar operated batteries. There is electric light in your tent, tho you can opt for lanterns. No pool, as the Camp can be packed up and leave virtually no footprint. Wi fi available in lounge and dining area. You cannot charge batteries or devices in your rooms, but the staff will charge them for you whenever you wish. It dies take a while via battery, so if you are a serious photographer and take lots of videos, the. You might want to have a second battery.

Room Tip: You don't need a tip. There are only 8 tents, all situated within a short walk of the welcome te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

After an amazing first time Safari covering the Ngorongoro Conversation Area and the Serengeti National Park we returned to Nairobi and decided to stay at Nairobi Tented Camp rather than a Nairobi Hotel. The 'wow' factor commenced. A short 30 minute drive from Nairobi International Airport you will find this small tented camp located in the Nairobi National Park. The pick up from the airport by Francis was seamless. On our transfer drive inside the Park we came upon two Lionesses in the process of stalking six Zebras. Upon arrival we had the customary welcome followed by hot washer and cool drink. Daniel was our Porter and Carer during our two day stay. A lovely man with a huge smile. He, like all the staff, could not do enough for us during our short stay. The Tents are immaculately clean, solar lighting , extremely comfortable bed and wonderfully private. A nice touch having fresh roses on the vanity! No coffee facilities in the tent however whenever you want a morning tea or coffee - along with say a wake up call to do a early morning Game Drive - or like us a 8 am wake up, Coffee/ Tea is delivered hot and on time by Daniel . The food served in the restaurant was delicious and the choice of drinks very good and reasonably priced. On the morning of our arrival a Rhino was grazing on grass outside tent 6 and we were told by the very attentive Camp Manager Clemence, that a couple of weeks earlier a Leopard was on her tent verandah. No worries about security the Maasai guards are ever ready to assist with quests needs. We went on a short 2 hours plus Game viewing late in the afternoon on 10 minutes from the Camp. We were so glad we did as up until we arrived at NTC we were only able to take close up pictures of 'The Big 5' minus the Rhino after 4 days on Safari. Within 1 hour , Michael our driver / spotter found the Rhinos , one with a 8 day old baby. Magic! In fact, the only animal not present in the park is the Elephant. On the morning of our departure a complimentary transfer to Nairobi enabled us to see more wildlife during the 20 minute drive to the National Park Security Gates. My recommendation is not miss a 2 day plus stopover at this wonderful ecotourism Tented Camp. You will not be disappointed. Thank you for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.8 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
5.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#6 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Bedelle
The Bedelle
#10 of 133 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.