We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-friendly and fundamentally natural!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nairobi Tented Camp
Save
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 182 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eco-friendly and fundamentally natural!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited in Sept 2013. We were surprised by the camp's approach to conserving nature and making sure our involvement did not alter the landscape permanently unlike most camps in SA.

Nothing is permanent in this camp (no concrete or permanent structures; the default setting can be restored in a moment, no trees have been displaced to make way for tents). Let this not fool you, the service is exceptional; Right down from the agents to the chef. Natural is a theme that is heavily extended to all aspects of your stay... lighting, hygiene, food, water and waste disposal. In my opinion, the food is exceptionally made to excite your taste buds and the home made approach underlines the personal touch.

If you want a proper city life detox, I highly recommend this. If you prefer intimate moments with your better half or your thoughts, then this is the place to be.

The elephant orphanage educates one on the realities of elephants in Africa as a whole under the siege of illegal tusk harvesting while at the same time offering hope about the future of elephants. We all know what is happening to our rhinos.

This is your last chance to witness the big five just on the outskirts of Nairobi, a first in the world!

Have you ever imagined carrying your little luxuries to the wild without negatively affecting nature?

This is Africa at the end of the day, plans/logic do not always prevail and flexibility should always be kept open as an option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
47
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent our second and third nights in Kenya in the Nairobi Tented Camp and as a result of our experience were sorry not to have spent our first night there too. We found the staff friendly and efficient and the tents comfortable although a little jaded. The food was creative and delicious thanks to Peter and Paul. And our guide Tim was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed a night at Nairobi Tented Camp at very short notice because of a fire at Nairobi Airport which delayed our departure from Kenya. The staff were superb, very helpful and nothing was too much effort.
The tents were comfortable, but not as luxurious as expected; largely because they are effectively temporary. There is no proper plumbing: the toilets in each tent look like the real thing, but are chemical. And the shower is a bucket affair which has to have hot water brought up by the staff on demand.
The bed was comfortable but ours collapsed when we first got into it and we had to put it back together.
We went on a game drive and saw both black and white rhino which was great. Also good birding.
But I wouldn't stay again for a couple of reasons: the park is a remarkable place - real bush but right next to the city of Nairobi so everywhere you look you see the city skyline. And I don't recommend staying in Winter - the camp is situated within a forested area and didn't get much sunlight so it was quite cold. Also little to no cellphone reception which was a problem when trying to establish what was going on at the airport.

.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in August 2013 at the start of our honeymoon for one night before flying out to a couple of other Gamewatchers (Porini) camps. It was an amazing first day for us - going to the elephant orphanage (Sheldrick) followed by a game drive in Nairobi National Park. The whole operation was extremely slick. We were amazed by the variety of wildlife we saw (lion, rhino, giraffe, antelope and buffalo to name just a few) and were seriously impressed by our Maasai guide (Tim) whose knowledge (both in identifying the animals and then explaining the science behind their behaviour) was far beyond what I was expecting - it made for a really exciting experience.
The camp itself was brilliant - luxurious tents and really good food. We subsequently went to a boutique hotel on the coast whose food was not as good as that of the Gamewatchers tented camps.
We then went to sleep to the sound of Hyrax - a great introduction to our safari honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in the Nairobi Tented Camp for a night in August 2013 and was not impressed, in fact, a bit disappointed. I wanted to stay there rather than stay in a concrete hotel in the middle of the city for my last night in Kenya, particularly because we were going to be visiting Daphne Sheldrick's elephant orphanage, which is in the park. The staff was wonderful, the guide was terrific (Tim), and the food was great - in fact, better than anywhere else we'd been in the Mara tent camping, but the site is lacking. I felt a bit like a prisoner there because there is nothing to look at (i.e. no view from your tent), nowhere to walk (everything is in the bushes), and nowhere to sit and read (not enough light). There is a small path leading to several tents (there are only 8 tents), and across from your tent are nothing but large bushes. The tents are a bit close together, but with nowhere to walk other than to and from your tent and the dining/reception area, you feel stifled. I believe there is a river behind all that shrubbery, so maybe if they cleared that out a bit so there is a more open feeling to the camp. Unless you want to lay in your tent when you're there or sit in the reception area, there is nothing for you to do and it gets boring fast. At other camps I've been to on the Mara, there are always animals to watch in an area around the camp, whether it is warthogs in the camp browsing or giraffes on the savannah out there in front of you. There are things to do. Although the camp is not located where you could view a savannah area, it is just too cramped into the bush, as if they didn't want to remove any shrubs unless absolutely necessary, and it's just too scrappy. Since there is nothing to do while in camp, they should light up an area in the reception room more so people can at least read a book. I would not go back. I would rather stay at the Norfolk Hotel as an alternative.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunduziNyama, Owner at Nairobi Tented Camp, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of Nairobi Tented Camp and I was very glad to note your comments that you felt our camp staff and guide were wonderful and that the food was great and better than elsewhere on your safari.
However I was most concerned about your disappointment that the camp was surrounded by bushes so that you could not see out and I have noted your comment that we need to clear the surrounding foliage to create a better view. It is true that we do wish to avoid cutting down any trees and from the outset the National Park authorities had asked for the camp to be hidden deep inside the forest and to be set up with minimal impact on the natural surroundings but we are now discussing with the Park Warden how we might cut back some of the bushes and surrounding undergrowth to give a bit more of a view.
We are also discussing with our Camp Manager, Guide and Staff how to arrange for our guests to have more to do while staying with us such as being shown some of the rich birdlife in the forest around the camp which includes many beautiful species such as Hartlaub’s Turaco and the Narina Trogon which is a rare bird but commonly seen around the tents. We are now also featuring more game drive opportunities in the park throughout the day as well as the visit to Daphne Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage.
Thank you for letting us know of your concern about the lack of a view and we hope that you will accept our assurance that we are looking into ways of addressing it and we are very sorry if this aspect was a disappointment for you.

Jake Grieves-Cook
Managing Director
Gamewatchers Safaris Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I go to Nairobi regularly for work, but this time had (overseas) colleagues with me who had never been to Kenya let alone to "safari style" place so decided to book something completely different...a tented camp right in the middle of Nairobi!
It was awesome. Up to the last minute we were in suspense if we could stay there or not, as it had rained that much in Nairobi that entire areas were flooded and my Kenyan colleague who went to check out the tented camp prior to our arrival got stuck with his car (always pleasant in the middle of a national park with predators around, but luckily he could get hold of the rangers who saved him out of his awkward position).
The tents are cute and nicely decorated. For people that can't live without certain luxuries please do reconsider. The showers work fine, but you will first have to order warm water and then patiently wait for it to be carried to your tent.
Absolutely loved it. I have been to a lot of "real" safari lodges in the Masai Mara and elsewhere and obviously, you can't compare those places to the tented camp in Nairobi.
I found exactly the fact that you are in the middle of a huge city, yet in the middle of nature, fascinating!
Definitely a must if you ONLY have time to go to Nairobi for example, otherwise a longer stay in a more "real" safari area would be advisable.
Nevertheless, be aware that Nairobi National Park is NOT Afro Disney, it is not a zoo, it is a real national park, it just happens to be in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

What a unique safari experience just a stone's throw from busy, bustling Nairobi. Hats off to the staff for their warm welcome, impeccible service and inobtrusive attention to detail. And thanks to our highly knowledgeable game drive guide who taught us what to look for in the early morning activities of the animals we encountered. First prize went to a pair of jackals being smartly outwitted by adult antelope doing decoy runs to distract them away from their young in the grass. We shall be back, and will send others...

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.8 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
5.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#9 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#8 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
7.2 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.