We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money for the Mara!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nairobi Tented Camp
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 151 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Save your money for the Mara!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Whilst the Nairobi National Park is amazing.....all those animals so close to the airports and city, this camp is a poor and rather second rate version of every other camp I have stayed at, in Kenya.
Having stayed at over 40 safari camps and lodges, over the last 15 years, I have to say this one was nothing special and expensive for the level of service and quality of the old tent. I never normally ever bother about the sleeping accommodation, when on a safari and certainly never feel the need to mention in a review, but am doing this time, since it was well below the average. Activities have to be booked, agreed and paid for separately to the main booking.
On the basis I love all things Kenya and am desperate for the National Park to not lose more land to development, as is currently being proposed, I am really sorry to have to write this review. The Park needs to generate money and tax, if it is to have any chance of long term survival, it is therefore a real pity that I feel the need to submit my honest, but less than positive review.
When in the Park and/ Nairobi generally, do make a bee line for the amazing Sheldrick Centre.....
You don't have to be a child to be moved to tears by the baby elephants and their stories...amazing!

Room Tip: All are rather dark and within trees, so no real worries where they put you ie all are much of a muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
35
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed 3 days and 2nights here. What a fantastic setup, a luxury tented Eco-camp in the Nairobi National Park which is next to Nairobi City. Nothing blows the mind more that seeing rhinos (black and white), giraffes, zebras, antelopes etc etc as if in the wild but the city skyline in the background. At night, the campsite is peaceful and relaxed, with personalised service and great food. It is unfenced, so the possibility exists of animal encounters! You are not allowed to walk around at night without a guard. The first night we were sitting around the boma and were visited by a rhino.. We had to quietly go inside. Later a herd of buffalo visited. The game drives conducted by Ben were incredible and he even found us our lions, alas the leopard remained elusive.
Thanks for a fantastic magical experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

For a group of three friends who have been delighting in a holiday in Kenya for the last five years the decision to stay at Nairobi Tented camp for our first night was the icing on the cake for this year's holiday. The location of the camp is enchanting. It is truly wild and yet so peaceful.
We loved the tents and could not have been more comfortable. The whole experience -spendid game drives ( and we are getting quite picky!) and a lovely bird walk, beautifully served meals, and just a lovely informal atmosphere were all down to the excellent staff.
We loved it and will go again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Nairobi Tented camp. It was such a wonderful experience. The game rides are well organized and you do get a chance to see all of the animals you would like. While at the camp you will find the individuals there very helpful and caring, always there to assist you. It is like a 5 star hotel in the middle of a nature park. The food is amazing and plentiful. It is a good chance to meet others as well because it is small groups, only supporting up to 18 people. Bed and bathroom are nice and you can have a hot shower followed by a cocktail by the fire. Lovely place to stay, highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night for the start of our East Africa Safari. The tented camp is within the Nairobi National Park. What a great start to get you in the right frame of mind. The camp had a rustic quality and a great ambience. We were in the middle of the wilds, passing giraffe, a buffalo herd and reedbuck. On alighting from our 4WD jeeps we were met by well dressed waiters with fresh cooling towels and cool fruit juice. The reception tent was set up with plump comfortable lounges and a chaise lounge for an elegant touch. A large coffee table and table lamps finished the picture. The lounges was wonderfully comfortable after dealing with the hustle and bustle of getting from the airport and the short drive to the camp. The dining tent looked superb. Each chair had the softest lambskin rug as a covering. The comfort of these rugs was out of this world after long hours on a plane and through traffic. It felt like you were sitting on a fluffy cloud. Each of our tents had a very comfortable double bed, and private bathroom with a shower, washbasin and most importantly a flush toilet. Now comes the interesting part when you want a shower they fill up a bag full of heated water which they then manually hoist so you have perfectly warm water for a quick but good shower for two people. There is even a verandah with chairs and a little table to sit out side and chill out. We were with a tour group of sixteen so we had the place booked out and our outside chairs were all used around the the campfire, which was wonderful. Our dinner was wonderful and arrived at the table in good time and piping hot. The service was fantastic. Nothing was a problem and they couldn't do enough for us. After dark we were escorted back to our tents by a staff member which only served to add to the experience. Once in our tents we felt perfectly safe and content. All in all a great way to start a safari and a most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend for those who want the real experience. As we were staying in the National park, our game drive in the morning virtually started as soon as we left our tents with the spotting of animals on the agenda. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My Wife Magda and I Wissa FARAG had the most beautiful experience having 3 nights 4 days at Nairobi Tented Camp. I read Trip advisor and decided to experience Nairobi Tented Camp in Nairobi National Park ourselves. What a gem of a place, awesome!, My Wife was not sure of staying in a Tent! but we found our Tent to be of a Luxury, clean comfortable Standard we did not expect, along with Hot Water Bottles for the cool climate at night. We stayed 3 nights here on our visit to Kenya. The Staff and team from the managers Chris & Janine Angell, to all the staff were exceptionally helpful and so hospitable. we could not fault their passion to please us, personalised service for their guests. On Game Drives we were rewarded with exceptional sightings of Lion including a pride of two Males and three females and two sets of Cubs on a Kill "Zebra" nearby and Kevin our Driver Guide Kevin found us all the Animals. Sun downer refreshments to our visit to see the Dafne Sheldrick's Baby Elephants orphans and a kiss with a giraffe at nearby girraffe manor all added to our exceptional experience. Thank you to all the Team at the Nairobi Tented Camp. Wissa and Magda Farag, Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: All tents are excellent. We had a toure and saw them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had the privilege to stay at Nairobi Tented Camp for one night at the end of August 2012. It has been a one of a kind experience in a totally wild setting! The friendliness and personal attention of the caring staff has never been seen before. I can only recommend this special place on earth to everyone. We'll be definately back one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Jovago.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.