We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service, clean, safe, great animal viewing, fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nairobi Tented Camp
Save
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 182 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Miami
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Personal service, clean, safe, great animal viewing, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Nairobi Tented camp. It was such a wonderful experience. The game rides are well organized and you do get a chance to see all of the animals you would like. While at the camp you will find the individuals there very helpful and caring, always there to assist you. It is like a 5 star hotel in the middle of a nature park. The food is amazing and plentiful. It is a good chance to meet others as well because it is small groups, only supporting up to 18 people. Bed and bathroom are nice and you can have a hot shower followed by a cocktail by the fire. Lovely place to stay, highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
47
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night for the start of our East Africa Safari. The tented camp is within the Nairobi National Park. What a great start to get you in the right frame of mind. The camp had a rustic quality and a great ambience. We were in the middle of the wilds, passing giraffe, a buffalo herd and reedbuck. On alighting from our 4WD jeeps we were met by well dressed waiters with fresh cooling towels and cool fruit juice. The reception tent was set up with plump comfortable lounges and a chaise lounge for an elegant touch. A large coffee table and table lamps finished the picture. The lounges was wonderfully comfortable after dealing with the hustle and bustle of getting from the airport and the short drive to the camp. The dining tent looked superb. Each chair had the softest lambskin rug as a covering. The comfort of these rugs was out of this world after long hours on a plane and through traffic. It felt like you were sitting on a fluffy cloud. Each of our tents had a very comfortable double bed, and private bathroom with a shower, washbasin and most importantly a flush toilet. Now comes the interesting part when you want a shower they fill up a bag full of heated water which they then manually hoist so you have perfectly warm water for a quick but good shower for two people. There is even a verandah with chairs and a little table to sit out side and chill out. We were with a tour group of sixteen so we had the place booked out and our outside chairs were all used around the the campfire, which was wonderful. Our dinner was wonderful and arrived at the table in good time and piping hot. The service was fantastic. Nothing was a problem and they couldn't do enough for us. After dark we were escorted back to our tents by a staff member which only served to add to the experience. Once in our tents we felt perfectly safe and content. All in all a great way to start a safari and a most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend for those who want the real experience. As we were staying in the National park, our game drive in the morning virtually started as soon as we left our tents with the spotting of animals on the agenda. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My Wife Magda and I Wissa FARAG had the most beautiful experience having 3 nights 4 days at Nairobi Tented Camp. I read Trip advisor and decided to experience Nairobi Tented Camp in Nairobi National Park ourselves. What a gem of a place, awesome!, My Wife was not sure of staying in a Tent! but we found our Tent to be of a Luxury, clean comfortable Standard we did not expect, along with Hot Water Bottles for the cool climate at night. We stayed 3 nights here on our visit to Kenya. The Staff and team from the managers Chris & Janine Angell, to all the staff were exceptionally helpful and so hospitable. we could not fault their passion to please us, personalised service for their guests. On Game Drives we were rewarded with exceptional sightings of Lion including a pride of two Males and three females and two sets of Cubs on a Kill "Zebra" nearby and Kevin our Driver Guide Kevin found us all the Animals. Sun downer refreshments to our visit to see the Dafne Sheldrick's Baby Elephants orphans and a kiss with a giraffe at nearby girraffe manor all added to our exceptional experience. Thank you to all the Team at the Nairobi Tented Camp. Wissa and Magda Farag, Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: All tents are excellent. We had a toure and saw them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had the privilege to stay at Nairobi Tented Camp for one night at the end of August 2012. It has been a one of a kind experience in a totally wild setting! The friendliness and personal attention of the caring staff has never been seen before. I can only recommend this special place on earth to everyone. We'll be definately back one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was booked into Nairobi Tented Camp by the operators of a Masai Mara safari as a way to make getting to Wilson Airport for the flight to the Mara easier. I had not read reviews so had no idea what to expect of a tented camp. No expectations I might have formed could possibly have matched the reality, from a welcome juice drink on arrival to a tent that was like no tent I have ever seen before -- full-sized and solid double bed and other bedroom furniture in one room, with a separate room (still in the same tent) for a bathroom with flush toilet, sink, and shower stall all built in. You do have to put in a request for hot water when you want the shower, but it's easy to do. Masai warriors accompany you as guards as you walk among the tents -- since lions have been known to saunter through the camp on occasion. Meals are gourmet-level, drinks of all kinds are available (included in some plans, but not in all -- best to inquire which is your plan if you didn't book yourself directly with them). They do morning and afternoon game drives with a sundowner at the end of the afternoon drive, While nobody can offer guarantees of what will be seen on such game drives, of course, our highly expert driver-guide did a great job of finding a surprising variety of game for us -- surprising only because from many places in the National Park the skyline of Nairobi is clearly visible. The camp managers while I was there were interim managers brought in while the permanent managers were on leave -- and ours were highly capable and highly personable. Highly recommended on all accounts. Sleep quality I'll rate a little low but for reasons that should add to its attraction: a lion was roaring nearby on occasion in the night. I can't comment on value for money, since the price was rolled into the cost of a week-long safari in the Mara which followed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nothing to say except: stay here! Preferably go straight after landing at Nairobi airport and immediately immerse yourself in the wonders of Africa's only capital-city-national-park, while enjoying the charms and luxuries of a proper tented camp in the middle of the wilderness! Excellent game drives and walks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is a very nice place to run away to when the hustle and bustle of the city get too much !! Accommodation is great - Tents are comfortable ( although the single beds are slightly short for tall people ! )
Food is excellent. Sitting round the fire at night listening to the sounds of the bush is magic - I recommend this 'city break ' !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.8 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
5.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#8 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
7.2 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.