We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one believe that this is a tent. It was even better than any highst rated hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
Nairobi Tented Camp
Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 173 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No one believe that this is a tent. It was even better than any highst rated hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My Wife Magda and I Wissa FARAG had the most beautiful experience having 3 nights 4 days at Nairobi Tented Camp. I read Trip advisor and decided to experience Nairobi Tented Camp in Nairobi National Park ourselves. What a gem of a place, awesome!, My Wife was not sure of staying in a Tent! but we found our Tent to be of a Luxury, clean comfortable Standard we did not expect, along with Hot Water Bottles for the cool climate at night. We stayed 3 nights here on our visit to Kenya. The Staff and team from the managers Chris & Janine Angell, to all the staff were exceptionally helpful and so hospitable. we could not fault their passion to please us, personalised service for their guests. On Game Drives we were rewarded with exceptional sightings of Lion including a pride of two Males and three females and two sets of Cubs on a Kill "Zebra" nearby and Kevin our Driver Guide Kevin found us all the Animals. Sun downer refreshments to our visit to see the Dafne Sheldrick's Baby Elephants orphans and a kiss with a giraffe at nearby girraffe manor all added to our exceptional experience. Thank you to all the Team at the Nairobi Tented Camp. Wissa and Magda Farag, Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: All tents are excellent. We had a toure and saw them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
46
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had the privilege to stay at Nairobi Tented Camp for one night at the end of August 2012. It has been a one of a kind experience in a totally wild setting! The friendliness and personal attention of the caring staff has never been seen before. I can only recommend this special place on earth to everyone. We'll be definately back one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was booked into Nairobi Tented Camp by the operators of a Masai Mara safari as a way to make getting to Wilson Airport for the flight to the Mara easier. I had not read reviews so had no idea what to expect of a tented camp. No expectations I might have formed could possibly have matched the reality, from a welcome juice drink on arrival to a tent that was like no tent I have ever seen before -- full-sized and solid double bed and other bedroom furniture in one room, with a separate room (still in the same tent) for a bathroom with flush toilet, sink, and shower stall all built in. You do have to put in a request for hot water when you want the shower, but it's easy to do. Masai warriors accompany you as guards as you walk among the tents -- since lions have been known to saunter through the camp on occasion. Meals are gourmet-level, drinks of all kinds are available (included in some plans, but not in all -- best to inquire which is your plan if you didn't book yourself directly with them). They do morning and afternoon game drives with a sundowner at the end of the afternoon drive, While nobody can offer guarantees of what will be seen on such game drives, of course, our highly expert driver-guide did a great job of finding a surprising variety of game for us -- surprising only because from many places in the National Park the skyline of Nairobi is clearly visible. The camp managers while I was there were interim managers brought in while the permanent managers were on leave -- and ours were highly capable and highly personable. Highly recommended on all accounts. Sleep quality I'll rate a little low but for reasons that should add to its attraction: a lion was roaring nearby on occasion in the night. I can't comment on value for money, since the price was rolled into the cost of a week-long safari in the Mara which followed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nothing to say except: stay here! Preferably go straight after landing at Nairobi airport and immediately immerse yourself in the wonders of Africa's only capital-city-national-park, while enjoying the charms and luxuries of a proper tented camp in the middle of the wilderness! Excellent game drives and walks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is a very nice place to run away to when the hustle and bustle of the city get too much !! Accommodation is great - Tents are comfortable ( although the single beds are slightly short for tall people ! )
Food is excellent. Sitting round the fire at night listening to the sounds of the bush is magic - I recommend this 'city break ' !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had two nights here and would have loved to stay a little longer. The "tents" were very clean and comfortable, great beds and I heard a lion roar the first night. The food was excellent and would give many of our restaurants a run for their money.The staff very attentive and friendly. I cannot fault this place. We also felt very safe here. We did an early am safari and saw Black and White Rhinos and many other animals. It was also just a short drive to Sheldricks for our two visits. Highly recommend for a Nairobi stopover.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a 4 week African Holiday. We were not expecting much from the Camp nor indeed from the Nairobi National Park. How wrong we were. This was a remarkable oasis away from the bustle of Nairobi but yet only 30 minutes from the airport. From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a great experience. Kelvin and the team looked after us in every possible way. It was so peaceful there, we did not want to leave. The food was great and then there was the park. Our guide Kevin says that the 10 lions we saw on our 2 safaris was unheard of. We ended our day watching a couple of lions as we enjoyed beer and wine in the safari vehicle. However dont ever go just for 1 night, you need at least 2 nights to feel completely relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.