We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
Nairobi Tented Camp
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 162 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I was on a business trip in Nairobi for two weeks and wanted to get out of the city for the weekend. The NTC, 30 minutes drive away from the city centre, turned out to be a great refuge from the traffic, pollution, noise and congestion in Nairobi. The friendly manager and staff looked after me in every way during my stay: Served drinks by the open fire under the stars; treated me with great cuisine in the mess tent and organized a great excursion to the close by elephant orphanage as well as a game drive where we saw not less than nine lions! My tent-room was more comfortable than the five star Stanely Hotel room I had in Nairobi. The visit at the NTC reenergized and gave a taste of safari as well as feeling of visiting friends. I will definitely go back again if I get the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
42
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I had the privilege of staying at Nairobi Tented Camps for two nights in March.

Kim, the camp manager, runs the camp with a great deal of energy and enthusiasm and she and her team have managed to create a warm, relaxing and peaceful atmosphere in this sanctuary so close to the city.

The camp itself is most impressive as are the tents - proper beds, amazing showers (the guys managed to get the water temperature just right each time) and I had two of the best night’s sleep I’ve had in a long time.

The food, prepared by Chef Paul, was delicious and the effort that Paul, Henry and the team made with the bush breakfast on the final day made the experience truly memorable.

I did two game drives and my guide John was very knowledgeable meaning that I saw a huge number of animals, birds and plants including Lion, White Rhino, Black Rhino + her calf to name a few. The games drives, combined with a visit to Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage, meant that I have an incredible set of memories and some brilliant photos too!

I’d highly recommend Nairobi Tented Camps whether you’re in Nairobi on business and looking to add on a night at the end of your stay, a resident looking for a weekend getaway or simply on holiday and looking for a great safari experience. I look forward to visiting Nairobi tented camps again soon!

Catherine
South Africa

Room Tip: All the tents are fantastic - you really can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at the Nairobi Tented Camp at the begining of our Safari. To start so soon after flying into Nairobi amazing. On our way to the Camp we saw Giraffes, Gazelles, Ostrich and Warthogs with the city skyline in the background fantastic. Kim the Manager is a delight and her staff very efficient nothing is too much trouble. We were lucky to go back to the Nairobi Tented Camp midway during our Safari. The food here was excellent probaly the best food we had during our 2 week Safari and we stayed in mostly 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

For a romantic weekend away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi - a better location could not be found. It literally took us 10 minutes drive from the airport to the East Gate of Nairobi National Park, and an incredible 20minutes or so of game-viewing driving to the tented camp from there. Being met by the friendly Masai, receiving a freshly made drink on arrival, and the incredibly friendly and proficient staff made this visit a great experience from the minute we arrived.
Tents have very comfortable beds, proper toilets, and a "bucket-shower" that is as good as a normal shower in the city.
The three meals served daily were a good variety of western cooking with an African touch, and a nice atmosphere in the mess and lounge areas - especially around the evening camp fire.
What really makes Nairobi Tented Camp 5-Star is the attention to detail that has clearly been worked on very hard, and is most evident in the staff, their friendliness and professionalism.

Couldn't recommend the place higher - especially considering the convenience of proximity to Nairobi, but absolute escapism from the city experienced.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival I was treated very nicely. Good way to escape the bustling streets of Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I live in Nairobi and think this is a perfect escape for city visitors or those wanting to hear the calls of nature-rather than the barks of security dogs for one night. Great food and super staff.Will go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I felt i had to write to tell everyone about what an amazing experience both myself and my wife had when we stayed at NTC. Kim, the manager, is a highly professional lovely lady who makes you feel at home from the start. Henry and Joseph were both very welcoming, nothing was to much and you felt valued and cared for at all times. I must stay the Gerard, the Safari guide was a true professional and without doubt the most skilful and talented guide i have met. Well worth spending as much time with him as you can.

All in all this was a wonderful experience and one that we didn't want to end.

Great team, amazing surrounding and a first class service.

Do yourself a favour and GO

Room Tip: I clicked on the swimming pool buy mistake. They don't have a pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.