We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven of Peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Tented Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nairobi Tented Camp
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven of Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

What a fantastic week end we ha dat the Tented Camp doing Yoga, taking game drive, relaxing and eating delicious food. The staff is impeccable , lovely, helpful and discreet. The Park is ever so beautiful and we took a 3 hour sGame drive to see all the PArk has to offer with Giraffes, Lions, Buffalos and more. SO easy to get there and so hard to get out. You feel you have been so far away and yet can see the Nairobi life in the distance. Absolutely loved it. Best for a ROmantic night out too!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
38
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I stayed one night at this, one of Nairobi''s newest accommodation options. Literally within a few miles of the center of Nairobi, you get a full safari bush experience. On an evening game drive we saw a rhino as well as giraffes, zebras, eland, hartebeest and a good selection of birds. The camp is tucked away in woodland - very quiet and private and gives the real feel of being on safari in Africa.

The camp is very cosy and comfortable. The staff were fabulous in every way and after hot showers we were treated to a gourmet dinner. The tents and common areas are decorated with a comforting and sopisticated decor but not over the top. After dinner we sat around the camp fire and then went to sleep to the sounds of the African bush.

This is a great option if you are stuck in nairobi for a weekend or a night or two and want something a little different from a normal in-town hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We had a wonderful and very comfortable 4 day stay at the Nairobi Tented Camps (NTC). Expect nothing less than total comfort. Relax and let the talented and friendly staff at NTC to spoil you.

NTC is located in the bushes which is in the heart of the Nairobi National Park. The National Park itself is located at a 15 min drive from the international airport and NTC is another 10 min drive from the entrance of the National Park.

We were picked up by Robert who was the driver arranged by NTC. He was very polite and had good knowledge of the city. At the main entrance to the National Park we were met and greeted by Nasha who is one of the support staff. She is from the Masai Tribe. A very cheerful lady who drove with us to NTC after completing the formalities at the main entrance.

You will witness some animals on your way to NTC as you drive through the jungle. Expect a bumpy ride as you drive through the jungle. There is a 200 meter walk to NTC from where the car can take you last. You are escorted by Masai men who work as Security guards at NTC.

We were welcomed by Tana, the Operations Manager at NTC and by Joseph who is the waiter. Tana is a living legend who has wonderful stories to share. Joseph is a very sweet and polite Kenyan man.

You are always escorted by Masai securities from and to your tent. The main tent which serves as a lounge is well decorated and arranged. The dining tent is beautiful. Food was Yummmm!! Special arrangements for HALAL food was made for us as we are Muslim which was highly appreciated by both of us.

The tent was perfect and had a very comfortable bed. There was a very spacious shower area. Towels, bed lamps, tissues, shampoo, soap, moisturizer was all available in the tent. There were also torch lights and insect repellent sprays. The tent had 24 X 7 supply of water (cold running tap water)

NTC is 100% Eco-friendly.They have no electricity. All their lights, lamps and even torch lights are solar powered. Hot water is made available in the shower when requested, The water is boiled over fire and filled in special water bag which is hoisted to the nearest tree to supply water to the shower.

Room service is excellent. By the time your return from a game drive / breakfast the room is tidied up. The room is also tidied up while you are gone for dinner. Hot water bags are put in your bed at night to warm up your bed. In the morning you are woken up by a soft greeting by one of the staff who gets hot water for you to freshen up.

NTC has an amazing chef who creates magic in his little kitchen. For breakfast you have cereals, freshly cut fruits, eggs (however you like them - fried, scrambled, poached, boiled), toast, butter, sausages, jam, tea and coffee. For lunch you are served 2 X salads (yumm yumm yumm - orange and papaya salad with herbs was fantastic), pasta / kuskus, meat / beef steak and of course a desert is served (Lemon Mousse / Cake Apple Crumble / Fruit salad). Dinner also had a full course meal (roast chicken with roast potatoes, tomatoes, carrot and beans / Roast beef with mashed potatoes, tomatoes, carrot and beans) with a desert. You are also served soup if you want some. The pumpkin soup made by the chef was awesome.

There is a camp fire by the main tent after dinner were you can sit and relax as long as you like. We were lucky to spend 3 nights listening to the wonderful stories shared by Tana.

Be prepared to sleep being reminded of being in the arms of nature as you hear all the animals and insects playing the orchestra. You also hear a lioness roar once in a while. The sounds are not so loud to disturb your sleep but are there in the background.

NTC has one of the best Game drivers / Safari Guides. His Name is Peter and he is wonderful. He spots animals from real far away. It was because of Peter that we were lucky enough to spot 17 of the 40 + lions at Nairobi National Park. We also saw loads of zebras, giraffes, eland, wild buffaloes, ostriches, wildebeests, hart beasts, Impalas, Baboons, warthogs, Black & white hippos, Vultures and eagles.

We also requested NTC to suggest a trip outside the National Park and they arranged 2 X half a day trips for us. We visited the elephant orphanage, the giraffe center, the National Museum and a trip around the city as advised by them.

We met Guy who is one of the owners and his wife a day before we left. Guy was amazing and very friendly, so was his wife Maryann.

We were so glad that we chose NTC and stayed close to nature and breathed fresh air than living in a hotel in the city. The city is very busy and the traffic is crazy. We were able to go out and visit the city as and when we liked.

So if you are planning a holiday and a break from your hectic lifestyle what better can it be to get so close to nature and experience life in the bushes. You also get all the comfort and the excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We only had a week in Nairobi and wanted an escape close to the city where we could come together with family, give the kids a great experience, see lots of game, be extremely comfortable, eat well, have an adventure and relax. Too much to ask? No - the Nairobi Tented Camp gave us all that and more. We are not campers by nature, so the comfortable tents, gourmet food (all cooked to our various dietary requirements, including a birthday cake), comfortable beds with hot water bottles, bathrooms with hot showers and high quality toiletries, were highly appreciated. Contrast that with two great game drives in the wilds of the Nairobi National Park where we saw (5!) white rhino, herds of zebra, kongoni, impala, thompson gazelle, giraffe, buffalo, crocodiles, all sorts of birds, eland, and more. Having grown up in Nairobi, I was surprised and delighted by the amount of game, and how close we were able to get to the animals. The skillful and knowledgeable guides knew where to drive us, how to spot things and provided kids and adults alike with important information about the animals and conservation efforts. It really was an unforgettable experience. Special thanks to manager Will and the amazing staff at NTC. We'll be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

.No hussles of driving far away !
.Incredibly ecofriendly.
.Most tasty freshly made lime juice (had lots of it) as a welcome
drink.
.Great lunch, dinner and breakfast.
.Amazing staff.
.My husband and I enjoyed the camp fire plus the extra treat of talking with another lovely couple that stayed at the camp and Tana the Operations Manager( she is extra ordinary!)
.Loved the hot water bottles tucked in bed....and the bucketing shower concept...and the game drives(despite that we have been park many times.)
.We will be back soon because it was a unique, real bush experience in Nairobi and 20 minutes away from home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

I stayed at the tented camp for 3 days with my son, and I can honestly say it was one of the best few days I've ever spent. The owner, Will, made us feel like family, and nothing was too much trouble for him and his marvellous staff. He himself took us on game drives, and if he wasn't free, he hired a driver for us. All trips accompanied by game spotter. Perhaps we saw all there was to see in the park, I'm not sure, but we were very satisfied. And more than satisfied with the food; gourmet it was indeed, including freshly cooked bread. As we are Muslims, Will arranged halal meat for us, for which we were very appreciative. The tent is spacious, and so is the verandah and attached bathroom, running water, flush toilet and wonderful hot showers, sparkling like diamonds in the neon shower light. Lots of lovely picture books in the mess tent, cuddly sheepskin seats in the dining room. Cosy and warm, even in the cold highland nights- did I mention the plethora of pillows, warm quilts and hot water bottles? In short, the vacation of a lifetime. (and i've had a long lifetime of vacations)

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

In last minute we decided to spent Christmas time in Nairobi Tented Camp. The reservation and payment was done very swiftly, despite the fact that we contacted NTC management in last moment just 6 days before our planned travel. We were picked up at the Nairobi airport and driver Robert used East gate to Nairobi National Park - to escape from Nairobi traffic jam. In not more than 60 minutes after our landing we were in wilderness and enjoying spectrum of african wildlife. In camp we were welcomed by management - Will and Henry and Maasai's. It was really nice and excellent feeling as well as our worries from unknown tented camp immediately dissapeared - tents are really on an excellent level - with showers, toilets, very nice and comfortable beds.Chef Edward was really doing miracles - food was excellent and more than too much for us. Christmas diner and also lunch were amazing. Perfectly served and very tasty. Camp is located in small valley within quite dense forest and tents ft really perfectly to environment. Camp is not fenced, but Maasai askari's provide protection during the night and day. We did not have any smallest bad feeling during the day nor during the night, despite the fact that it was possible to hear roaring lions as well as two adult males walked through the edge of the camp - just to remind who is the ruler in this area. During last night forest around the camp was visited by herd of buffaloes and we heard also leopard roaring in the night very close to the camp. Camp was opened just very recently and everything is nice, clean and very well maintained. Will was guiding us every day during long drives through bushes and savannas and very sharp eye of spotter - tracker Ibrahim was able to find also smallest animals on a very long distance. We could not believe that some reviewers put Nairobi National park down with comments that there are no animals. Maybe they visited some different place than we. We had seen really large amounts of rhinos (black as well as white), giraffes, lions, zebras, buffaloes. elands and many other species. We were also lucky and we had seen the last remaining cheetah in the park. Everybody hopes that he will not be lonely for a long time and some female cheetah will find the way to the park through more and more restricted corridors eliminating natural migration of animals. Breakfasts in the bush were really fantastic. We need to say really big and special thank you very much to Will for very long and surely exhausting drivings every day through the park. Will you have done excellent work and your knowledge is really amazing.
We really enjoyed our stay in this camp and it was perfect Christmas gift for us. Care what was provided by Will with his team lead by Henry is unforgettable. We will miss you all. Thank you very much again and see you as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.