We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RESTAURANT IS CLOSED” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blanco's Lounge & Grill

Blanco's Lounge & Grill
Ground floor of Timau Plaza, just off Argwings Khodek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
+254722003181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“RESTAURANT IS CLOSED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Unfortunately, both locations of Blanco's are now closed. Very unfortunate; I really liked this place!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    8
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good thinking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The staff was great and welcoming. They offered great pointers on what was good food and that meant a great meal for us. We were especially pleased with the wine and food pairing suggested.
I loved the general design of the place and thought the swahili menus were pretty nifty!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Screens all over the place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Together with a couple friend we decided to visit the Blanco's Lounge & Grill inside the Galleria mall in Karen. We enjoyed the drinks and the service but the Tv screens all over the place could not help but shout that the venue was aimed at Sports Fanatics- who love their space and games! They can do better with music as we kept sending the waiters to either increase volume or change music. A night well spent though!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“True Kenyan Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the few places you can find truly traditional Kenyan food, in a city of excellent but often multinational restaurants. Service very good and staff happy to explain the dishes. Good beer and wine too. Prices reasonable. Traditional art on the walls and nice decor. A very pleasant evening will be had here, try it :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I enjoyed the food, though it took forever to come. the service is quite ok too. Their desserts are also good. Ambiance is average, but all in all, great place to be for great food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blanco's Lounge & Grill also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Blanco's Lounge & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blanco's Lounge & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.