We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good thinking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blanco's Lounge & Grill

Blanco's Lounge & Grill
Ground floor of Timau Plaza, just off Argwings Khodek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
+254722003181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good thinking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The staff was great and welcoming. They offered great pointers on what was good food and that meant a great meal for us. We were especially pleased with the wine and food pairing suggested.
I loved the general design of the place and thought the swahili menus were pretty nifty!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Screens all over the place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Together with a couple friend we decided to visit the Blanco's Lounge & Grill inside the Galleria mall in Karen. We enjoyed the drinks and the service but the Tv screens all over the place could not help but shout that the venue was aimed at Sports Fanatics- who love their space and games! They can do better with music as we kept sending the waiters to either increase volume or change music. A night well spent though!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“True Kenyan Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the few places you can find truly traditional Kenyan food, in a city of excellent but often multinational restaurants. Service very good and staff happy to explain the dishes. Good beer and wine too. Prices reasonable. Traditional art on the walls and nice decor. A very pleasant evening will be had here, try it :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I enjoyed the food, though it took forever to come. the service is quite ok too. Their desserts are also good. Ambiance is average, but all in all, great place to be for great food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Relaxed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great atmosphere. Good place if your ever holding a small party or so.... Oooh their drink!!! Feel free to try it.
It is also a good place for fingure foods and can be a good place after work meet up places. Not sure about the hours operation though. They sometimes are open and sometimes not.....which I believe has to do with hosting/hiring for half day events. Bridemaids to be, chamas, or small group events i.e. poetry night, book reading etc..... A good place ot consider.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blanco's Lounge & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blanco's Lounge & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blanco's Lounge & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.