We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sports , Beer and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blanco's Lounge & Grill

Blanco's Lounge & Grill
Ground floor of Timau Plaza, just off Argwings Khodek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
+254722003181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 360 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sports , Beer and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Enjoy weekend sporting, good food and have a cold beer while at it. Time over the weekend just flies by. Its a place you would hang out with friends over a weekend and enjoy your favorite team being trounced or win and you on the other hand either drown your sorrows or celebrate over a beer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SPORTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

At Galleria shopping mall, very nice, screens everywhere for sports lovers. Best steak and fries, and sports themed menu. Food is actually really good.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I had a great time at this restaurant. The meals are of good propotions and very tasty. I particularly enjoyed the chicken thighs. I also liked that the meals were local (and named in Swahili) with English translations. They have a special hot wine drink. Yes, you heard me right, hot boiled wine. The waiters are very friendly and they advise you on what may or may not work for you. They even provided us a heater because when we were there it was quite chilly. I would definitely recommend this place. Oh, did I mention that the hot wine drink is to die for?

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

the service is good, the ambience nice, charming decor however a bit monotonous on the wall pics. had pork chops and lamb. the lamb was really dissapointing however the pork was nice. the presentation of the food however was excellent. if only they could work on the lamb........

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food is good, servings are tiny, service is slightly below average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Hungry? Go somewhere else. Looking for a light meal (emphasis on "light" not "meal.")? Then Blanco's is OK. Food was tasty and well prepared -- just tiny portions. One has to leave the restaurant (still in the same building) to use the gents or ladies rooms. Service was below average with seemingly untrained waits.

We've been 3 times. I doubt there will be a 4th.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudachi, Owner at Blanco's Lounge & Grill, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Chip K,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our restaurant.

We apologise for the fact our portion sizes and service delivery fell below your expected standards. We value feedback of this nature as it assists us greatly in improving the quality of the product we offer. I would be extremely grateful if you could contact me directly on Lmudachi@blancos.co.ke to enable me to get more specific details on our shortcomings. Please consider this.

The location of our restrooms is a building design flaw that we acknowledge, but have had to unfortunately had to compromise on as we are tenants and not owners. As a result are unable to address that part of your feedback, it is nonetheless appreciated.

Lastly, we hope that after contacting us with your detailed feedback (should you honour our request) we hope you will reconsider your position and pay us another visit.

Kind regards

Leonard Mudachi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blanco's Lounge & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blanco's Lounge & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blanco's Lounge & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.