We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No other option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“No other option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I was given 24 hours notice to go to Nairobi on business. My assistant found this hotel, which was an unknown entity. Upon arrival, I was greeted into a clean, modern and welcoming reception. Check-in was quick, and Esther the receptionist was constantly smiling and eager to complete the process with the minimum of fuss. (Great after a long flight.) The rooms are spotlessly clean and well equipped, service in the bar and restaurant faultless, the food excellent and in general the whole stay, perfect. However, the biggest plus side to this hotel, is the staff. Always smiling, polite, happy to help and a great sense of pride in their job. If travelling to Nairobi on business, there really is, no other option.

Room Tip: 4th floor Wifi signal a little weak, but not an inconvienience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 772MStead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

it is located in wetlands and so close to shopping malls. The staff are great and the delicacies are perfectly prepared to leave you cleaving for more,honestly it a lovely place to visit
My first stay at this hotel in East Africa & what a fantastic upbeat vibrant energy this place has! The staff was amazing and always smiling. They are professional, positive and have a very professional demeanor. The roof top bar is done very well and a must see. The hotel is like an upscale European modern hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunrise Tours S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

By far the best value in Nairobi.
All rooms have soothing decor, exquisite finishing touches, baths and comfortable beds with thick mattress pads. Like sleeping on a cloud.
The three restaurants offer a variety of cuisine from Asian to Continental. The hotel staff are endlessly accommodating and professional. Even its state-of-the-art gym is equipped with trainers who will whip you in shape if you'd like.
Instead of tourists you may bump into high-ranking diplomats, business execs and politicians at the sleek and chic champagne bar on the roof top.
The Angsana spa (owned by Banyan Tree) makes the Sankara the kind of five star hotel you might find in Bangkok.
The location in the suburb of Westlands is ideal, just 15 minutes from downtown Nairobi, and 20 minutes from the embassy area. There may not be much green space, but it is still the Oriental Hotel of Nairobi.
I'm told a four-star version of the Sankara will open soon in the embassy area of Runda. Each room, designed for longer stays, will have its own kitchenette.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor over-looking the pool next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceinmaasailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear alicemaasailand,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with us. We do appreciate your kind words on our location and facilities. Thank you for choosing the Sankara as your home away from home; and we do look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit to relax, refresh and unwind after a long day’s work at our world class Sankara Angsana spa.

With Warm Regards
Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Sankara is in Westlands, a new suburb of Nairobi about 15 minutes drive from the busy city center and very close to the diplomatic enclave so most of the area is secure, well maintained with lovely gardens and modern architecture. The room we had was not huge but adequately spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the bathrooms clean and well designed with a separate shower closet and a tub. Sankara is a newer hotel while Fairmont Norfolk is an old style colonial building. We chose Sankara because we wanted a newer hotel with updated rooms and we were not disappointed. The gym is a good size with treadmills and weights and other basic equipment. I didn't have time to use the spa but a couple of people said it was great. 20% off for residents. The roof top terrace has events everyday like movie night, a live concert so its fun to go and hang out after a long Safari. The concierge was very helpful. Africab a cab company is just outside the door and reasonably priced. They charge $10 per hour if you need them to wait.
I've never stayed at a Sankara hotel but it is a great business and holiday hotel with a super club lounge that serves excellent canapés and a wonderful breakfast suited to those on the run, parents with kids or just someone on a leisurely holiday. Try their breakfast pound cake and their eggs benedict. The chefs were all very friendly and very kindly accommodated our tastes- vegetarian, no red meat etc.
What is really nice is that the service is not over bearing. You have your privacy and alone time. They also do a half day room rate and you can call the cleaning service pretty much all day. Several local restaurants will deliver to the hotel as well The business center in the lounge allows you to print without a fee.

Room Tip: our room was on the 6th floor just below the club lounge. very quiet with quick access to the gym, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spicelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear spicelore,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed the ambiance of our property as well as the facilities therein. We do look forward to welcoming you back to experience our personalized service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa during your next visit to Nairobi.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My first stay at this hotel in East Africa & what a fantastic upbeat vibrant energy this place has! The staff was amazing and always smiling. They are professional, positive and have a very professional demeanor. The roof top bar is done very well and a must see. The hotel is like an upscale European modern hotel. The breakfast is fresh, delicious and has many different varieties of fruits, ethnic breakfast as well as Meats and cheeses.
Overall very happy and blown off by service. Only thing is I wish they had better rates for staying more than 3 days cause I would have stayed longer! A must stay experience for any one visiting Nairobi.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zarinaj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Zarinaj92,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay. We do look forward to welcoming you back to experience our personalised services and the authentic flavour of the new Africa!

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Convenient location in Westlands and walking distance to shopping centres. Well designed clean and safe. Food quality is very good especially for the event ( lee had hired the hotel for a family reception) Hotel facilities were all very good including gym and pool. Although the staff were friendly and helpful, the room service was extremely slow. Ordered room service at lunch time and the order took almost 2 hours to arrive and were still expected to pay for the meal! Was very disappointed with the room service.

Additionally the room hair blow dryer didn't work and requested a new one and took 30minutes to bring a new one. Service needs improvement.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sid_wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear sid_wise,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We appreciate your kind words about our location and facilities. Please accept our apologies for the lapse in service in our room service and handling of the hair dryer request experienced.This is not the level of service we are accustomed to offering our guests and in keeping with the Sankara standards. Your comments have been shared with the team to prevent such situations from recurring.

We do look forward to an early opportunity to welcome you back to Sankara to restore your faith in us. To this end, please do not hesitate to contact us on stay@sankara.com

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Chef Joshua takes care of the pool side area and VIP lounge. Meals and appetizers have been absolutely incredible. He does custom orders that are not on the menu and is extremely attentive to his customers. Hotel in all has been fantastic, Chef Joshua's services has been the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo-roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Ricardo-roy,

Thank you for your kind review. We ​are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay and I will pass your compliments to Joshua for the excellent service. We do look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy more of Kenyan hospitality and Joshua’s specially made cuisines.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#12 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#10 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing