We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My first stay at this hotel in East Africa & what a fantastic upbeat vibrant energy this place has! The staff was amazing and always smiling. They are professional, positive and have a very professional demeanor. The roof top bar is done very well and a must see. The hotel is like an upscale European modern hotel. The breakfast is fresh, delicious and has many different varieties of fruits, ethnic breakfast as well as Meats and cheeses.
Overall very happy and blown off by service. Only thing is I wish they had better rates for staying more than 3 days cause I would have stayed longer! A must stay experience for any one visiting Nairobi.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zarinaj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Zarinaj92,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay. We do look forward to welcoming you back to experience our personalised services and the authentic flavour of the new Africa!

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Convenient location in Westlands and walking distance to shopping centres. Well designed clean and safe. Food quality is very good especially for the event ( lee had hired the hotel for a family reception) Hotel facilities were all very good including gym and pool. Although the staff were friendly and helpful, the room service was extremely slow. Ordered room service at lunch time and the order took almost 2 hours to arrive and were still expected to pay for the meal! Was very disappointed with the room service.

Additionally the room hair blow dryer didn't work and requested a new one and took 30minutes to bring a new one. Service needs improvement.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sid_wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear sid_wise,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We appreciate your kind words about our location and facilities. Please accept our apologies for the lapse in service in our room service and handling of the hair dryer request experienced.This is not the level of service we are accustomed to offering our guests and in keeping with the Sankara standards. Your comments have been shared with the team to prevent such situations from recurring.

We do look forward to an early opportunity to welcome you back to Sankara to restore your faith in us. To this end, please do not hesitate to contact us on stay@sankara.com

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Chef Joshua takes care of the pool side area and VIP lounge. Meals and appetizers have been absolutely incredible. He does custom orders that are not on the menu and is extremely attentive to his customers. Hotel in all has been fantastic, Chef Joshua's services has been the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo-roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Ricardo-roy,

Thank you for your kind review. We ​are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay and I will pass your compliments to Joshua for the excellent service. We do look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy more of Kenyan hospitality and Joshua’s specially made cuisines.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

nice room, excellent service, nice restaurant, pool is very small and too cold to swim in - they should have it indoors instead, wifi connection was free but was very patchy and slow. the taxi service is safe and very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartacus666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Spartacus666,

Thank you for your gracious comments about our property. We have noted your feedback on the slow Wi-Fi service and would like to apologise for this lapse. Regrettably we did experience some downtime from our provider during your stay and the band width for the backup link we have is not as fast.

We do hope you will be visiting us in the future and allow us to exceed your expectations

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Sankara is a top quality business hotel in the heart of Nairobi. The usual suspects of international travellers - Intercontinental and Hilton in Nairobi are disasters in comparison. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, service is prompt and the food is excellent. The roof top restaurant and bar is great - with a pool and a crooner in the evenings.

Room Tip: Overall rooms are good - I've stayed here twice. However, don't expect any view - its in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear RahulSG,

Thank you for your wonderful review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back for another experience at the stunning roof top pool bar to relax and unwind at the centre of Nairobi’s vibrant social and business life.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is an amazing hotel. I was here for 5 weeks for business, and was originally going to stay at the Intercontinental, but after reading reviews on trip advisor I decided to look for alternatives. Purely by luck I found the Sankara. The rooms are beautiful, luxurious and modern. The staff are very helpful, the gym is modern. Room service is good and the roof top bar is pretty nice way to chill out after day in the office.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Michael K,
Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted that you found us and we do look forward to welcoming you back at the Sankara on your next visit to Nairobi to enjoy a little more of the Kenyan hospitality, unwind at our top of the range Sarabi Supper Club at the roof top while taking in the panoramic views of the city’s skyline.

With Warm Regards
Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed at hotel for one week in June 2014. Friendly and serviceminded staff. I used their car service (very good) to and from Airport. Hotel has several good reataurants. Pool is very small and located on high floor.

Room Tip: Select a room on high floor with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear ARP_11,

Thank you for your review on our property; and we do look forward to welcoming you back to experience our personalized service in your next visit to Nairobi.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#12 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#10 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing