We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Festive Season Special
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good hotel for Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

nice room, excellent service, nice restaurant, pool is very small and too cold to swim in - they should have it indoors instead, wifi connection was free but was very patchy and slow. the taxi service is safe and very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Spartacus666,

Thank you for your gracious comments about our property. We have noted your feedback on the slow Wi-Fi service and would like to apologise for this lapse. Regrettably we did experience some downtime from our provider during your stay and the band width for the backup link we have is not as fast.

We do hope you will be visiting us in the future and allow us to exceed your expectations

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    145
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
69
28
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Sankara is a top quality business hotel in the heart of Nairobi. The usual suspects of international travellers - Intercontinental and Hilton in Nairobi are disasters in comparison. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, service is prompt and the food is excellent. The roof top restaurant and bar is great - with a pool and a crooner in the evenings.

Room Tip: Overall rooms are good - I've stayed here twice. However, don't expect any view - its in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear RahulSG,

Thank you for your wonderful review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back for another experience at the stunning roof top pool bar to relax and unwind at the centre of Nairobi’s vibrant social and business life.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is an amazing hotel. I was here for 5 weeks for business, and was originally going to stay at the Intercontinental, but after reading reviews on trip advisor I decided to look for alternatives. Purely by luck I found the Sankara. The rooms are beautiful, luxurious and modern. The staff are very helpful, the gym is modern. Room service is good and the roof top bar is pretty nice way to chill out after day in the office.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Michael K,
Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted that you found us and we do look forward to welcoming you back at the Sankara on your next visit to Nairobi to enjoy a little more of the Kenyan hospitality, unwind at our top of the range Sarabi Supper Club at the roof top while taking in the panoramic views of the city’s skyline.

With Warm Regards
Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed at hotel for one week in June 2014. Friendly and serviceminded staff. I used their car service (very good) to and from Airport. Hotel has several good reataurants. Pool is very small and located on high floor.

Room Tip: Select a room on high floor with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear ARP_11,

Thank you for your review on our property; and we do look forward to welcoming you back to experience our personalized service in your next visit to Nairobi.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed a few times at the Sankara and recently added club rooms with access to the lounge. After a day in seriously congested Nairobi, the Sankara feels like home away from home. Modern and relax at the same time. Service and food are excellent. If you you are bored about hotel food you have top Indian and Chinese food around the corner. Rooms are modern and cleaned. Bathrooms are top notch with strong showers and modern amenities. You want a nice bar then the bar by the pool on the 7th floor is worth a visit. Gym is small but well equipped. I just moved to my new home and on my way out I was given a nice gift with all sorts do food to keep my alive for a few days.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Cholito63,

Thank you for your kind review on our property and delighted that we were your home away from home whilst looking for your new home in Nairobi.

We do hope that the goodies helped while you settled into the new house and do look forward to seeing you back at Sankara to enjoy your favourite spots away from the bustle.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I booked this hotel online, and it seems they go out of their way to present online rates as lower, when they end up being higher. Breakfast, which is normally included, is not if you book online. They charge nearly USD 30 per day for breakfast, which is good but quite basic.

Otherwise, the hotel is nice. The staff is extremely friendly.

Rooms are clean, but with a few signs of wear. Wifi is decent.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on floors 4 and 5 are probably best in terms of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Abigail B,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us. Our hotel website does indicate the rates exclusive of taxes and breakfast. Also it does provide options to add breakfast when booking on line with a summary of the charges at the end of the reservation stage before confirming the booking. Unfortunately we cannot control how other on line platforms may sell us as we provide our rates exclusive of breakfast and tax. However we will review which other portals are selling us to ensure consistency.

The breakfast buffet we provide is quite extensive consisting of a variety of hot dishes that have some local flavours, you can have any versions of eggs from the omelets to florentines made to order from the live kitchen, cold cuts, cheese, smoked salmon, porridge, waffles, fresh juices, cut fruits, bakery section, yoghurt amongst other items. Please do let us know if you felt that there was anything that missing.

We do look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back and to this end, please feel free to contact us at stay@sankara.com to be able to offer you the best available rate.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have stayed at the Sankara at least 3 times in the last year, and each time the experience has been very good. Have also used their chaffeur service to and from the Airport. The beds are very comfortable and more importantly free and fairly fast wi-fi available. The bar on the roof is really a nice place to relax after a days work and the gym is nice , with 2 treadmills, 2 cycles and 2 eliptical trainers, and about 4 other machine stations. All equipment is Technogym which are quality machines. From a food point of view the breakfasts are quite good. I have twice had lunch there due to me using their conference facilities and both times I did not enjoy the food, the conference facilities and tea/snacks though are top notch. Have never had dinner there so cannot comment. The hotel is directly over the road from the Sarit Shopping Centre which also has a large supermarket that close late each evening, so is always convenient to take a walk across to get some snacks and sweets from there. They also take credit cards which makes like without local currency a bit easier, there is also a food court on the top floor if you prefer takeout to hotel food. In a nutshell a highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the corner rooms as I found the Wi-fi to be at its weakest and you might then need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Wayne_SA,

Thank you for the wonderful review on our property. We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, to enjoy a drink after a day’s work while enjoying the Nairobi’s amazing sky line from the roof top bar or at our exquisite Champagne Bar.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.