We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Festive Season Special
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Top Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Only spent 1 night at the hotel but the experience was fabulous from start to finish. The staff are excellent, friendly and very willing to help. The room was as expected for a five star with fresh fruit in the room on arrival and the room was immaculate. We dined at the Artisan restaurant and opted for the buffet as they were so many choices available for all courses. Breakfast was a buffet as well and again so many choices. Lovely touch with the soap stone animal and card that is left when housekeeping turns down bed at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Angela M,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property and the compliments to our staff on the personalized service they offered you in your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the figurines for turn down service and look forward to welcoming you back to continue adding to your collection from the 28 different styles of the Sankara Seven figurines.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    145
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
69
28
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on arrival in Nairobi from Canada. The hotel is beautiful, though in a neighbourhood that looks a bit rougher, but security was good, and we felt very safe here. We only took advantage of the breakfasts in their restaurant, but were happy with the quality and service. The service from the hotel staff was likewise to a high standard, especially their assistance in dealing with our lost baggage, which they helped co-ordinate the delivery of from the airport.

Exactly what were were looking for. Wifi was free, though a touch on the slow side - though my expectations of that may be a bit on the high side. All in all, a positive stay that we really enjoyed prior to leaving for a safari on the second morning.

It would have been nice if the pool were open later. They convert their pool deck into a lounge and bar in the evenings, so I understand why they don't want people swimming there - but hot as it is in Nairobi, this would have been a nice evening option after 6:30 pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Daniel B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate your compliments on our ambiance and facilities.

We are delighted to be of assistance to repatriate you with the lost luggage to enjoy your holiday in comfort.

We look forward to your return to the Sankara soon.


With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Exceeded our expectataions , we used this venue in August 2013 and then again in June2014, will be back again, awesome staff , always willing to help. Grace(event co-ordinator) is always willing to go the extra mile, nothing too hard to sort. Clean, beautiful venue, Will be back on holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear subs72,

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing review on our property. We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit; to your preferred venue for your meetings at the centre of Nairobi’s vibrant social and business life, and your home away from home.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I spent two nights in this hotel during June 2014, the service and food were at the expected standard, the hotel team is extremely friendly and keen to help. The gym is reasonable sized and equipped although needs new machines. The pool restaurant is worth visiting. The hotel feels safe and they are very active in security.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Rod_Valens,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on our property and for noting our commitment to security. We put high regard to ensuring that all our guests are safe and comfortable by having stringent security measures in place.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, to enjoy a drink after a day’s work while enjoying the Nairobi’s amazing sky line from the roof top bar or at our exquisite Champagne Bar.


With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Excelent service, very good and well furnished rooms, quality amenities and delicious breakfast.

There is only one suggestion I would give to the hotel, regarding to menu option. They should have simple plates, like grilled fish with vegetables. All they have include souces and spicies.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jbbi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review; on our facilities and our excellent staff.

We appreciate your suggestions on the improvements to the menu offerings which our Culinary team will take on board with menu changes planned.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed at the Sankara Nairobi for two nights in July 2014 while on business and found the hotel to be excellent in terms of location and amenities offered. Relative to other hotels in the area that I have stayed at in the past, the Sankara was problem-free. The rooms were modern and clean and the staff at the hotel were particularly helpful and willing to accommodate any request - for me, this included a few extra hours in the room after checkout since my departing flight was very late at night. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner and was able to easily accommodate a large group I was with. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Andy P,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at Sankara. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting Nairobi and our team would be happy to take care of your reservation: stay@sankara.com

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed at Sankara for a holiday. Very nice business hotel but not much African feel. No outdoor space which would make it more relaxing and rooftop pool not very relaxing as in bar area. Nice breakfast and coffee bar. Very helpful person (Emma) on the travel desk,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Kim-Neil,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review; Emma will be delighted to hear the encouraging comments you have left, thank you.

When designing the hotel, we have tried to incorporate a sense of place to complement the modern design incorporated through art. Within the hotel from the moment you enter, there are paintings, sculptures throughout the building and within the rooms of African Art collected from over 25 artists in Kenya and East Africa.

We do look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Nairobi to enjoy our facilities once again and would be proud to show you the African touches at Sankara.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.