We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Exceeded our expectataions , we used this venue in August 2013 and then again in June2014, will be back again, awesome staff , always willing to help. Grace(event co-ordinator) is always willing to go the extra mile, nothing too hard to sort. Clean, beautiful venue, Will be back on holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear subs72,

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing review on our property. We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit; to your preferred venue for your meetings at the centre of Nairobi’s vibrant social and business life, and your home away from home.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    133
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
31
64
25
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I spent two nights in this hotel during June 2014, the service and food were at the expected standard, the hotel team is extremely friendly and keen to help. The gym is reasonable sized and equipped although needs new machines. The pool restaurant is worth visiting. The hotel feels safe and they are very active in security.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Rod_Valens,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on our property and for noting our commitment to security. We put high regard to ensuring that all our guests are safe and comfortable by having stringent security measures in place.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, to enjoy a drink after a day’s work while enjoying the Nairobi’s amazing sky line from the roof top bar or at our exquisite Champagne Bar.


With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Excelent service, very good and well furnished rooms, quality amenities and delicious breakfast.

There is only one suggestion I would give to the hotel, regarding to menu option. They should have simple plates, like grilled fish with vegetables. All they have include souces and spicies.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jbbi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review; on our facilities and our excellent staff.

We appreciate your suggestions on the improvements to the menu offerings which our Culinary team will take on board with menu changes planned.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed at the Sankara Nairobi for two nights in July 2014 while on business and found the hotel to be excellent in terms of location and amenities offered. Relative to other hotels in the area that I have stayed at in the past, the Sankara was problem-free. The rooms were modern and clean and the staff at the hotel were particularly helpful and willing to accommodate any request - for me, this included a few extra hours in the room after checkout since my departing flight was very late at night. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner and was able to easily accommodate a large group I was with. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Andy P,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at Sankara. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting Nairobi and our team would be happy to take care of your reservation: stay@sankara.com

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed at Sankara for a holiday. Very nice business hotel but not much African feel. No outdoor space which would make it more relaxing and rooftop pool not very relaxing as in bar area. Nice breakfast and coffee bar. Very helpful person (Emma) on the travel desk,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Kim-Neil,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review; Emma will be delighted to hear the encouraging comments you have left, thank you.

When designing the hotel, we have tried to incorporate a sense of place to complement the modern design incorporated through art. Within the hotel from the moment you enter, there are paintings, sculptures throughout the building and within the rooms of African Art collected from over 25 artists in Kenya and East Africa.

We do look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Nairobi to enjoy our facilities once again and would be proud to show you the African touches at Sankara.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I spent nearly eight weeks at the Sankara, from 13th May, whilst working in Kenya. It is a very modern hotel, I think about three years old, with beautifully appointed rooms. Both the guest rooms and the public areas were always beautifully clean, and the food was always excellent. Its greatest strength is its staff, from the manager down, who could not have been kinder and more attentive to our needs. The only drawback to the hotel is its lack of outdoor space for sitting and relaxing. The security was impressive in these difficult times in Kenya, but was delivered with smiles to minimise the impact on the guests. Over the long period of our stay, it progressively felt like home. There is also a desk where the staff are very helpful in organising leisure activities, such as weekend safaris.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the gardens of the neighbouring Jacaranda hotel are nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Peterstearn,

Thank you so much for your very kind review following your extended stay with us at the Sankara. We have shared your compliments to all our staff who took care of you and your wife during your stay.

We do look forward to welcoming you back when next in Nairobi and thank you for choosing the Sankara as your home away from home.

With Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Sankara for 3 nights on a recent long weekend trip to Nairobi with our 2 kids (age 4 and 2) (we are currently living in Africa). The location was good near the central business district and right next door to a mall which was helpful for the food court, grocery store, etc if you need anything. The hotel itself was very nice, with a comfortable room with a nice lush king bed and nicely decorated. We had asked for 2 queen or double beds explaining that we wanted a bed for our 4 year old and one for us. When we showed up it was a room with two twin beds in it - clearly that wouldn't work. They were quick to move us to a King room without a problem and our 4 year old ended up sleeping in an additional pack and play (which came about an hour after they said it would delaying bedtime somewhat). The room did have enough space for 2 pack and plays and had a nice big bathroom with a bathtub and separate shower. The shower smelled a bit mildewy but looked clean without visible mildew. Other than that the room was great.

The service was consistently good with the exception of the delay in pack and play. They were very nice from the start, very responsive and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and we were so glad to have a rate with breakfast included.

Overall a nice hotel that would be a 4 star in the U.S. This is now the second "5 star" hotel we have stayed in in Africa - both of which were like this - nice and solidly 4 star but not quite 5. Next time I might save a bit of money and stay at the City Lodge or similar class of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Samantha R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay; we do appreciate your compliments about our facilities and service.

We do however apologize for the delay in delivery of the pack and play upon check in. Unfortunately we do not have the Twin Queen beds which you may have seen as a standard in the US but this is something we have put into consideration for future developments.

We are sorry to hear that you did not feel our hotel was up to five star standards. I would like to assure you that we are committed to and do benchmark ourselves to providing International five star standards in service and quality of facilities we have provided within the hotel.

We would be delighted to hear from you to understand the areas where we can improve on to meet the five star standards you are accustomed to in the US. To this end please do not hesitate to contact us on stay@sankara.com

In the meantime we do look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to the Sankara soon.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;