We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“5 Star Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel with an staff always waiting for it's customers. Really enjoyed staying here as part of my business trip to Kenya with it's convenient location, tentative staff, and excellent accommodations. ATM is right down the street and plenty of bars for nightlife as well.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms directly under the rooftop bar/pool area as sometimes they get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Grayson_Sasser,

Thank you for your wonderful review about our property. We do look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Nairobi to enjoy more of our Kenyan hospitality.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    127
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
62
24
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Can't wait to stay here again.The only issue i had was with the WIFI however it's better than the other places i've stayed so it will do.Very convenient for business travel as its not too far from the major banks and inner city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Terry B,

Thank you for your review on our property; I am happy to note that you will use us again for your future visits. Please do not hesitate to let us know should you require any assistance.

We have just upgraded our Wi-Fi platform early this month to provide a more stable connectivity. Further refinements are also in progress.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sankara.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Sankara is a good hotel.

Things we liked:
- the rooms are very nice, clean and the wifi works well.
- the breakfast is great. the food in the restaurants is good also, but lack atmosphere in the evening.
- the staff are very helpful.

Things we didnt like:
- we stayed over a weekend and it was VERY NOISY in the corridors. We didnt complain, but in hindsight we should have.
- when you use the taxi company afiliated to the hotel, which is very professional, BUT be aware of WAITING TIME. we never asked the taxi to wait for us whilst we were at the mall and subsequently he tries to charge us for this. we of course didnt pay this, but we had to argue about it.
- once we checked out of the hotel, you cannot access the free wifi. When i requested access i was told i had to pay $8/hour for it. this is crazy for a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear ArneOSLO,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at Sankara.We do appreciate your kind words about our facilities and our staff. Please accept our apologies for the noise in the corridors which we could have addressed with the other guests concerned if we were informed. I was concerned to hear of the service received from the outsourced taxi service which we will take up with the provider.

We have just upgraded our Wi-Fi platform and now all our guests have a grace period of two hours after check out for internet use.

Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and we are always available to assist on such matters during your stay so we can give a resolution immediately. In the meantime, we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Sankara.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Sankara in June 2014 for 5 nights. I was with my two young children. The staff were nice and helpful. The food in the restaurants was great. But the service in the restaurant was not very good. Every meal I had to get up to find our waitress (which is tricky to do with a toddler!). The room was beautiful and very clean. The cleaning staff are good but slow, so make sure you give them at least 4 hours to clean your room. The location is nice, near a mall so you can easily walk to do shopping. The pool is really for decoration, as it is in the middle of the bar upstairs so people are eating and watching you swim, just a little uncomfortable. We didn't want to take the kids to swim because it just didn't seem like a family place. But over all we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Room service is somewhat slow so plan for at least an hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have written a review on Sankara before and I guess things have changed since then. We went for dinner because it was recommended for having the best burgers in town. First, the staff told us that we had to pay for WiFi.I was completely shocked! This was the first time I was asked to pay for WiFi anywhere! This is supposed to be a five star hotel for heavens sake! Even small restaurants and cafes in town do not ask me to pay for WiFi. The burger was not that great and after spending a lot of money for dinner, all I can say is am very disappointed. I am not giving you one star because of the ambiance.Word of advice , make sure you have your on way of accessing the internet when you go there!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Sankara is thoroughly modern and comfortable. The rooms were immaculate and turn-down service was well-done. Instead of a chocolate I was left a carved animal figure every night - nice touch. The restaurants and bars were pricey but the food was worth it. The local tour operator in the lobby was always full of ideas for trips. The spa was a very nice retreat, with a well-trained staff.

Warning: Use the hotel car service or have them arrange your taxi. I used the airport taxi service and was robbed on the way to the hotel. Possibly an inside job according to police. When I arrived at the Sankara their security chief took control of the situation, arranging for police to come to the hotel. The next day I had to go to the police station and someone from the hotel accompanied me. The receptionists, managers and security staff were all very supportive. They helped make a bad situation tolerable. Trust me, you will not get that type of response from all hotels in Nairobi. The Sankara staff get 5 stars for customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Spoiledtravelguy,

Thank you for your very kind review; we appreciate your feedback about our facilities and more so the service you received from our team after the unfortunate incident on the way to the hotel from the airport.

We do look forward to welcoming you back; and please feel free to contact our reservations team on stay@sankara.com to make arrangements for your accommodation and airport pick up on your next visit to Nairobi.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Enjoyed a stay of 3 nights at the Sankara and was very pleasantly surprised. Did not know what quite to expect having never been to Nairobi but to be sure it exceeded my expectations. Great location, very good security, super efficient and friendly staff, lovely food and better than standard rooms. If there is but one criticism is that the pool is part of the roof top bar and that makes for a difficult situation of wanting to swim but it in such close proximity of the bar guests.

Overall, though, no complaints and would definately recommend it on a stay in Nairobi

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Giralang,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review; we appreciate your kind words about our facilities and services, and we have passed along your compliments to our associates. We hope you will be visiting us again when you are in Nairobi and look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations.

With Kind Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.