We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel before and after my Safari. The hotel is very nice, spotlessly clean with top notch service. Food was great and rooftop bar was a great place to hang out. The hotel is well located in the Westlands area of nairobi. It is walking distance to may shopping areas including a mall with large supermarket (The Sarit Centre) literally across the street from the hotel. The staff was very accommodating even when I wanted to have my hair braided, they helped me to find a salon and negotiate the price.
One point of improvement: We had requested and prepaid for a room with 3 beds a month before stay. The room wasn't set up when we checked in at 4:00pm. We would have liked a ready room with 3 sets of towels and 3 beds ready before we arrive.
This was quickly fixed by the staff and may have been an oversight as everything else was top notch. We had to go through metal detectors to enter the hotel but that helped me to feel more secure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Nat B,

Thank you for your lovely review of our property.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and extend our most sincere apologies for the lapse in providing your requests sent in advance. The Housekeeping Team have been asked to review this to ensure we do not have a similar situation recurring.

Our commitment to ensuring your safety and comfort is of paramount importance. We have strengthened our already stringent security measures; with the addition of luggage scanners, anti blast shatter films on our windows and are awaiting delivery of further advanced equipment for detection to be added.

We do look forward to welcoming you back; to experience our personalized service from our staff.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    126
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
62
24
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Overall it was a great experience during my stay
the hotel is safe, secured, clean and gorgeous. the pool and bar areas must not be missed.
the service level is exceptional great, better than a lot of hotels i have been staying across different cities in different continents, I would like to thank John Menya, for his excellent service at the lobby. he always greet us when ever saw us leaving or coming back to the hotel, there are time he even walked us to the back door or ATM for safety reason. i can say he is a role model for service industry, our experience wouldn't be this wonderful without his great hospitality thank you.
the only minor issue we had was over the weekend when there were party nearby which not last until 3 in the morning. but otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear MJJH2012,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your most recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us. The entire team will be hugely appreciative of your kind comments; and I will make sure that particularly John receives the recognition he deserves.

We are truly sorry for the noise emerging from the party nearby which was beyond our control. We have spoken with our neighbours on the matter.

We hope that you will be back again to enjoy our unequalled personalized service.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed a while ago, but enjoyed it. I stayed in a suite style room with a lovely bathroom. The buffet restaurant on the mezzo floor was excellent.

The only complaints were the water patches on the walls (probably plumbing issues) and having to go through a metal detector. Although when it comes to security I guess its better to be safe than sorry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Dan T,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to note that you had a lovely stay at our property. Our engineering team will look into the water patches you mentioned in the room you stayed as this is not evident elsewhere.

Our commitment to ensuring your safety and comfort is of paramount importance. We have strengthened our already stringent security measures; with the addition of luggage scanners to ensure search of all bags brought into the hotel, anti blast shatter films on our windows and are awaiting delivery of further equipment for detection to be added.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Sankara hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in in Africa. The rooms are very clean and stuff are very friendly and professional. I enjoyed my very short stay there. The bar on the top floor has a good view of Nairobi too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Shingai Sharon M,

Thank you for taking to write your review on our property; and for the wonderful remarks about our facilities and staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to experience the tranquillity of our spacious rooms and the stunning views from our rooftop Club and the Champagne Bar.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Loved my short stay at the Sankarahotel whilst in Nairobi. It's located in the Westlands area and is a short walk away from some good restaurants and bars. Great food, especially the dinner buffet. Check out the heated pool. Staff are really friendly and welcoming and the rooms are spacious and have all the amenities you could ask for. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Nthabiseng M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your most recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us. I know the team will be hugely appreciative of your kind comments and will be even more engaged to exceed your future experiences with the Sankara Nairobi.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Sankara penthouse is the right choice for a business meeting mostly morning time. Good view, good selection of beverages, chill - out music and great comfortable sofas. And don't forget from the lobby to the pool area everything is so posh and stylish. Just enjoy then!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear davide n,

Thank you for the very kind review of our property.

We are delighted to hear that you had a productive and enjoyable time at the Club Lounge utilizing the business facilities provided.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed here for about 10 days on work travel. It was an ideal location since our office is in Westlands and I could walk. The hotel is really nice. The rooms are great and have all the amenities one would expect. The rooftop bar and pool are also great place to relax. There are a few restaurants in the hotel as well. I only ate there a couple times, but the food was good. They also have a small gym which was appreciated. I sadly didn't get to check out the spa but heard it's great. Even though it's a very nice hotel, you pay for it. I'm not sure what prices are like at other hotels in Nairobi, but this one caters to business people. I think if here for vacation one could search around a bit and find something slightly less fancy for a better rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear skaballet,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had the experience of the authentic flavor of the new Africa.

We do monitor the prices on offer with similar quality establishments and have found to be well positioned by comparison for the overall product. Should you be travelling on leisure, please do look out for some advanced offers and weekend deals we have available.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in Nairobi soon.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.