We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Exquisite service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

it was worth my money, th gus at the pool bar were the best, they served me according to how i wanted. They have spacious, air-conditioned rooms all feature elegant, contemporary décor, a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and tea-and-coffee making facilities which make you feel at home but mine didn't have a bath tab, their bed are cosy and well spread. if you have an occassion they are ever read y to put to your taste. The gym is awesome, i wish to go back again may be during this march

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Grace W,

Thank you so much for your gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you will be returning to enjoy our hospitality this March; and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Please do let us know if we can be of any assistance with your forthcoming stay.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    130
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
63
25
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The service and friendliness of the staff is first class. Food on the hotel also very good and the facilities great. Awesome rooftop bar! But...it is clearly taking advantage of expats and business travellers and NOT value for money... Sadly

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear GertdeBeer,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent visit. We appreciate your kind words about our service, the food and facilities.

We were concerned to note your comments about our product not being value for money and taking advantage of our clients. We do take the pricing of our products seriously and review this regularly versus the local market and equivalent 5 star hotels. I'm sure you will find that we are priced very competitively indicated by the high level of Nairobi residents that patronize all our facilities and outlets, specially the Sarabi rooftop bar.

We do hope that we have an opportunity to have you visiting us again soon.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Spent time at the wine bar on the 7th floor in a Friday in February 2014 with friends. Pricy! The customer service was superb; real Kenyan hospitality - the only thing that makes the place special (for me). Oh, the band was quiet 'engaging' as well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Jackie O,

Thank you so much for your kind comments; and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable time at Sarabi Pool and Supper Club on the 7th floor.

We are committed to offering the best to our guests; and have a carefully selected selection of Cocktails, Single malts and wines. Our wine list has a large variety of labels not available in the local market outside of Sankara.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy a little more of the jazz on Fridays and Saturdays and movie nights on Sundays evenings.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

For the cost, the Sankara falls way short. The staff at the pool are slow and indignant. I stayed there twice in the last month. My first room was well taken care of. The second was barely cleaned each day and required a couple of calls to maintenance upon arrival. The breakfasts are disorganized, it's practically impossible to get your toast, eggs and bacon all warm and on the plate at the same time. Service is slow. The tea is ALWAYS lukewarm no matter where you order it. I could go on but you get the picture.

My wallet was stolen while by the pool in the afternoon. While this is not the hotel's fault and they were very concerned and understanding about it, just be aware of your surroundings and your stuff.

Room Tip: The good room I had was on the fourth floor. Avoid the third floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Not the cheapest option, but a good choice if you can afford it. The public spaces are beautifully decorated, breakfast is excellent, service is consistently good, and the rooms are comfortably furnished. I also appreciated the friendly but thorough security and the good food at all the dining places in the hotel, notably the open-air area surrounding the pool up on the 7th floor. Other positives are the Sarit Mall next door, with supermarket and good gift store (stop by the Banana Box for all your souvenirs) and the nearby Mediterranean Restaurant. I must note, however, that the rooms (including drawers and closet space) are smallish -- fine for one person, but perhaps a little snug for two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel for a better view. Stay away from the 6th floor, as noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Wanderlust777,

Thank you so much for your amazing review.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay; and we look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a waiter grab the menu off my hands and couldn't let me order at all... only to later find out that he's the Bar manager at the Gallery. Never have I seen such a rude manager to a customer. They have good food and a nice selection of Wines and Whiskeys though! Better be ready to deal with rude staff from top to bottom in their chain!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear BwireLaban,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

Your experience as described is not characteristic or in keeping with the level of service our staffs strive to provide, and we apologize that your visit to the Gallery did not live up to our usual standards. Your invaluable feedback has been shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Before I write this review, let me say I travel the world on business and stay in many hotels, my family have lived in Kenya most of their lives and have been in the travel industry running safaris.

I recently had two clients staying at the Sankara, I will not be recommending it to anyone in the future.

This hotel could be anywhere in the world, there is no Kenya love in this hotel, it is just a big clinical box with standard as per rooms.
The security staff on the front door were by far the friendliest, reception staff were not particularly helpful and my clients had to ask to zoo the manager a number of times as the staff were unable to deal with the issue.
They tried over charging and generally messed the booking around, even attempted to say they had no rooms at the original price quoted and offer a more expensive room!!!!

Restaurant staff i would suggest lacked training in service and communication skills, food always seam to take an age and on a number occasions the order was wrong.

Extremely over priced and very expensive food… Not worth the money...

My clients did not enjoy the experience, it's a horrible clinical and unfriendly place, it may be new and it may be the place to conduct business..

I would recommend way before Sankara, the Fairview, Norfolk or the Serena….or if you want luxury and can afford it for $550 you can have a stunning room at the Giraffe Manor….

Room Tip: Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room!!!!! Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Steve C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Naturally we are disappointed to note your comments. I have shared the comments with the team to see how we can improve on what your clients experienced.

I can only put this as isolated stay and experience. As you can see the other reviews on the hotel from other travellers highlight the Kenya hospitality, quality and level of service.

We do hope that you will afford us an opportunity to restore your faith in us with the service experience we have become known for.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.