We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite service. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite service. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Spent time at the wine bar on the 7th floor in a Friday in February 2014 with friends. Pricy! The customer service was superb; real Kenyan hospitality - the only thing that makes the place special (for me). Oh, the band was quiet 'engaging' as well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Jackie O,

Thank you so much for your kind comments; and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable time at Sarabi Pool and Supper Club on the 7th floor.

We are committed to offering the best to our guests; and have a carefully selected selection of Cocktails, Single malts and wines. Our wine list has a large variety of labels not available in the local market outside of Sankara.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy a little more of the jazz on Fridays and Saturdays and movie nights on Sundays evenings.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    139
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
31
66
27
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

For the cost, the Sankara falls way short. The staff at the pool are slow and indignant. I stayed there twice in the last month. My first room was well taken care of. The second was barely cleaned each day and required a couple of calls to maintenance upon arrival. The breakfasts are disorganized, it's practically impossible to get your toast, eggs and bacon all warm and on the plate at the same time. Service is slow. The tea is ALWAYS lukewarm no matter where you order it. I could go on but you get the picture.

My wallet was stolen while by the pool in the afternoon. While this is not the hotel's fault and they were very concerned and understanding about it, just be aware of your surroundings and your stuff.

Room Tip: The good room I had was on the fourth floor. Avoid the third floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Not the cheapest option, but a good choice if you can afford it. The public spaces are beautifully decorated, breakfast is excellent, service is consistently good, and the rooms are comfortably furnished. I also appreciated the friendly but thorough security and the good food at all the dining places in the hotel, notably the open-air area surrounding the pool up on the 7th floor. Other positives are the Sarit Mall next door, with supermarket and good gift store (stop by the Banana Box for all your souvenirs) and the nearby Mediterranean Restaurant. I must note, however, that the rooms (including drawers and closet space) are smallish -- fine for one person, but perhaps a little snug for two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel for a better view. Stay away from the 6th floor, as noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Wanderlust777,

Thank you so much for your amazing review.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay; and we look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a waiter grab the menu off my hands and couldn't let me order at all... only to later find out that he's the Bar manager at the Gallery. Never have I seen such a rude manager to a customer. They have good food and a nice selection of Wines and Whiskeys though! Better be ready to deal with rude staff from top to bottom in their chain!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear BwireLaban,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

Your experience as described is not characteristic or in keeping with the level of service our staffs strive to provide, and we apologize that your visit to the Gallery did not live up to our usual standards. Your invaluable feedback has been shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Before I write this review, let me say I travel the world on business and stay in many hotels, my family have lived in Kenya most of their lives and have been in the travel industry running safaris.

I recently had two clients staying at the Sankara, I will not be recommending it to anyone in the future.

This hotel could be anywhere in the world, there is no Kenya love in this hotel, it is just a big clinical box with standard as per rooms.
The security staff on the front door were by far the friendliest, reception staff were not particularly helpful and my clients had to ask to zoo the manager a number of times as the staff were unable to deal with the issue.
They tried over charging and generally messed the booking around, even attempted to say they had no rooms at the original price quoted and offer a more expensive room!!!!

Restaurant staff i would suggest lacked training in service and communication skills, food always seam to take an age and on a number occasions the order was wrong.

Extremely over priced and very expensive food… Not worth the money...

My clients did not enjoy the experience, it's a horrible clinical and unfriendly place, it may be new and it may be the place to conduct business..

I would recommend way before Sankara, the Fairview, Norfolk or the Serena….or if you want luxury and can afford it for $550 you can have a stunning room at the Giraffe Manor….

Room Tip: Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room!!!!! Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Steve C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Naturally we are disappointed to note your comments. I have shared the comments with the team to see how we can improve on what your clients experienced.

I can only put this as isolated stay and experience. As you can see the other reviews on the hotel from other travellers highlight the Kenya hospitality, quality and level of service.

We do hope that you will afford us an opportunity to restore your faith in us with the service experience we have become known for.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My first stay at this hotel. On checking in late at night after a very long flight I was shocked to hear that my suit case needed to be opened right in the lobby (albeit on the side) for security check. To my surprise the staff was rummaging through my clothes and other personal things with BARE hands ! This is just incredible and unacceptable !. Had they put on disposable gloves I would definitely not have any problem. It is for my own security that searches are carried out on everybody.

Apart from this unwelcome incident the hotel is fine. The room was clean. The personnel were courteous. Breakfast ok. Meals were on the high side. The gym was wll equipped. The room rate was somehow high compared to other hotels in town centre. It is OK for a short business trip only.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear clearsea51,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with trip advisor.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the security incident. Our security staffs have been issued with gloves for the search process which clearly is a shortfall from our team. The security Manager is taking the matter up to ensure the gloves issued are used at all times.

The searches are necessary in the interest of the safety and security of all our guests. The hand search is a temporary measure as we are expecting delivery of x-ray machines to take over this process in the coming month.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience a much improved search procedure with the machines.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A lovely hotel, with great service meeting every business travellers needs. The only downside is that it feels a little modern and without any real African flavours, but there is plenty of that outside the front door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Davidh 1977,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you found our facilities meets business travellers needs. The design was carefully undertaken to give the modern feel incorporating a feel of the New Africa. We do have an extensive collection of East African art and flavours subtly incorporated in various aspects of the hotel in art, sculptors and colours in décor to the turn-down Sankara Seven encompassing crafts of Africa.

Please do let us know what African flavours that you would have liked to see in the hotel. Your feedback will help us improve on our facilities to meet our client expectations.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.