We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sankara is beautiful, but beware the slooooow Internet WiFi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sankara is beautiful, but beware the slooooow Internet WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Sankara property itself is beautiful, clean, and well maintained ... and the restaurant selections and Club Lounge service are very very good. The rooftop bar and pool are truly first rate. BUT, beware that the WiFi internet connections are severely throttled ... both in the Lobby area and individual rooms ... such that even common e-mail connections are slow slow slooooow. By the time you're able to connect with your VPN or gmail account, you'll likely get timed out again and again. The WiFi is free ... but the bandwidth is simply ridiculous ... a complaint shared the entire week of our stay by several of my business colleagues also staying at the Sankara. It's a shame that such a beautiful and service-friendly property has such limited and frustrating IT connectivity.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear John0225,

Thank you for your review and the gracious comments about our property, the restaurants, the club lounge facilities, and the roof top bar - Sarabi.

We sincerely apologize that you experienced difficulty with internet connectivity throughout your stay. We did experience some interruptions from our Internet service provider the week of your stay.

Your feedback has been shared with our IT team, and we are currently looking at ways of improving the internet services further.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    131
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
30
63
25
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Been there with all my colleagues for dinner in Jan 14, I liked the ambiance, preferably to go with your Beau/Spouse, service was quick and food quality was good.
Would definitely like to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Neerav S,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sarabi Supper club.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the ambience and setting of Sarabi. I note that you enjoyed Sarabi on the 14th January which was a Tuesday. Every Friday and Saturday we have live music adding to the vibrant atmosphere and every Sunday we showcase a classic movie in the open air for a relaxing Sunday. We hope to welcome you back soon perhaps to enjoy some of the other options at Sarabi.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was in Nairobi over the weekend of 21 September for the Safari Sevens. Most people would remember that was the weekend of the bomb attack in Westlands and Sankara is a few kilometers away. However, we comfortably continued with our trip throughout. The staff from the front desk, to the restaurants, to the pool side bar, everywhere were fantastic and hospitable. The rooms are nice, airy and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only two challenges I had were with security - they are neither the most polite nor the most subtle when deciding who is a security risk; and the smoking areas are either on 7th or 2nd floor and I was on 4th floor.

The incident I had with security was reported and was promptly and professionally dealt with

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Kimani K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your stay in September 2013.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; and that you felt both comfortable and safe at our establishment amid the tragic events at Westgate.

In view of the atrocious attacks, we took immediate action to heighten our already stringent security measures; and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by our security team during this process. You will appreciate that there was a great deal of concern on security immediately after Westgate. Your safety and comfort is our primary concern at all times.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon!

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the3rdrock
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Solid business hotel. Not quite 5 star, but probably a solid 4.5 stars. Could be anywhere in the world, to be honest, other than the odd African picture or carving.

Had a few issues on inconsistent service but each time I complained they did something to make up for it which is as good as one can expect I suppose. This would range from not picking up my shirts for pressing (got one pressed for free) to house keeping chucking away my contact lens case (they replaced it but after I called and chased a few times) to various other things.

Acceptable gym, excellent spa with a simply outstanding massage from the Indonesian masseuse. Roof top pool is small - more for show rather than swimming in. But the pool bar is excellent at night for relaxing on a Fri evening. Great friendly vibe, good cocktails, good band.

The room service menu is rather limited - do pop out to the restaurants on the 1st floor and roof top - you get much more choices. You might also be able to ask for food to be delivered to your room - I didn't test this.

Overall I would stay here again given their efforts at service improvement. Well done.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms directly below the pool bar or near the pool bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear bonoglobetrotter,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 3rd February 2014.

We sincerely regret the shortfalls and inconsistent service that you experienced during your stay with us; thank you for your feedback as this will go a long way in helping us improve on our services that we provide to our guests.

We look forward to hosting you again at Sankara in the near future.

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in this hotel two nights (not consecutive) and had positive experiences both times. The staff if friendly, although had a little trouble understanding English. I was traveling with a friend (another woman) and we had requested two bed. After sending us to two different rooms (both with one king bed), we finally gave up and slept in the same bed. The bed was large and comfortable, so really not a problem!
We arrived late the first night, and were able to get room service - one of the best Indian meals I've eaten.
The location is good, although traffic can be bad in Nairobi at any time of day. We did not have trouble getting to the airport, as long as we allowed enough time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Nic110,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are always pleased to have feedback from our guests to review and improve the services we offer. Please accept our apologies for the incorrect allocation of bed preference on this visit.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could. But since I can't its a 4, not quite enough for 5!

The rooms were excellent, clean, large and comfortable. Fresh flowers and fruit as well as travel toothpaste and shaver give it that little extra touch. Security is good, there are metal detectors and bags are checked as well. The restaurant was good and breakfast was quite satisfactory (although not the best I have had). The rooms come with bath and shower and most seem to have a good view (for Nairobi).

No complaints but for 5 stars I would have liked a larger TV, slightly better breakfast and a newer mattress. Nothing to complain about though.

I do want to point out that it is advertised as a 5 star hotel. To me it more felt like a good 4 star with a some extra touches.

Overall this is a great hotel, especially for Kenya. It comes at a cost (rooms and food) but provides a good space to feel comfortable, even for a few days.

I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear travelmate182,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review; we appreciate your feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities; and we are committed to ensuring your safety and comfort by heightening our already stringent security measures.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon!

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was my first stay at the Sankara. Like others, I arrives late, had a cry friendly, efficient check in, and nice assistance to my room. The room was lovely, clean with a nice closet/wardrobe with a safe, ironing board and iron, and really nice clothes hangers. There was a space to lay out luggage in addition to a separate luggage wrack ( nice for couples). The bed was big and comfy. I really likes the bedside lamp and separate reading light. The desk space was great with three plug outlets and a good overhead lamp. Plus it was next to the window/balcony. The staff were all very nice and very accommodating. Yes, the traffic is a challenge, but hey! Welcome to Nairobi! The decor is sort of Modern Africa, and I like it a lot. I will definitely come back to this hotel. Thank you so much. Sankara management and Staff! BTW, love the little figurines! Much better than mints.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear AzEmh1960,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your most gracious comments about our hotel after your most recent stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon to enjoy the authentic flavor of the new Africa and continue your collection of the "Sankara Seven" turndown gift to add to your collection, we have 28 different hand crafted animals in total.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.