We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was just an amazing hotel!! Very clean and the staff was very nice! The chef was great and prepared good food. The rooms were nice and clean and I loved the modern feel with the bathroom. The pool was amazing, with a nice view of the city in the infinity pool! I had a great time!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Princesslsana,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 8th January 2014.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us; and had a great time at our hotel!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    128
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
62
24
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Good hotel and very executive modern rooms. their breakfast has variety and menu is comprehensive. Unfortunately, I think they shall need to work on the staff especially in the restaurant and Housekeeping. Thy seemed to be unhappy and not really motivated. A good place, Just improve service delivery.

Room Tip: Our room was comfortable and the rooms facing the mall have better view
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Connor A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 7th January 2014.

Your feedback will go a long way in helping us improve on our services that we provide to our guests.

We hope that you shall accord us another opportunity to host you in the near future and extend our personalized service with the authentic flavour of the new Africa!

With Kind Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at many upmarket hotels in Nairobi over the years but, I've found my new favorite. Check in was smooth, the staff remembered your name and preference from news papers to milk with your coffee, rooms well laid out with work desk, nice amenities such as bath robes that you would really wear, bath products of excellent quality the kind I buy in shops in New York also the breakfast buffet included in room price was delicious with interesting selections including Lamb sausage and real fresh juices, pineapple and mint, carrot and ginger just to name a few.
The hotel is a short 2 min walk too main shopping malls and some of the best restaurants in westlands, so check out sankara when your in Nairobi.
Date of my stay, December 13/15 2013

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Tintinbluelotus,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 3rd January 2014.

We are very delighted that you enjoyed the facilities in our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

Thank you for choosing the Sankara to be your home away from home during your visit to Nairobi.

With Kind Regards



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

we stayed there for 3 nights. it was very clean, the staff was very friendly, and the breakfast buffet was great.
but it was overprice. we thought it was 170 $ but we had to pay a lot of taxes so the price was per night 220$ per night and this was way to mutch

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Muriel33,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 3rd January 2014.

We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed the facilities and our buffet breakfast in our hotel.

Our rates offered are usually based on room only excluding 28% taxes, which are statutory.

However for the festive period we do have a promotional rate that goes on until 17th January 2014, which includes breakfast and taxes.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have used this hotel many times, and I'm still a fan. The rooms are well presented, great linen and very clean. The hotel offers great restaurants with a good variety of food. Absolutely love the champagne bar and the spa on the top floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I found Sankara , Nairobi to be the best place in the heart of Nairobi, Excellent cuisine with comfortable rooms with very courteous staff are the value added when staying in this hotel.

You are also secure in your stay with your personal belongings as all the lifts have access cards to the floor you stay.

All Malls are nearby. SO shopping is very easy.

In addition they arrange tours to all Safari Parks at competitive rates.

In short a lovely place to be in.

Room Tip: Take the room facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Colonelgopi,

Thank you for your gracious comments on your most recent stay with us!

We are in the process of strengthening our already stringent security measures to ensure the safety of our guests; and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed there for 2 days in November 2013. The hotel was what you would expect for this standard. Rooms were of a good size, modern, clean and had good facilities. The only small issue I would have with the hotel is dining options are a little limited. The choices were a run of the mill Asian restaurant or a more expensive buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Sliabh,

Thank you for your review dated 3rd December 2013.

We are currently developing more on food dining options. For the moment, we do have Artisan restaurant which offers a lar carte and buffet option; Muhibbah an Asian restaurant as mentioned, and also Sarabi on our rooftop which offers al-fresco meals during the day and tapas style in the evening.

We do hope to host you again in your next visit to Nairobi!

With Kind Regards,



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.