We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look any further.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't look any further.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at many upmarket hotels in Nairobi over the years but, I've found my new favorite. Check in was smooth, the staff remembered your name and preference from news papers to milk with your coffee, rooms well laid out with work desk, nice amenities such as bath robes that you would really wear, bath products of excellent quality the kind I buy in shops in New York also the breakfast buffet included in room price was delicious with interesting selections including Lamb sausage and real fresh juices, pineapple and mint, carrot and ginger just to name a few.
The hotel is a short 2 min walk too main shopping malls and some of the best restaurants in westlands, so check out sankara when your in Nairobi.
Date of my stay, December 13/15 2013

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Tintinbluelotus,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 3rd January 2014.

We are very delighted that you enjoyed the facilities in our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

Thank you for choosing the Sankara to be your home away from home during your visit to Nairobi.

With Kind Regards



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    114
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
24
58
21
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zürich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

we stayed there for 3 nights. it was very clean, the staff was very friendly, and the breakfast buffet was great.
but it was overprice. we thought it was 170 $ but we had to pay a lot of taxes so the price was per night 220$ per night and this was way to mutch

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Muriel33,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 3rd January 2014.

We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed the facilities and our buffet breakfast in our hotel.

Our rates offered are usually based on room only excluding 28% taxes, which are statutory.

However for the festive period we do have a promotional rate that goes on until 17th January 2014, which includes breakfast and taxes.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have used this hotel many times, and I'm still a fan. The rooms are well presented, great linen and very clean. The hotel offers great restaurants with a good variety of food. Absolutely love the champagne bar and the spa on the top floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I found Sankara , Nairobi to be the best place in the heart of Nairobi, Excellent cuisine with comfortable rooms with very courteous staff are the value added when staying in this hotel.

You are also secure in your stay with your personal belongings as all the lifts have access cards to the floor you stay.

All Malls are nearby. SO shopping is very easy.

In addition they arrange tours to all Safari Parks at competitive rates.

In short a lovely place to be in.

Room Tip: Take the room facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Colonelgopi,

Thank you for your gracious comments on your most recent stay with us!

We are in the process of strengthening our already stringent security measures to ensure the safety of our guests; and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed there for 2 days in November 2013. The hotel was what you would expect for this standard. Rooms were of a good size, modern, clean and had good facilities. The only small issue I would have with the hotel is dining options are a little limited. The choices were a run of the mill Asian restaurant or a more expensive buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Sliabh,

Thank you for your review dated 3rd December 2013.

We are currently developing more on food dining options. For the moment, we do have Artisan restaurant which offers a lar carte and buffet option; Muhibbah an Asian restaurant as mentioned, and also Sarabi on our rooftop which offers al-fresco meals during the day and tapas style in the evening.

We do hope to host you again in your next visit to Nairobi!

With Kind Regards,



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We recently made two brief stays at the Sankara, just a few days apart. The two stays felt so incredibly different, you would think we were in two different hotels.

For our first visit, my husband and I arrived at the Sankara very late on a Saturday evening after over 18 hours of travel from NYC. Our first impression was great. Very tight but friendly security, front desk clerk was efficient and welcoming. We received an upgrade. Room on the second floor. Nice bathroom. Very clean. Cozy bed. Room service was ordered - a veg burger and a beef burger. Both arrived after about 45 min, and were quite tasty. We stayed 2 nights (Saturday and Sunday) and enjoyed a truly excellent Indian meal in the downstairs restaurant on our final evening as well as drinks on the rooftop lounge. Turndown service was also quite nice, with adorable little ceramic animals and their info cards left bedside. Monday we left early for our flight to the Masai Mara, leaving our larger bags in storage at the hotel. My husband and I remarked what a wonderful experience we'd had a what a lovely hotel the Sankara was.

Thursday Night: After a brilliant safari, we returned to the Sankara for a one night stay before heading to Zanzibar. No upgrade this time, which of course was fine. It was a Thursday after all and this business hotel was hopping. Very busy. We were given a room on the 6th floor (#6019). On first impression, it seemed great. A bit smaller then our previous room, but not by much. Very clean, and beautiful yellow calla lilies in vases. Nice touch. We were relaxing in the room, totally beat from the long days on safari, when suddenly we hear the most AWFUL sound. Imagine being inside a drum and the thump, thump, thumb of it reverberating through your skull. What the $%^&??? We head upstairs to see what is above us. It's the gym. It's someone on the treadmill training for his 10K or something. OK. We ask the nice gentleman manning the place what time it closes. He tells us It would be open until 10 or 11pm (I can't remember now). All I do remember is that we had a 4:15am wake up call the next morning for our flight to Zanzibar. We'd be trying to get to sleep MUCH earlier then 10. This will not do. Why is that room even a room in the first place? If anything it should be the last room/worst case scenario when the hotel is completely full. We head downstairs to change rooms and are placed in a room down a long hallway on the 3rd floor. Excellent! It will be quiet and we can get rest! Upon entering,though, something seemed off. This room had clearly not been occupied or cleaned in a while. No flowers. Everything had a thin layer of dust. The fixtures in the bathroom, the tables next to the bed. Amenities like soap and shampoo were a bit sticky. We were both so exhausted, we decided to just deal with it. The room also had a small balcony. How nice! I went to open the door and the knob fell off in my hand. 3rd floor room with a broken balcony door in downtown Nairobi? A safety and security hazard one would think! We also never received turn down service. The manager did call to ask us if everything was OK with the new room and if there was anything else she could do. We told her that the new room wasn't great, but it would do…but we mentioned that we were disappointed that we didn't get one of those cute little ceramic animals. We didn't need turndown, but if they wanted to make it up to us for the problems we'd been having, we would love it if they could send one of those up to us. She said "absolutely!"...but well over an hour later, no one had come to our room. We called again to say forget it (it was getting pretty late, and we had that 4:15am wake up call looming…) She checked with housekeeping, and a few minutes later someone did show up with with our animal (which we appreciated!) After this, we went to bed. Upon check out, we mentioned our dissatisfaction with our second stay - particularly the very dangerous balcony door situation - to the gentleman at the front desk. No acknowledgment at all. I'd like to think this may have been a language barrier issue and not just a brush off, but we found the silence very puzzling.

The Sankara is a terrific facility, with some serious issues to sort out. The fact that our experience was so wildly different during the quieter weekend period says a lot about how this place is being run. First impressions are important, but so is consistency.

A frustrating experience, to say the very least.

Room Tip: Lower floors will have less noise because of the roof bar and gym facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear DianeDowntown,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 25th November 2013.

We sincerely regret the shortfalls that you experienced during your second stay with us; first impressions are as important as last impressions. The balcony is a special feature in only a few of our rooms and it is unfortunate the knob malfunctioned. This is clearly a maintenance oversight from our end. We are reviewing to changing the locks to ensure that the safety of our guests’ is observed.

Thank you for your feedback as this will go a long way in helping us improve on our services that we provide to our guests. We sincerely hope this has not permanently marred your overall experience of our hotel; and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

With Kind Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

If you're in Nairobi for business, then priority-one should be picking a hotel near your business. Otherwise expect to spend a long, long time in standstill traffic (dodging khat-chewing matatu drivers). You can easily spend an hour or two getting to JKIA from the Sankara Hotel during rush hour, or 45 minutes to downtown Nairobi.

The hotel was cozy and comfortable with a small gym, spa, pool, and a couple restaurants. The beds were comfortable, and the linens felt soft, however the in-room entertainment was very limited. Our bathrooms had both showers and tubs, which was definitely welcome. The small animal carvings they left in the room each night during turn-down was a nice touch.

The main restaurant has a good buffet with several meat selections, however it wasn't impressive enough to warrant a second visit during our stay. I thought breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was actually better than dinner. That said, avoid the cheese at the buffet -- I'm pretty sure they carted out the same blocks of cheese over multiple meals so you there's a risk of spoilage. After suffering from an upset stomach a couple of days, I stopped eating the cheese, and my stomach returned to normal.

Hotel Internet was fine for email and casual internet browsing, but was useless for connecting to my company VPN or watching my Slingbox. The internet connection frequently dropped. For VPN access, I had far more success connecting via my iphone hotspot and Safaricom.

At the end of our stay, we had the usual billing issues that are all too common in Africa, like false minibar charges (I never, ever use the minibar), and charging more than was agreed-to for late checkout. After I complained, they fixed the bill, but having to scrutinize every line of the hotel bill gets old.

Security in the hotel was very tight - they will check your hand bags every time you enter the hotel. Frankly, after recent events, I was ok with that. Security on the streets around the hotel is not very good, however. The street lighting is poor, and crime is a serious problem in Nairobi. If you're going to walk to a restaurant near the hotel, It's best to go in a group, and be very watchful of the crazy traffic.

There are several good restaurant options near the hotel. Open House has great Indian fare, and we also enjoyed the Italian food at Mediterraneano. The BBQ place on the 2nd floor of the mall across from the hotel is good too, but we preferred the first two and made return visits to them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi Hotel
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.