We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Annecy, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

An oasis of comfort in the city. The roof top pool with a window to the pavement is quite unique. Very friendly and helpful staff. Security is taken seriously which is good. I'll be back!The cost is high, but not easy to find really good hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear James W,

Thank you for your kind comments.

Thank you for choosing the Sankara as your home away from home; and we look forward to welcome you back!

With Kind Regards,



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    138
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
31
65
27
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I really like this property, with great dinning, a convenient location and an awesome roof pool bar, this is still my go-to-place to stay in Nairobi even with all the new hotels coming on circuit. It reminds me of many of modern boutique hotels in New York City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear RafiquesRoad,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 14th November 2013. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the facilities in our hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Sankara to be your home away from home; and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon to enjoy a little bit of "New York" in Africa

With Kind Regards



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been to Africa and Nairobi in particular several times and have stayed at most of the "Famous" hotels so decided to try this one based upon its spa and my companion's thoughts. As other people have commented be prepared for nasty traffic - nothing in the US compares to center Nairobi traffic at rush hour. Not the hotel's fault - just be aware. The atmosphere is a bit sterile but the staff was very friendly and catered to all our requests. Check-in was smooth and the rooms were adequate but a bit small. Overall a good place to stay but for a traditional African experience try the Norfolk.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Charles R,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are still a young hotel by comparison to the longer established hotels in Nairobi; and the experience we try to create is more in keeping with the new vibrant Africa. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations and hope that you will come back to the Sankara soon!

With Kind Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Good hotel, west lands location so if peak hours of traffic, ie 7am to 10 am and 4pm to 8pm, expect horrendous traffic to get to hotel from airport.

Nice hotel, nice food, and good location when no traffic.

Not the hotels fault re traffic... just something to take into consideration in case staying a night in nbo due to masai mara, like we did in November this year.

Alternative hotel near hotel and very nice is ole sereni which is recommended to stay or kill some hours like we did from wilson (to masai mara) to international airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear RG1978,

Thank you for your kind comments.

With the development of the road infrastructure underway, we do hope that the traffic problems will be resolved very soon; so that you can enjoy a traffic free stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

With Kind Regards



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gevelsberg, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

great hotel in nairobi. clean, very good service. room well equipped, W-Lan available all around the hotel. restaurants and breakfast outstanding. no charge for any extras.
airport transportation is working well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannnapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the roof top dining. The food was great and the staff was extremely accommodating. The vast wine selection from South Africa, France, and Spain added to the dining experience immensely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice staff and service, large room with all you need.
Spa is very good for massages despite European prices it is good after a long trip.
Swimming pool on the rooftop is nice but you are exposed to all the roof terrace cafe guests which is not the nicest if you want to just relax.
Only remark from a very demanding guest, the rooms are not spotless spotless with stains on the carpet, lamp in bad shape. Otherwise I do recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear chachatralala,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 6th November 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our service, staff and the facilities.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed our spa experience with international spa brand Angsana at Sankara Nairobi.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.