We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Chique in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New York Chique in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I really like this property, with great dinning, a convenient location and an awesome roof pool bar, this is still my go-to-place to stay in Nairobi even with all the new hotels coming on circuit. It reminds me of many of modern boutique hotels in New York City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear RafiquesRoad,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 14th November 2013. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the facilities in our hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Sankara to be your home away from home; and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon to enjoy a little bit of "New York" in Africa

With Kind Regards



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    173
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
38
81
36
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been to Africa and Nairobi in particular several times and have stayed at most of the "Famous" hotels so decided to try this one based upon its spa and my companion's thoughts. As other people have commented be prepared for nasty traffic - nothing in the US compares to center Nairobi traffic at rush hour. Not the hotel's fault - just be aware. The atmosphere is a bit sterile but the staff was very friendly and catered to all our requests. Check-in was smooth and the rooms were adequate but a bit small. Overall a good place to stay but for a traditional African experience try the Norfolk.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Charles R,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are still a young hotel by comparison to the longer established hotels in Nairobi; and the experience we try to create is more in keeping with the new vibrant Africa. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations and hope that you will come back to the Sankara soon!

With Kind Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Good hotel, west lands location so if peak hours of traffic, ie 7am to 10 am and 4pm to 8pm, expect horrendous traffic to get to hotel from airport.

Nice hotel, nice food, and good location when no traffic.

Not the hotels fault re traffic... just something to take into consideration in case staying a night in nbo due to masai mara, like we did in November this year.

Alternative hotel near hotel and very nice is ole sereni which is recommended to stay or kill some hours like we did from wilson (to masai mara) to international airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear RG1978,

Thank you for your kind comments.

With the development of the road infrastructure underway, we do hope that the traffic problems will be resolved very soon; so that you can enjoy a traffic free stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

With Kind Regards



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gevelsberg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

great hotel in nairobi. clean, very good service. room well equipped, W-Lan available all around the hotel. restaurants and breakfast outstanding. no charge for any extras.
airport transportation is working well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannnapolis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the roof top dining. The food was great and the staff was extremely accommodating. The vast wine selection from South Africa, France, and Spain added to the dining experience immensely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice staff and service, large room with all you need.
Spa is very good for massages despite European prices it is good after a long trip.
Swimming pool on the rooftop is nice but you are exposed to all the roof terrace cafe guests which is not the nicest if you want to just relax.
Only remark from a very demanding guest, the rooms are not spotless spotless with stains on the carpet, lamp in bad shape. Otherwise I do recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear chachatralala,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 6th November 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our service, staff and the facilities.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed our spa experience with international spa brand Angsana at Sankara Nairobi.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

From the minute of my Late arrival I was treated like a special guest. The room had a fantastic view of Nairobi City that I never expected and was spotless and cleaned at least twice a day. The food was absolutely gorgeous, from Sundays brunch time buffets to evening dinners. The staff were very attentive and knew my name within the first few Days of being there. Parking was available for me Regardless the time of the day or night and nothing seemed any trouble to make my stay a good one. The bars were Fantastic and a good retreat for a drink in the evening as well as taking advantage of the big TV Screeners at the bars to watch my favorite soccer games while enjoying my drinks. I stayed at Sankara Hotel for two complete months and I proudly can say it is the best, based on my previous experience at the hotels I stayed in Nairobi. All in all, cannot fault ther place and would happily return, hopefully with some friends and family next year.

Room Tip: I stayed at the fifty floor the internet was fast and free. The view was fantastic. All rooms were w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
4.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#6 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#11 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.