We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sankara Sanka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sankara Sanka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In the heart of Westlands is a GEM that is magnificent. Great Food, Excellent Rooftop lounge for those evening sun downers. If you're in the mood for just a glass of wine you have a wide selection of wines from South Africa, France and Spain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    126
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
62
24
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I've stayed in a bunch of hotels, and I haven't seen anything that can match Sankara. From the elegance, to the cleanliness and friendly level of service (they even changed the beds in my room at my request with a smile), to the rooftop bar from which you see the whole of Westlands plus, to the initial welcome when you first get dropped off, to the breakfast quality, there was nothing about Sankara that didn't blow me away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel. The rooms and the facilities are very good. The staff is courteous.

The hotel is in the market area, so there are a few eating joints nearby. The west gate mall is also not too far. If you need to travel to main business zone around westlands, it is more convenient that Intercontinental.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed in Sankara Hotel in September 2013, and really enjoyed the experience. The hotel is very well situated, within the Westlands Area. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious. the food at the Sankara is lovely and really tasty. They have a good selection for breakfast and the service was exceptional. My only complaint was that for the club rooms you have to checkin on the 7th floor, so you have to drag your luggage to the 7th floor when you arrive and when you checkout. I would defenitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to this side of Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear ElleVee288,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 31st October 2013.

We are always happy to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our location, food and the facilities.

Thank you for choosing the Sankara as your home away from home; and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recently used the conference facility and few things to improve on
-they should never advertise on ground floor which company has conference on the day as I think it's not good for all public to know
-service from staff needs a lot of improvements as staff morals are questionable and the zeal with which they serve
-my guests who were from overseas for a meeting were charged for the conference arranged by us and it was very embarrassing when I came to know that my guests were charged
It was a very important deal and the guest felt as if I was too cheap till I had to ask hotel to sort
Worst was that no senior person came to apologize though got refund back but damage was not repair able with my customers

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The service, comfort, quality, location and food make this the ‘hotel of choice’ when we travel to Nairobi. I have used this hotel various times and strongly recommend it. The design if the hotel is modern (designed for business persons) and the attention to detail is top rate. The hotel is very safe and a good location for Nairobi. The breakfast buffet is excellent and they have is a special coffee shop called The Gallery (1st floor) where Jesse won the International Coffee Award. Do get a cup of Kenya coffee from Jesse while there. Overall Excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear fdoamerica,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 27th October 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our food, service, ambience, and the facilities as well as the contemporary design of the hotel.

Jessie will be delighted note that you enjoyed his barrister skills in preparing the Kenyan brewed coffee being the highlight of your stay.

Thank you for choosing the Sankara as your home away from home; and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

On business in Nairobi and went for dinner at the Sankara Hotel's Savour restaurant. FANTASTIC! My colleagues had the buffet which was brilliant. The variety and choice was excellent. I had the Kenyaen Experience, which consists of two courses.

Starter was a magnificent tuna, mango and avo tartar, and for mains I choose the cow liver and toasted bruschetta. Both very yummy.

Would definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear ElizenV,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 26th October 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our food and the facilities.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed our Artisan’s extensive buffet offerings.

We make no compromises in providing an experience our guests will want to remember!

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Free Parking, P...
Show More
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#9 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites
Free Parking, P...
Show More
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#13 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.