We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comments on conference facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comments on conference facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recently used the conference facility and few things to improve on
-they should never advertise on ground floor which company has conference on the day as I think it's not good for all public to know
-service from staff needs a lot of improvements as staff morals are questionable and the zeal with which they serve
-my guests who were from overseas for a meeting were charged for the conference arranged by us and it was very embarrassing when I came to know that my guests were charged
It was a very important deal and the guest felt as if I was too cheap till I had to ask hotel to sort
Worst was that no senior person came to apologize though got refund back but damage was not repair able with my customers

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    134
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
31
65
25
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The service, comfort, quality, location and food make this the ‘hotel of choice’ when we travel to Nairobi. I have used this hotel various times and strongly recommend it. The design if the hotel is modern (designed for business persons) and the attention to detail is top rate. The hotel is very safe and a good location for Nairobi. The breakfast buffet is excellent and they have is a special coffee shop called The Gallery (1st floor) where Jesse won the International Coffee Award. Do get a cup of Kenya coffee from Jesse while there. Overall Excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear fdoamerica,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 27th October 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our food, service, ambience, and the facilities as well as the contemporary design of the hotel.

Jessie will be delighted note that you enjoyed his barrister skills in preparing the Kenyan brewed coffee being the highlight of your stay.

Thank you for choosing the Sankara as your home away from home; and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

On business in Nairobi and went for dinner at the Sankara Hotel's Savour restaurant. FANTASTIC! My colleagues had the buffet which was brilliant. The variety and choice was excellent. I had the Kenyaen Experience, which consists of two courses.

Starter was a magnificent tuna, mango and avo tartar, and for mains I choose the cow liver and toasted bruschetta. Both very yummy.

Would definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear ElizenV,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 26th October 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our food and the facilities.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed our Artisan’s extensive buffet offerings.

We make no compromises in providing an experience our guests will want to remember!

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spend our wedding night at Sankara and we are happy we did! A perfect welcome, the room was very welcoming with roses, rose petals all over, wine and sweets. A very nice room, well equipped and comfortable. Great bathroom. An excellent breakfast and a nice hostess in the Champagne Bar. My only wish is that they could have a restaurant open until later even though they have 24 hour room-service

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear rmk1196,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 24th October, 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our ambience, service, staff, food and the facilities.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed one of your evenings at our Champagne Bar.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my first trip to Africa.. Sankara was recommended to us by a friend who lives in nairobi so we booked it.. Honestly things weren't looking quite great as we covered the distance from airport to the hotel but i was amazed to see this newly constructed five star hotel in the middle of the city.. Sarit centre was just a 5 min walk away from the hotel which is a decent shopping mall...

Check in: this was quick as we had booked prior to going there

Room: the room was clean and decent size with some room to walk around.. Bathroom was also good size and detached from room by a glass wall which made the whole place look bright and big..

Food: breakfast has regular items and fresh fruits that i personally enjoy..
Thai Restaurant: the hotel had a thai restaurant(a la card) which was really good .. We tried a lot of things from the menu and none of them disappointed us..
Room service: the food i ordered in room was not too great

Taxi service: the hotel has a taxi service so whenever we needed to go out we used the taxi and on our way back wuld call the same driver to pick us back.. So the hotel made getting around easy..

House keeping: the staff was friendly and prompt

Concierge: we planned to go for safari to the Nairobi national park.. The hotel arranged the safari for us through some other company and it was also an amazing experience.. Whenever we wanted to go to Sarit centre or some other nearby area someone from the staff wuld accompany us.. We felt like taken care of here

Over all the experience was very good.. I wuld definitely stay here if i went to Nairobi again.. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Roohi R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 24th October, 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our ambience, service, staff, food, taxi service and the facilities.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed one of your evenings at our pan-Asian restaurant – Muhibbah.

We are committed to ensuring that our guests receive the best products and we are working on improving and revamping our room service offerings while maintaining the consistency and the quality of the food.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

We are glad you enjoyed our personalized service from our concierge team and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently, my family and i visited Kenya for an adventurous holiday and beautiful it was. Our Travel Agent; very friendly and welcoming, Trevaron Travel and Tours Company referred us to Sankara Hotel. Trevaron Travel and Company owner, Hannah came to pick us from the airport and drove us to Sankara Hotel where we were to stay for two nights before proceeding to our other destinations. Beautiful is an understatement. Sankara is a gorgeous place and in our two night stay, we wished it would never end. My husband and children enjoyed every bit of it. From the Rooms to the hot swimming pool and not forgetting the Spa! It was like a small city in the heart of the big City of Nairobi which we were told is referred to as The City in The sun!

We will surely come back some other time Sankara, again and again! To Hannah of Trevaron Travel, thank you for finding us a home away from home :) ! We love Sankara Hotel and Kenya.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the City are amazing. you wake up to see the life going on in Nairobi City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Naomi J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 22nd October 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our ambience and the facilities.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed a session at our Spa.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

Thank you for choosing the Sankara as your home away from home, and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Sankara is a lovely place to stay. Rooms are comfortable, reasonably spacious and quite comfortable and a good size bathroom with both shower and bathtub. Breakfast is buffet style but a very large selection of foods. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is the price of drinks . A glass of wine will cost you in the region of USD. 10 and that is for half a glass....
Will come back and can recommend to anybody to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear AMkenya,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 18th October 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our ambience, service, staff, food and the facilities.

We are committed to offering the best to our guests; and since inception, import our own wines which provides an exceptional wine list with a large variety of labels not available in the local market.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind regards,



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.